Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Puckett's Mill Elementary School 2

Posted July 24, 2016
- a parent
The school used to be run very well by administration and the teachers seemed very knowledgable. That has not been the case the past several years. In fact, two years ago (14-15 school year) my child had a 3rd grade teacher who had teaching experience but was new to teaching at this school and it was a very difficult year. On numerous occasions throughout the year the teacher was asked questions by both students and parents and she could not answer them. It was unbelievable that a teacher would be grading students on things that she could not fully explain. Administration was of no help and just provided excuses. In addition, the staff turnover at the school just continues to cause problems for the school. Wonder what the upcoming year holds?

Puckett's Mill Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
Some teachers are terrific but there are some that are not as effective as they could be.

Puckett's Mill Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2015
- a community member
Puckett's Mill Elem School has a very friendly and professional front office staff. Strong administration and leadership. Beautiful, safe school for students and staff to grow!

Puckett's Mill Elementary School 2

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
My school is Puckett's Mill Elementary. I have problems with administration more than teachers. The teachers do their best but are limited due to administration only care about the test scores and the school being the best than the rest. Which use to be the school motto and is still the concept of some of the administration. Children all work at different levels. If your child does not meet up to their standards they try to send your child to other schools. It is sad when educators and administration care about their scores as a school more than the children.

Puckett's Mill Elementary School 4

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
Our experiences each year at PMES have always gone directly back to the teacher. While we have had mostly excellent teachers, we've had a not-so-good teacher or two as well. I wish the administrators would have a better understanding of "great teachers make great schools" and do more to recognize the excellence of some teachers while doing something to improve the bad ones.

Puckett's Mill Elementary School 1

Posted May 05, 2013
- a parent
The last review sounds like it was written by a member of the staff. The school has changed a lot since it started. Yes there are some good teachers but there are also a lot of bad ones who don't seem to care. It seems that my daughter learned nothing at all this year.

Puckett's Mill Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has attended PMES since it opened, she's always been challenged and with her natural drive wants to attain more and more at the encouragement of all of her teachers. I will be sad that we leave for middle school but at the same time I know she will do fine because of this school and the teachers - she is very well prepared!

Puckett's Mill Elementary School 1

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
This school is a good example of what government can do to something worthwhile. The administration runs the school with little regard for the children. Teachers who were once outstanding seem to hide in the background as to not gain attention. Ambitious teachers seek to please the administrators at the expense of the children, and mediocre teachers may result to the bullying of students, possibly due to their frustrations. Even teachers in this school district quietly speak about how the system has deteriorated and feel helpless to make a difference. Material that was taught in third grade a few years ago will often not show up until fourth or fifth. And the material is completely skewed to what is currently politicly correct. Teachers spend a great deal of time in their classrooms teaching their students with videos. Or children can watch videos from home on various websites. If parents were to watch the videos for themselves or if they had any idea of what the curriculum was only a year ago, I would highly doubt that any of them would give this school a higher rating than I did.

Puckett's Mill Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2012
- a parent
Puckett's Mill Elementary School is an outstanding school. The expectations of the teachers are high and therefore my children are receiving the best education. In addition, parents are always welcome to volunteer at the school. We are very fortunate to have not only the best teachers but the best administration.

Puckett's Mill Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
We have had a child at Puckett's Mill Elementary for three years now (K-2) and have had nothing but wonderful experiences. I volunteer in my child's classroom on a regular basis and have always been more than welcome to jump in whenever and where ever I can. As a former teacher myself, I understand the demands on public school teachers and administrators, so I feel extremely blessed to have my child at such a great school. I also love that the administration is professional, loving and, above all, approachable.

Nearby schools

Puckett's Mill Elementary School
2442 South Pucketts Mill Rd, Dacula, GA  30019
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (678) 765-5110
Last modified Puckett's Mill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top