Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Daniel Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2014

This school is the BEST school in Gwinnett County and in my opinion in all of GA! The teachers are amazing and the the parents involvement is the best I have ever seen. Mr, Willis, the principal, is is absolutely fantastic with the kids. They all do so much for our kids and treats them as though they are all one big family. The kids here are all eager to learn and help each other out. Fort Daniels sincerely cares about their students and does everything within their power to help them succeed. We are so blessed to be part of this community with such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2014

My kids are going to this school. Great school, very good teachers!! I am very happy with this school, kids love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2014

After much debate and hopes of putting my children in a private school, it was not in our plan for several reasons. As a parent, we want the absolute best for our children! I am so thankful we were able to buy a house in this school district for the purpose of Fort Daniel! It is good to see so much involvement, and still have a conservative public school. I happen to be an incredibly busy parent, and it's unfortunate that I am unable to attend all the school functions. However, I know my children are in wonderful hands of all the amazing support staff, teachers, and other parents which are able to partake! It's an answered prayer that I will continue to be grateful for:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

We have really loved this school. The teachers and staff seem genuinely interested in teaching our children, and also making them better people. Every function that we have attended has been great. Our daughter absolutely loves it here, and is shocked at how much better it is than her last school (Rosebud Elementary in Loganville). The kids are great from what we have seen, with no concerns about violence or bullying (unlike Rosebud).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

This school is the best elementary school in Gwinnett. I know this because my other kids have been in other elementary schools and this one is more personable and has very good teachers. The principal is always interacting with the children and you see him at EVERY function talking to everyone. They keep you informed about all the activities and material going on in the school. LOVE THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2011

To the parent worrried about security from the trailers, not to worry my children were exposed to trailers and after awhile I know they were in good hands. It was the teachers and the admins presence during transition that ease my worry on visits. Just a superior school!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2011

I love this school! Ever since Mr. Willis (principal) has taken over, it has been a great school to be at. The kids love him and parents too. He is a kid at heart but also very responsible and gets the job done. I've had 2 kids go through this school and 2 more that go there now and I would recommend it. The teachers are great and I do have one son that gets extra help and those ladies are amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

My child started Fort Daniel late in the year coming from a private school where she struggled. Her teacher and reading specialist were amazing they made the transition for all of us as smooth as possible. I have another child who will be starting kindergarten in the fall we are so blessed to live in such a wonderful school district . The school only has approx. 630 students that is awesome for a public school our only regret is that we didn't do it sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

This is my child's first year at Fort Daniel and we have an amazing Kindergarten teacher. The faculty/staff are all very caring and attentive to the students. Wonderful leadership is attributed to the great teachers. Fort Daniel is a community oriented school and the kids are always motivated, encouraged, and challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

This is the second year of attendance for my daughter at Fort Daniel. Overall, we have been very pleased with the level of involvement from both teachers, administration, and parents. There is a sign in the cafeteria that says you are only as good as your volunteers. That is certainly true here. Yes, I would like more activities for K-2 as well. Security should be better ( cameras aren't a bad idea ) amongst the trailers. The school is very clean and the children take pride in their environment. We are relocating and are looking for the same kind of school as we have in Fort Daniel. It will be missed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I have two children in this school right now. One is in 4th grade the other is in kindergarden. While one struggles and the other is needing to be changelled more. I find that both ends of the spectrum is met here with both children and like to give praise to the teachers and all of the school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

outstanding principal; generally superior teachers but for the one *** apple in every bunch. we got that one this year :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

Fort Daniel has a high standard for academic achievement. The administration is highly involved and they care deeply for their students. Wish there was more extra curricular activities for the younger children in grades K-2. Also wish there was better security for the students that walk to and from the trailers outside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

This is a wonderful school. My family relocated here, and my children came from a montessori background. The teachers were took that extra step to make sure the transittion with smooth. Thank you Fort Daniel for that extra push!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2004

Fort Daniel is more than a school. It is a community of students, teachers and families that all work together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

Wonderfull School. My child is going in second grade this year. I have been very impressed with the school overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2003

Great school, much less crowded now with the new Duncan Creek opening this fall. Duncan's Creek is where my kids go now, but went to Ft. Daniel before. Both are great, this is a wonderful area to live in!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

99 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

99 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

99 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

106 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

106 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

106 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 44%
Hispanic 15% 12%
Black 12% 37%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1725 Auburn Rd
Dacula, GA 30019
Phone: (770) 932-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Gerard Preparatory School
Lawrenceville, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT