Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coal Mountain Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

98 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 2, 2013

I drive 35 miles one way to work so that i do not have to pull my daughter from this school. Absolutely the best school system In GA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

Horrible Experience! Withdrew my child and would never recommend . Principle needs to take a class in appropriate behavior in front of children. She told me that I could be arrested for not having my identification in dropping my child off for pre-k. This was in front of my 5 year old.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Very friendly and great teachers. helpful. caring for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

I love Coal Mountain Elementary School because of the caring, thoughtful staff. I have been a part of the school for many years and feel they do a great job teaching and guiding the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Wonderful communication between the school, children and parents! Warm "hometown" school atmosphere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

It is a wonderful community school with fantastic students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 20, 2010

Wonderful atmosphere and great teachers! We love CMES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

The teachers are so great the staff have helped me through some rough times. They are great with special needs students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

The faculty and teachers at Coal Mountain really work with parents for the individual needs of the children while maintaining a curriculum that best benefits all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

This school is great!!! My child is autistic and her teachers are amazing. They are very caring and have taken her to a new levels in communication and education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The teachers and administrators truly care about our children and their success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

The teachers are great and care about the students learning.


Posted September 27, 2009

I love Coal Mountain Elementary School because they create a learning environment that helps my son learn and grow. He enjoys his teachers hands on approach to making learning fun. He likes all the special classes like, spanish, P.E., Art and Music. Which are very important to me as a parent. It seems like most of these have been taken away from so many schools and I am happy that they still provide those very important life tools to their students. My child looks forward to school everyday. He try's to learn and be the best he can be, but it takes a lot of work from him. School is not super easy for him, so making it fun and keeping his attention is award winning in my book. Please give this school consideration when evaluating america's winning schools. Thank you, Dawn Cvetkovic
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

We have just moved to the area, and our girls have been received with open arms....who can ask for anything more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

My grand daughter is in the first grade and is reading at several grade levels higher and she loves school.. Great teachers


Posted September 24, 2009

My child comes home and tells me how much she has learned that day and looks forward to tomorow--that says it ALL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

CMES is such a wonderful school. The faculty and staff are so committed to the children and is seen everyday by their actions. My child loves going to school. If that is not a testament to what they are doing there, I don't know what it. CMES is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I really love the welcoming smiles on the teacher's and the administration's faces at Coal Mountain Elementary school. I think it shows that they enjoy their job of being a part of my child's life!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

We love the teachers and the principal!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

because my girls are happy there and having a good learning experience
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

128 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

128 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

128 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

133 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

133 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

133 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 44%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Black 3% 37%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3455 Coal Mountain Dr
Cumming, GA 30028
Phone: (770) 887-7705

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT