Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
196 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Hello, thank you for taking the time to consider our school. We would welcome the opportunity to share with you the benefits of our program for your child/children and family. We are an Accredited College Preparatory Program of quality with a home school touch that can point to a solid record of student achievement. I think that you will find that we are a family of families working together to provide our children a competitive Christian education at a cost that most families can afford. Hope to hear from you soon!
February 12, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fideles Christian School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are hit or miss. Some have an educational background and a passion for teaching. Others teach to receive free tutuiom for their own kids. It has been our experience that the grades of our kids were inflated and did not match their subject understanding.

Fideles Christian School 3

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
I believe the school started off with good intentions and grew too fast. Though the school uses Christian curriculum, I don't feel Christian values are taught. Over the years we have experienced top administration being less present or involved in school activities such as giving the prayer at the poetry performance. Some teachers are great with a background in education. Others teach as a way to receive free tuition for their own kids. Administration and structure are lacking. Since the owners are teacher and principal, its hard to get their attention or interest in your situation. Decisions are based off money and not student. The administration has persinal amd church ties to some teachers and will back the teachers in all circumstances. If you disagree with the teacher or administration expect your child to receive demerits, be asked not to return or be fired as an aid or teacher through an email. We found it odd that the school had massive firings only a few weeks before school due to low money even though contracts were signed with employees. As a nonprofit, we were able to investigate the school's financial situation through an open tax return on the internet. We were sold the idea that the school was a partnership, but in realty, communication of important changes to the school are lacking or non existent. Fideles is a good choice if you want to hybrid homeschool in Forsyth since there are hybrid school options in the area. The price is good but you will need to suppliment Bibical teaching at home.


Fideles Christian School 5

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
I love this school! It offers the best of both worlds, private Christian school and homeschool. They are committed to developing the whole student, academic and character. The teachers are great and interested in helping students to succeed.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Hello, thank you for taking the time to consider our school. We would welcome the opportunity to share with you the benefits of our program for your child/children and family. We are an Accredited College Preparatory Program of quality with a home school touch that can point to a solid record of student achievement. I think that you will find that we are a family of families working together to provide our children a competitive Christian education at a cost that most families can afford. Hope to hear from you soon!
Posted February 12, 2015

Fideles Christian School 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a teacher
Fideles Christian School is dedicated to excellent, college preparatory education with a Christian world view. For the school year 2013-2014, we have 31 teachers on staff with 13 masters degrees and 22 degrees in education. All 31 teachers have college degrees. Middle and high school teachers teach within the area of their college degree. Our teachers represent almost 300 years of combined teaching experience. We do have moms teaching, but they are highly qualified and passionate about education and bring a balanced parent and teacher perspective to the classroom.


Fideles Christian School 5

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
I can't say enough about Fideles Christian School! Our family absolutely loves the hybrid schooling approach. K - 4th grades go to school 2 days a week and 5th - 12th grades go to school 3 days a week. The teachers do all the lesson planning, grading, and teach new concepts. Everything is filtered through a Christian Worldview. The founders, Jonny and Ellen Whisenant, truly have a heart in combining Christianity with a strong academic environment. And yes, they are accredited with quality! If you can't afford a 5 day a week private school, this is a great alternative. It is truly the "Best of Both Worlds!"

Fideles Christian School 3

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
Love the idea of 3 days in class and two at home. However, the administration is unprofessional and make up and change polices very irrationally. There are only a few teachers that are actually certified teachers, most are just moms of students. The environment is very legalistic in Christian teachings and very unforgiving and unwelcoming to outsiders. I'm hoping for a better option next year.

Fideles Christian School 5

Posted November 29, 2013
- a teacher
I left teaching in a public school setting for 9 years to join the Fideles Christian family! I love the family atmosphere, the emphasis on a relationship with Christ, and a desire to provide homeschooled families with a competitive educational experience.


Fideles Christian School
no rating

Posted June 04, 2009
- a parent
I love this school! It has a great environment, excellent education, and great students. Send your child to this school. It is awesome!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fideles Christian School
1390 Weber Industrial Drive, Cumming, GA  30041
(770) 888-6705
Last modified Fideles Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Fideles Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top