Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lumpkin County Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2012

We like the school. Our son is in Kindergarten and is doing well, being challenged and the communication between the school and the parents is excellent. In addition our communication with our son's teacher is excellent as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

For Georgia Schools...this is a good one..however it does not meet my expectations. I'm from the North, and by far there is no comparison to northern education. The lack of discipline here at this school floors me. It's all about positive reinforcement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

As a parent, we all want to have our children surrounded by those who believe in them. I was very shaken to move to the area and after a transfer in to LCES, be hastily told that my child may be held back in K. Four days after the move (!) & with little evaluation. This may be a knee-jerk reaction for a parent of a kindergartner but I think this was premature & believe in my childs ability to rise to the standard. I love the kindegarten curriculum & hope that my initial experience does not mean that my child has been slotted as unsalvageable. The child in question has an amazing vocabulary and is super bright, just shuffled about too much this fundamental year. I'll follow up as the school year wraps to share my impressions of the staff in regards to struggling kids in K!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

My son attended LCES for his 2nd grade school year. The communication with the teacher was great, but communication with the principal, nurse, and other staff was awful. I even had a teacher yell at me for parking in her spot my very first day there.. how was I supposed to know it was 'her spot' there are no signs!! I am really dissapointed with the school and will try to transfer back to Blackburn next year..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2005

Lumpkin County Elementary School may not be keeping up with the Jones's, but it's got heart. Can a school run on heart alone? LCES certainly nurtures the young mind as well. Our family moved away from the city because we felt that the priorities of the mainstream were anything but straight. There, you had to be somewhat heartless to survive. In Lumpkin County as well as LCES, we have been refreshed by the simplicity and yet the total accountability. These children are not unknown by the faculty. Having, through my occupation, experienced some of the extending services of the school, I feel confident that every child is well served and respected. I have two children attending LCES who are having wonderful classroom experiences this year. Their grades are high and they are happy. This beats being proficient in seven different languages any day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

It is true that mostly everyone is nice at LCEM. If that was my only requirement for my son's education I would not have much to complain about, but that is not the case. My son started K this year and supposedly has one of the best teachers. I agree she is nice but great is not something I would say. In truth the whole school has been a let down. I made the mistake of assuming that since my education at the college seemed advanced and modern that the county school would follow in the same footsteps. I have found it is just a nice country school that really does not offer an advanced education. The school does not offer language for K and the extracurricular courses are just basic. I also feel the class size drastically slows down the rate of learning and advancment, most importantly individual attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

My son attended 1st grade last year at LCEM and had a wonderful experience. He loved the school and everything about it. He is so excited about going back next week and this year his little sister starts Kindergarten there as well. We are transplants to Lumpkin County and are more than pleased with this school than the previous one our son was at. Everyone here is so nice, helpful and you can tell they love the kids! That makes a huge difference and LCEM does a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

My son went to Lumpkin County Elementary for only a short time before I pulled him out. We were not happy with the many of the school's policies. The most alarming to me is the bussing system. The elementary students are released from school first. At this time they wait on the bus for the middle school students and then the high school students in the heat or cold. They are all bussed home together. There is one driver and no helper to watch the children. The ride home became a horrible experience for my son. He loves to learn and was very excited about starting school, but after being bullied on the bus and being exposed to many inappropriate behaviors, such as games of 'truth or dare' he no longer wanted to go to school. The problem was discussed with the appropriate people, and I was told nothing could be changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2003

not only have all 3 of my children attended this school, so did i. over the years there has been tremendous growth in the school but they still put the children's safety and education above all
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

97 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 44%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Black 2% 37%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pennie Fowler
Fax number
  • (706) 864-9290

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

153 School Dr
Dahlonega, GA 30533
Phone: (706) 864-3254

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT