Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dacula Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2013

My child attended Dacula Elementary for six years, and it was a wonderful experience for him. The teachers are highly qualified, as well as, caring. I'm grateful that he had the opportunity to be a student there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

When the right opportunity comes I can't wait to put my soon to be 5th grader and soon to be 3rd greater in a better school. My child's kindergarten teacher would group the child by ethnicity during center time and I noticed it. I mentioned it to her during a parent/teacher conference and she just laughed it off. My son had a headache one day and told his teacher, she responded with I'm sure it does . That doesn t make me feel as a parent that you respect and love my child when they re in your care. In another situation with a different teacher I wrote her a question and she responded to my e-mail in a very rude and sarcastic manor and when I addressed it with proof in my hands excuses were made for that teacher instead of making me feel like as a parent I can address anything and get support as a parent and to make sure my child is in a good environment. 2011-2012 and the years before that were not good years and am not looking forward to another year with them. The bus driver was rude, mean with the kids. My daughter came home telling me, mommy the bus driver slammed on her brakes and we all hit the seats in front of us . They also get told to shut up by the bus driver
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

My daughters, 8 and 10, have always attended DES. We love the school. The teachers are great and really keep in touch with the parents. There is a lot of parent participation in the classrooms. My 10yr old loves the Chorus program and Mrs. Leamon. They have a drama program which the children also love. All the teachers and staff seem to know all the children by name, despite the large enrollment. We're moving this summer and really hate to leave DES !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

My 2 children attend DES in 2nd and 5th grade. Dacula Elementary has been a very positive experience - great teachers and staff. They make learning fun, have many organized resources for children that may need extra assistance. A very active PTA and an overall good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

To the parent who said there is no summer school program - you are WRONG! There is a summer school program! I am a parent and teacher at the school and have been for many years. There is also before and after school tutoring available throughout the school year. Individual teachers also are available for before and after school tutoring if needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2009

My son started Dacula Elementary at 5 years old and love the teachers and students. Dacula Elementary take pride in their student and use every avenue to help the student to acheive..Thank you DES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

I have two children that attend DES. I feel that the school is great and that teachers are doing a fabulous job. Way to go Mrs. Weaver 1st grade and Mrs. Boozer Kindergarten
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

We have had the best year at this school! My son's teachers are wonderful I am so glad that in is here!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

This is my child's second year at Dracula Elementary.Our family highly recommends Dacula Elementary School. We have read online the inside scoop about this school. We have checked the school's score and talked to many families in the community. Dacula Elementary was highly recommended online as well as in the community. Wow, our family really enjoys being a part of this school! It is a clean large school, with a close net community. The teachers and parents are highly involved in the students' learning process. The school offers extracurricular activities and academic programs for all levels. My child loves the Friday mornings' chess club and the after-school art program. Being a large school,the school's PTA used their fundraiser monies to purchased the school's security cameras.It shows us that the community loves their school and children seems happy as well.Over-all, we rate Dacula Elementary high marks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

I have two children who go to Dacula Elementary, a kindergardner and a third grader. This is not a bad school but, I think they could add more activitites for the kids and most important they need more tutoring to help kids who fall behind and how about some free tutoring. We as parents today have so many expenses so it would be nice if they did not charge students that need extra help. Also a summer school program would be nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My daughter started Kindergarten this year at Dacula Elementary. So far, I am very pleased. The teacher is very upfront about what they are doing in class and how they approach discipline. My only regret is that they don't have the time or resources to do music, art, computers, health, and physical education every day (instead of once a week). Her teacher encourages parent participation, which I hope to be able to get involved with. Overall, a great experience so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2006

This is a wonderful place for learning. The teachers are very supportive. This school welcomes parents with open arms. The communication has been tremendous (PTA meetings, emails, newsletters, phone calls etc.) The teachers go above and beyond. I have had 3 children to attend this school. One is still there. We have had an amazing experience. The academics, extracurricular activities and the parent voluteerism is the highest of any public school that I know of. This is an award winning school. It has high standards in all academic areas. Check the data! Better yet, get involved in the school if you have anything negative to say about Dacula Elementary, so that you can see the whole picture for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

As a parent of 2 students at DES, I am amazed at the criticism and unfairness of the last few comments. Apparently, you all didn't do your job as parents and consumers by shopping around for a school that meets your every whim and desire.Then again, there probably are not schools that exist to meet your petty expectations. Teachers are not miracle workers, nor are they perfect. Instead of attacking the system how about trying to be proactive. Become a partner with your child's teacher instead of seeing them as the enemy. If DES is unsatisfactory in your eyes, then do the rest of us a favor and homeschool. We don't want your negative attitude to ruin the rest of our children's experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

'We moved here from another state and have a daughter at DES. Overall, I'm pleased with DES, but I do not feel the school is academically challenging for my daughter. DES needs more programs to address the needs of exceptional students of all ages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

I have a child currently attending Dacula Elementary and I can say it has truly left a sour taste in my mouth. I found several errors on my sons' report card. I had to turn to another teacher to retest my son on the areas his teacher said he did not succeed in and she was stunned to say the least on how incorrect the report card was. I confronted the teacher and Vice Principal with problem and all they could say is sorry and we will make the corrections. Some of the teachers are merely working off their loan from UGA and then they are moving on from teaching. Parents make sure you look at every note, read each newsletter, evaluate and challenge these 'Teachers' at Dacula Elementary to teach the children. Your Childs education is at stake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

I have a 2nd grader and 3rd grader who began their academic careers at Dacula. I was always pleased with the school but did not realize how awesome it was until moving out of state. Moving into a new school system it is so obvious that my children are well prepared and that Dacula was acedmically way above the standards of many other school systems. DES has an incredible teaching staff and is run amazaingly well. For a school its size it is incredibly well organized and the administrative staff does an amazing job of being present and making both the parents and kids feel well informed and safe. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2006

My comment to the parent with their 5th child going to DES and is unhappy is simple...MOVE! That would help begin to eliminate the overcrowding and cattle herding that your children are experiencing. Do you think overcrowding is the school's fault? Think again! The DES faculty goes over and beyond the call of duty to provide a quality education and community outreach to the diverse population they serve. It is a warm, loving, caring environment that embraces not only the students, but also their families and the Dacula community. Gwinnett is a fast growing county due in part to the school system's high academic standards. DES does a wonderful job preparing students for their future endeavors.They provide all of the seeds necessary for academic growth and development but also expect students to take personal responsibility for utilizing what they have learned and applying themselves. DES is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

This is our 5th child to enter DES. I have seen the school change dramatically over the past 7 years. It has become an overcrowded, unsafely understaffed cattle drive. Children are being overlooked and falling through the cracks of this great looking school. They are more concerned with school being fun than academics. If you think the middle and high schools are better talk to any number of the parents I know who had children graduate with A averages from high school only to flunk out of their first year of college because they are so ill prepared for real academics. Truly sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

We just moved from out of state to Dacula Elementary and was a little hesitant about my children going to a southern state school but i just want to say 'way to go ' I am very much impressed with the teachers and their readiness to help in any way possible to help these children achieve their goals. I feel this school is above it's standards in all aspects of learning. I feel comfortable knowing my children are in the hands of caring teachers and staff. My daughter attends Dacula MS and I feel the same towards her school. I am glad I have chosen 'Dacula' as my children's schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

I give Dacula Elementary an A! They were able to take excellent care of my sons special needs when no one else seemed to be able to. He is a little hyper but not enough to be labeled ADD or ADHD so he was not put into that catagory. He simply was put into a class with 2 teachers and 6 kids so that he could get the extra attention he needed. I would highly recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

216 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

217 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

217 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

215 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

215 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

215 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

252 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 44%
Black 21% 37%
Hispanic 16% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 Fence Rd
Dacula, GA 30019
Phone: (770) 963-7174

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT