Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lena Mae Moses Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2014

I have a ring 8th grader and I have been pleased so far. My student's 7th grade teachers were absolutely amazing. They have a great PTSA and the office, media, and cafeteria staffs are great as well! We are looking forward to new leadership this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2014

I go to this school, but luckily its my last year. I couldn't handle being here for another year. Sexist dress codes (they only make girls go to iss for clothes), and unfair treatment (the principal will favor the teachers' kids, no matter how wrong they are. Justice is almost never served at this school. Teachers here a passive aggressive and its really rude, but a lot of the teachers here are intelligent and pretty cool. I recommend you go to East Paulding Middle, or McClure Middle, instead.


Posted August 23, 2013

this school is butts nonononno it makes u cry lyfe sux here it make me have tears. metal breakdown. nooo. sad sad sad. school bad bye


Posted August 14, 2013

Five stars so far! The staff and teachers have been great welcoming my homeschooled son into this public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Excellent school. Staff, principal, assistannt principals are always there for our children. Education quality always meets the Georgia and National Standards. Safe is outstanding. Non drugs environment that I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

The scores may be good but the attitude is terrible. Teachers and administration treat ALL students like they are little juvenile delinquints. Teachers don't do there jobs. We had one good teacher who communicated with us and tried to help my son the rest couldn't be bothered. And she left. The administration acts like it is a prison and everyone is guilty. Switched my son out and have had NO PROBLEMS he is thriving and happy at his new school! I believe the administration sets the tone of the school and this one is terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

I have 2 children at Moses, one is getting ready to finish their second year and the other is wrapping up their first. Moses is a great school academically and they also have a great band program. As a parent I can monitor my kids grades from the parent portal and send emails to their teachers if I have questions about any of their grades. This is wonderful because in middle school kids need to start being more independent and this allows for them to have their space and the parents to keep an eye on them without going into the school and talking to their teacher like in elementary school. The principles are strict, but that is needed at this age to keep the kids in order. Most of the teachers are great and do a wonderful job getting these kids prepared for high school. Of all the Paulding Co. middle schools Moses has always been my first choice and after having kids there for two years I can say I am very happy with the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

School has a very impersonable character. As parents and having 2 children attend at different times we have noticed a dramatic down grade in the professionalism of the teachers (there are some that are very respectful and actually put forth great effort). I believe a majority of the staff and teachers take on the personality of the leader of the school. Just as a business takes on the personality of the manager so does the school. Consider the atmosphere when entering the school and the pride taken in teacher support with students and parents. Teacher websites are not kept up to date. You are not made aware of issues on grades until it has grown into a major issue & you find out on parent portal. Very poor communication from teachers, most are reactive versus proactive. Some teachers are very defensive and accusatory in their demeanor, it is usually the students or the parents problem. NOT ALWAYS YOU ARE PAID TO TEACH IF YOU DON'T LIKE IT LEAVE! No set curriculum on teachers syllabus. Students are not issued a text book for all subjects as to not having enough and then material does not necessarily come from the text books, leaving a lot of guess work to studying and preparing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

this school is really bad they have some good teachers but some are just horrible not mentioning names (cough cough Mr. D)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

this school is one I am pulling my child out of. The teachers (not all) refuse conferences with the parents during conference week. Generally don't communicate with the parents unless you have a "PROBLEM " child. Don't let the children have adequate time to eat lunch ie 15minutes for lunch is not adequate. Often don't let the children take work home to complete, or tests home to review. They don't update their websites or the parent portal in a timely manner. We've been to four different schools in Ga due to moves and this is by far the worst for parent teacher communication beware the words" in highschool they do this" hello this is not highschool these are ten to fourteen year olds!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

This school stinks when it comes to communication with the students. like if you don't ask the teachers won't even let you know what you are missing your classwork. And, another thing this school's lunch tastes like they went into the garbage and pulled out the grossest things they could find and tried to spice it up!! I like that this schools sports team has great 8th and 7th grade basketball teams this year. Also this schools has way to many fights. Well that's what i think of this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2009

i like the teachers they are really nice and sopportive!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2009

This school yr is my son's 2nd yr attending Moses. Frankly, Moses is just fair. The teachers, from my experience, show interest and communicate adequately when parents 1st open the dialogue. Teachers have websites which are supposed to keep parents up-to-date on what's going on in their respective classes over the course of the year. Yet, I have found these sites to be frequently outdated, sometimes by months. For example, in the middle of the 2nd Sem. (Spring 09) one of my son's teacher's website had Dec 08 data as its latest update. Little school spirit & diversity. Walk the halls & notice how visually depressing things are. My son played a team sport & few students or parents came out in support of the team. Front admin staff was never unprofessional yet not very pleasant. Overall, it's safe & academically adequate but lacks an atmosphere of excitement about learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

This is a very good school. Many of the other students though do have a problem with irritating each other. Especially 6th graders. The whole school got out of NBI for 2 days for our homeroom teachers to tell us how to respect each other. I have to say though that our principal is doing a great job!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2008

We recently moved to Dallas from Augusta. I spent many, many hours researching the schools and neighborhoods. We are very pleased with our decision. my son is in the 6th grade and coming into a school after it has started and starting 6th grade is hard. My son loves going to school. His teacher really care and have helped him with the transition. Mr Holmes has won his heart with his committment to the students. My son has a desire to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I don't like the school. Well, really I don't like some of the teachers. They are too fast and not fit to be teachers. There are some (not mentioning names) that just have it in for some students when they don't do anything wrong. But over all, I guess it's a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2008

This school is excellent and they have an awesome 7th Grade Boys Basketball team.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2008

Awesome School very laid back all I can say.7th going into 8th
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2007

i go to moses and i am in the 7th grade going into 8th. i love this school.most of the teachers are great.i played softball basketball and soccer and the coaches are amazing. the sports are a great. i am glad i went to this schhol but they are building the new one and i hope every thing is like moses and every teacher is like the ones at moses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2007

Great School. Excellent teachers. The best Assistant Principal in the state. Three out of four isn't bad.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

299 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 44%
Black 15% 37%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1066 Old County Farm Rd
Dallas, GA 30132
Phone: (770) 443-8727

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT