Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Dacula, GA
Students enrolled: 694
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fort Daniel Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
This is not the school for children with learning differences. If you have a child that can learn by sitting in a classroom and absorb all of the required coarse materials. This is a great place to be. If your child is even slightly out of the realm of this style of learning, this is NOT the place for you. This school is not designed to handle any child with significant reading/writing/spelling/ or math difficulties as diagnosed by a licensed professional. If you have children with these learning styles, get a IEP and get to another learning establishment, public or private. On the flip side, the PTA is great in this school. Many great things happen there because of the parent involvement in PTA. They work very hard to keep costs low. Reiterating, If you have any learning difference needs, you need to consider another county school system.

Fort Daniel Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Children that do not have learning differences do very well at this school. Great preparation for middle school.

Fort Daniel Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Only to those that understand how persistence, grit, and determination are being taught. How about self reliance? Self confidence? Through those reassuring personal qualities help you develop persistence, grit, and determination.

Fort Daniel Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Children that have learning differences feel left out at Fort Daniel; because the children realize they are unable to keep up with their peers at an early age. The biggest problem in this kind of environment is that learning difference children are forced to watch other mainstream learning children receive awards for their academic achievements. This allows children with learning differences to feel as a failure because of their achievements are not measured appropriately by the school. It comes down to teaching styles. This school (and the school system) has a one size, one way, of doing things. If your child doesn't fit in, there are no success's in their lives. So, no it is not a fair environment for all.

Fort Daniel Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
It is appropriate to the level of what a child needs to know. It certainly does vary by teacher and grade. My experience was that it was incremental as grade level increased.

Fort Daniel Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
This school does pride itself on respecting others. However, the school philosophy, does not provide respect to children that learn differently. How can you expect a child that doesn't learn like others to respect his or herself?

Fort Daniel Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
If you were compassionate for all students, you would have appropriately trained teachers for different types of learning styles. The compassion, caring, and empathy only goes as far as your child's ability to provide good test scores.

Fort Daniel Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
This school is the BEST school in Gwinnett County and in my opinion in all of GA! The teachers are amazing and the the parents involvement is the best I have ever seen. Mr, Willis, the principal, is is absolutely fantastic with the kids. They all do so much for our kids and treats them as though they are all one big family. The kids here are all eager to learn and help each other out. Fort Daniels sincerely cares about their students and does everything within their power to help them succeed. We are so blessed to be part of this community with such a wonderful school.

Fort Daniel Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
My kids are going to this school. Great school, very good teachers!! I am very happy with this school, kids love it!!

Fort Daniel Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
After much debate and hopes of putting my children in a private school, it was not in our plan for several reasons. As a parent, we want the absolute best for our children! I am so thankful we were able to buy a house in this school district for the purpose of Fort Daniel! It is good to see so much involvement, and still have a conservative public school. I happen to be an incredibly busy parent, and it's unfortunate that I am unable to attend all the school functions. However, I know my children are in wonderful hands of all the amazing support staff, teachers, and other parents which are able to partake! It's an answered prayer that I will continue to be grateful for:)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fort Daniel Elementary School
1725 Auburn Rd, Dacula, GA  30019
(770) 932-7400
Last modified Fort Daniel Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fort Daniel Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top