Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chattahoochee Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

I wanted to give this school a negative star if I have the option to. My son is in kindergarten right now and his teacher is horrible. My son is afraid to go to school and sometimes he would beg for me to let him stay home. I'm not sure what goes on at school but he will not tell me until recently. I have discuss this many times with his teacher but she denies and ignore me or change the subject. It's not until we got the principal involve that she starts to apologize and show some kind of caring. She does not encourage students but give them negative feedback. She does not care if student is failing or fall behind. I would live to put her name on blast but then I'm afraid she will harass me as she is starting to after we talk to the principal. I honestly don't think she deserve working around anyone's child as they're all bright and deserve better teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My granddaughter transferred to Chattahoochee Elementary this fall. She is enjoying her teacher, first grade classroom, and has had nothing but positive statements about this transition time. As a former classroom instructor and a grandmother, it is of utmost importance that she is in such a positive learning environment.


Posted October 12, 2012

This school is amazing! We are truly blessed to be living in this area for our son to attend here. I love that they are always having something going on and giving the students & their familes to participate in a lot of fun activities. The staff & other students are very nice.In SC my son was bullied and discriminated against.Since my son has been going here I have not had a single issue with his teacher or students.They have a strict policy that pushes the children to be the best they can be & also be good influences for each other.I also like how safe they are!The bus drivers are very responsible and SAFE!We live on a dangerous highway & the speed limit is 55mph.I always get nervous b/c the oncoming traffic makes a sharp turn before having to stop for the bus.The bus driver will NOT allow the child to move until ALL traffic has stopped completley and everything is safe. She also has them do a safety routine where they are required to look both ways themselves before and after getting on/off the bus. She likes to make sure you are there waiting which is cool b/c of the heavy/dangerous traffic around us. I believe that my child will succeed over the top and will stay happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

GREAT AMAZING SCHOOL!! COULDNT BE HAPPIER. They have a great discipline and safety policy. My child has become smarter and more influenced in positive things that are encouraged by the school. Teachers make school fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

a school that help when you needs help,.. that put kids first...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

It a grade school,that help all kids never let a child go without no matter what the cause it is work with kids to help them feel good about them self, this is just the best school my son love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

Chattahoochee is far above any other school in the county. With great administrators as leaders, the teachers feel motivated and empowered to run their classes. Although with tough economic times, classroom sizes are increasing, teachers are still able to focus one each child's individual needs. We are truly blessed to have wonderful parent involvement and a fabulous PTO. The PTO president truly cares about the teachers and the school. She is great! It is clear when you walk in the doors that everyone is doing their job there and they clearly love what they do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

I believe this school is representative of the quality education offered in the county. I feel the only thing lacking in the school is the involvement and support of the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

We just moved here from out of state and I was concerned about my childrens transition to another school. Everyone from the teachers to the front desk have been excellent ! My kids love the school and their teachers. We moved from an excellent school district up north and I am finding Chattahoochee to be right up there in their academics. We are very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

An excellent, caring school. Special services for children with slight learning disablities has been excellent and very accomodating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

A great school with an active PTA, caring teachers and a strong but kind-hearted principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

We absolutely loved this school last year when I sent my son there for kindergarten. His teacher & teacher's aide were wonderful! They always encouraged him and noticed how bright he was, which he is. This year however, his first grade teacher seems to always be rushing them and she definately focuses on the negative. I don't think I've heard anything positive come out of her mouth about my son who by the way has never been in trouble for acting out or not listening. I feel that it takes a certain person to be a teacher to provide a fun & positive learning environment and sadly my son didn't get that this year. Hopefully next year will be a good one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

We have three girls. Two who have went on to middle school , but we still have one there in 4th. the teachers seem to do the best with what they have. the principal not sure about. But those two characters at the front desk , thats another story. every time I've been to that front office they are either applying fresh make-up or primping in a compact mirror. Please! Stop wasting tax payers money and do your job. The security at this school , what security? Let's work on that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

As a parent of a first grader, I must say how impressed I am with the school. Not only is she doing exceptionally well but her enthusiasm and desire to learn is extremely high. She likes her classmates and her teacher and often tells how other students tell her 'Way to Go, M'. I particularly like the culture of excellence that is nurtured there. My daughter told us that if she misses putting vegetables on plate at the cafeteria, the lunch ladies always tell her she must have vegetables each day and ensure that she has it. Her teacher is out of this world. She calls me at home to discuss progress and strategies to help my daughter learn new concepts. Only drawback? The amount of fundraiser but otherwise I cannot complain. Thanks Chattahoochee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

My Son just finished K and I had a wonderful experience. He was having problems and his teacher was wonderful in giving him the extra help that he needed and always kept me very informed. I helped in his class every Thursday and was always welcome at the school. I could not have asked for a better teacher or school for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

My child is finishing up his Kindergarten year at this school, and so far, has had a horrible experience. They don't encourage progression in accelerated abilities but more so focus on the negative. I am constantly getting notes home about silly trivial matters like talking in the hallway that should be handled appropriately at the facility. I asked several times to have my son moved to a different teacher because I believe the one he has is extremely unable to handle responsibilities of a bright child, and was told that this was not an option, even though it meant my child struggling through the school year. The staff is rude, and there is little left to say but its more like a base camp for children than a structured, caring, learning environment. Were I not a single mothwer who didn't have the means, my child would be pulled in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

I have experienced the best of the best teachers . Both my kids started kindergarten at chatt. and will go on to middle with the best education and memories a public elementary school can offer. This school is a true GA. School Of Excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2006

I have three children at the school and have been very happy with the school and teachers. When I have a concern I have always been welcome in the principals office and in the classroom. The concerns are always addressed. Parent Involvement is very high both in the classrooms, daily school activity and with the PTO. This school does more than most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

This school is a nightmare... Most teachers rarely follow-up w/you about anything. Grading they use makes no sense, difficult at times to tell how well your kid is doing. Very disappointed, can't wait to move out of this district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Parent involvement would be much higher if the staff, teachers, and administration would work with the parents better. Staff is rude and not friendly or helpful to newcomers. Principal is detached and wishy-washy. Security at the school is poor. The school is crowded and teachers seem overwhelmed. Students are not grouped according to abilities and my child ended up tutoring those students who were behind. I was very disappointed in the school and pulled my child out. I would rather pay for private school or home school than send my child to Chattahoochee. The school has great potential but sadly, doesn't fulfill my expectations of a 'School of Excellence'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

156 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

156 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

156 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

148 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

148 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

148 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

155 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 44%
Hispanic 18% 12%
Black 2% 37%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 Holtzclaw Rd
Cumming, GA 30041
Phone: (770) 781-2240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT