Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dacula High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

My son is graduating from Dacula High this year. Overall I have been pleased with the quality of education that he has received. My only complaint is with the counseling staff, although I can only speak to the quality of the counselor assigned to him, I'm not a fan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

Dacula does a great job working with all students! The "Big Board" celebrates their accomplishments in and out of the classroom. The faculty is strong in content and care for the kids. All high schools have some problems with teenager-type issues, but the staff and student body do a great job to be accepting and caring to everyone. Our student body is very involved with the community. The test scores of Dacula continue to rise and are comparable or better than all other surrounding schools! Go Falcons!


Posted August 12, 2012

I am excited about the new principal. He seems to want to get the students more engaged and motivated about high school, which in turn will hopefully result in better grades and less behavioral issues. My daughter said on the first day of school there was a motivational speaker and the teachers had students to do ice breaking activities in addition to just going over the syllabus using a "speed dating" approach. She came home really excited about going back to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

As a student of 3 different High Schoolsfrom two different states, I can say confidently that this school DOES have a drug problem. There are great teachers here. No other school I've been to has teachers like Dacula. However, there is a strong drug influence. The test scores are generally high because there is a greater devide between students with higher and students with lower grades. There is a high drop out rate. Also, many students are transferred to dacula from other schools, because they were ejected for behavior from their previous school. This is done so that the school may remain 5A, for football region purposes. This does nothing but feed the drug problem. There have been new staff members hired this past year that may show signs of improvement. So there may be hope of fixing the drug problem, but it is going to take a few years. Bottom line this school has great teachers, a drug problem, and hope for improvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2012

I love this school. And so do my boys. It has been a great experience and well worth the move
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

I would not advise anyone to send their children to Dacula High School. It's racist against white kids, teachers don't show interest in their students that are struggling, fights, overcrowding etc.


Posted November 17, 2010

This high school is no place you would want to send your children! Fights, crowding, racial attitudes from blacks towards whites, teachers are not the kind of teachers you would want to teach to your children and I could go on an on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

Dacula High School provides excellent academic opportunities and social advantages to their students. My son has attended this school for 2 years and I feel that he will be more than equip to compete on the university level. The teachers are really plugged in and interested in the success of the students. After reading many of the comments, I feel that much of the focus is extremely picky and petty. No school is perfect. It is a public school whose focus should be in providing our children with a strong academic foundation in a nurturing environment that is conducive to learning. Dacula High School is located in a beautiful close knit community that does just that! The football is a major focus, but it appears that football is a focus all over GA. So get over it....GO FALCONS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Both my girls attended Dacula and my husband and I were very impressed with the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

Many of the teachers are good here, and I do like the emailed progress reports that are sent by most teachers. As far as safety this school is as safe as any school. Every school has issues with kids. However, I have seen atheletes get away with getting D's in classes but still being able to participate in the sport. My son had a very bad grade in one of his classes and they were still going to let him participate, but I put my foot down and said no he will not until his grade goes up. I know it is the parents responsibility to help with their children, but the school has responsibilities also. Such as, proper discipline for grades and attendance. If students know they can get away with it cause the school doesn't care they will continue to do so and their grades will suffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

Wow, the reviews on this school is just too comical. Okay yeah, drug problem, but go to any school in this country and you are bound to find that. And yeah, fights among students do happen, but that happens in all schools, everywhere. It doesn't happen all the time so chill out. And yes, football is a big part of this school, and sorry the arts isn't as big but come on, that the united states for you. If you don't like it, you don't have to be here. And for you whose grades have dropped, it's the schools fault, really? That sounds absurd. Take the blame and move on wit your life and stop bad-mouthing this school. Students- if you don't like it, transfer. Parents- if you don't want you kids to go there- don't make them.


Posted February 20, 2009

My daughter went to Dacula HS. I did not feel that she was safe there. I did not like the bad influences that were at Dacula HS, and it seems to have a drug problem, along with too many school fights.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

Dacula is fun and all the teachers do all that they can for every student to succeed. My parents love the continuouse e-mailed grade reports. Mainly Dacula has great teachers and students everyone is friendly, and it is easy for a new student to fit in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

Great communication between teachers and parents. My daughter loved all her teachers and is excited to go back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

Coming from 'up north' I'd heard about the obsession over sports in southern schools, but to experience it first hand...wow...Obviously not very focused on advancing academics/support and encouragement for the non-athelete/(no field trips!!!)/ No tolerance/acceptance for expressions of individuality/Students, parents and staff are very closed minded... My daughter was always a top A/B student, always eager to learn, but since we've moved to GA (Dacula) she is depressed and has dropped down to a 'C' student. I'm afraid of how it will be when my 4th grader attends high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

Poor leadership from Administration and not enough diversity amongst the teachers. The student population is changing and the administration is still living with a 60's mentality. There are not enough career and tech classes offered to match the demands of the 21st century. They must improve their coursework to better accomodate the needs of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

They are overly obsessed with football, while neglecting the arts. The administration is broken and makes the students frustrated. The teachers are the best part of the school. Many of them are wise in the world and in the knowledge of their subject. In my honor level and AP classes I had some really great teachers. However, lower level classes have poorer teachers. As a parent, be wary of the bad teachers and the administrations lack of administration.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 17, 2006

The leadership at Dacula High school needs major improvement. Parents and students at DHS can not feel safe when teachers lack the ability to adequately manage classroom behaviors. Teachers should provide a safe classroom environment for our children. Teenagers will argue but it is the teachers/school responsibility to interven immediately during any verbal or physical altercation. Dacula High school now has a history of students being teased and pushed to the point of violence. Some teachers need to be more assertive to help resolve student to student conflicts before it escalates. Discipline should be distributed fairly amongst students. Anything short of this is unsatisfactory. As is my rating for Dacula High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

Many of the teachers at Dacula really seem interested in helping the kids do their best. Of course, there are some that do great disservice to the students. Emphasis on learning should be paramount and unfortunately it gets lost in the mix at times. The counselors need to learn to counsel and help the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

Being a former student of Dacula i feel it is a great school. I was very prepared for college and am doing great in all of my classes because of my high school background. The only problem is that parents are over critical of the administration on some issues that they really have no control over. I never felt unsafe while attending Dacula and i loved my time there!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

376 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

369 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

376 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

370 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

484 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

450 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

487 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 44%
Black 34% 37%
Hispanic 17% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Donald Nutt
Fax number
  • (770) 338-4665

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

123 Broad St
Dacula, GA 30019
Phone: (770) 963-6664

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mountain View High School
Lawrenceville, GA


Archer High School
Lawrenceville, GA





Phoenix High School
Lawrenceville, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT