Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Varnell Elementary School 4

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
my daughter has been going to Varnell for 3 years now. She started in 2nd grade, her teacher was Ms. Mantooth. She was wonderful and creative, always paying attention to all of her students. She had Ms. Herron the next year. My daughter really loved her a lot. She is so creative and was the perfect teacher personality wise for my child. We had a few bumps in the road that year and she handled things really great. This year she has Ms. Vanoy. So far she has been good too. Ms. Lisa the principal is amazing, every time i see her she greats every student by name and with a smile and open ear. This school has turned around my feelings in disbelief of the public school system. I do wish the school offered Pre-K, and wish there was an easier way to communicate with teachers via email or text. Another thing that I think the school should offer is art classes. When my child went to Westside Elm they had art and she really misses it.

Varnell Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
I personally feel like school should stay at school outside a few projects a year. Kids have 8 hrs a day at school and barely enough time for family as it is.


Varnell Elementary School 1

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
The Teachers ,most of them and especialy the Princepal ms Lisa has the parents they talk to and the parents they dont. Tried to be nice but cant there very rude. Sure be glad when my daughter gets out of this school. I would not reccomend any parent send there child to this school. so if a parent is reading please dont send ur child here i promise u will regret it. I do

Varnell Elementary School 3

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
The last post was March 5,2012.Seems nothing is happening at Varnell. Depend to much on outside influence on important decisions.

Varnell Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is in 4th grade and has attended Varnell since kindergarten. Each and every teacher she has loved and I cannot say enough wonderful things about the teachers we have dealt with at this school. They truly love teaching and are the reason why my daughter loves going to school each day.


Varnell Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
My daughter Mikayla Crider just started kindergarden and we are very happy with the results from her class,and teachers Mrs. Cresswell and ,miss. Valerie. I have been hanging out at the school and think that everything is great. The Principle is awsom and all the teachers i have came in contact with are wonderfull. Im very excited for my daughter and it is easier to leave her at school knowing that she is taking care of. Thanks to everyone at Varnell Elementary School. I love all you guys.

Varnell Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
Varnell has a dedicated group of teachers and a meticulous principal. This makes for a winning combination.

Varnell Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 26, 2009
- a parent
My son has attended Varnell for 2 years and has I am very proud of his accomplishments and learning progress. I think Varnell is the best elementary school in Whitfield County. The parent - teacher communication is great and the principal, Dr. Ellen Thompson is awesome...she sets a great example for our school. I would highly recommend this school to others.


Varnell Elementary School 1

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
My daughter attended this school for one six week period. It was then that my husband and I decided to enroll her in another school as Varnell did not meet the student's needs on many levels. The teachers didn't display the committment level that one would expect from a role of a teacher. The school focused more on their financial needs and gains rather than the needs of the students. I was not in any way impressed with this school and surely would not recommend it to any parent.

Varnell Elementary School 3

Posted September 14, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has not had much of anything to challenge her at this school. She is expected to wait while the others catch up. The only challenges she has faced are social and nothing has been done to help her in that area. I thought elementary school was a place where a child could grow in every aspect, and not just at the pace of the slowest child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Varnell Elementary School
3900 Cleveland Rd, Dalton, GA  30721
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (706) 694-3471
Last modified Varnell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top