Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Paulding High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

I have a junior and a senior at NPHS and we are so disappointed with several aspects of this campus. The design and traffic is ridiculous. The ladies in the front office are very rude and inconsiderate. There are some great teachers here, but they are overshadowed by all the mediocre ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

This school is a wonderful school, with opportunity for some improvement. The band and athletic programs are top notch (although highly expensive) and the AP and Honors curriculum choices are great. My daughter is thriving at this school and we couldn't be more pleased with our choice to move to the area this year. The front office staff is always a bit less than friendly and I have watched multiple times as they appear "put out" with each successive request. The campus is nice, with an amazing pastoral view of grazing cows nearby. The website is slow to update, and not really interactive. All in all, a solid school with well mannered kids, low crime, and a solid parental backing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

I am a retired teacher, counselor and administrator. I met with my grandson and granddaughter's assistant principal and counselor. I was extremely impressed with the caring attitude, assistance and knowledge that they both displayed through out the entire conference. They didn't hurry us through the meeting and did everything possible to make sure my grandchildren adjust well to a new school in a new state. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants a staff that goes the extra mile to ensure students are successful.


Posted January 25, 2013

I agree with the last 2 comments wholeheartedly. I consider myself to be an involved parent and haven't had the greatest interaction with Administration at the school, particularly VP and Principal. My honor student had an issue at school which the school kept me out of the loop on until it became a disciplinary matter and as I tried to resolve it I got push back from administration until I threatened to bring my unanswered questions to the Accreditation meeting. I received a call back from the Education Board over NP High who basically tried to appease me with political double talk but I still never received an adequate resolution to the issue. I have had to make it very clear should an issue arise in the future I need to be part of the process from day one. I don't have a lot of faith in the leadership team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

I agree that this school is a disappointment. I have seen a change the last couple of years. I currently have a senior and a freshman. I was happy when my daughter was a freshman and sophomore, but things have gone down hill since. The teachers don't seem to care about the students (there are a few exceptions). I rarely get any communication from the teachers. The website is never updated, so I feel completely out of touch. I know these are teenagers, but they are still our children, and there still are parents out there who care about their education. I really had hoped that things would change when the new principal came on board, but he is huge disappointment as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

This school is a disappointment to say the least. There are problems with teachers that are not being addressed by the Administration. Very few clubs for the kids. Agree totally with the previous reviewer. Its the new school so everyone was excited to get their child into NP. But what a let down to our students and parents. Teachers need to be monitored and reviewed. Lack of support for parents who have concerns. If you want to feel like you don't have a say about your childs education, then this schools for you. If you have the funds Private is your best bet or if you're moving to the area Cobb County has far better quality teachers and Administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

If you have children and are moving to the area, consider Cobb County instead. Paulding County schools, including North Paulding High School have consistently disappointed. The teachers (with a few exceptions) and administrators are more focused on asking for money than teaching and inspiring students. We have experienced not having enough books or chairs for classrooms for example, and no sense of urgency about correcting such problems. When problems are brought to the attention of administrators, they are treated as an inconvenience rather then an opportunity for improvement. The only positive comment is that the schools are generally safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

My son goes to this school and loves it loves it loves it. I think this is the best high school in the county. The teachers and staff are great. I feel he is getting a quality education here. He is very involved with sports and band and really enjoys it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

North Paulding is fantastic! My daughter started last November there, because we had moved. The teachers and all the staff are great and very caring. We love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

This school has been almost like going to a private school with everything new, excited teachers and alot of individual attention. As each grade is added this may change, but right now the students at this school have been given lot of titles of acheivement for test scores. They have been some of the highest in the County and in the top with state scores. It is a rural area with a few new subdivisions, but one of the wealthier areas of Paulding County. There is nothing wrong with good old Country people who still believe in working hard for their rewards or just to have a good life. We have well behaved students and very supportive families for a High School. It has been along time since I have seen this much Parent support in a High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

This school is Ok for those that live in the area that is mostly country. So having a new school for them is great. The education is ok but not great. schools that i have been to in dekalb county are better than this just because its new its really not all that great and its opposite a farm. i mean come on. and the extra curricular activities are limited and the principles don't treat everyone equally. also academic clubs aren't that great either so really its ok if your planning to go to chattahochee technical college and become a farmer across the street from the school
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2009

I go to this schooll and it is great. The building is brand new and everyone treats you very nice and grown up. Also, There is many different classes offered so you have a wide variety.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2008

Wonderfull School Wonderfull Area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

354 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

355 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

355 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

354 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

439 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
59%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 44%
Black 13% 37%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 N Paulding Dr
Dallas, GA 30132
Phone: (770) 443-9400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Woodland High School
Cartersville, GA



Excel Christian Academy
Cartersville, GA



Cartersville High School
Cartersville, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT