Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Hope Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 580 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

OMG!! Can't say enough about this school I've had children here for 7yrs. Though I have 3 children I love this school. I also sub here and love the faculty like they're my family. I've always felt very welcome here wether it be volunteering or subbing. The teachers have our children's best interest at heart. Such heart felt people, I'm very thankful we found New Hope when we did. I've also had so many other parents sayin they wish their children could go to this school. Love love love my school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We love New Hope! It's a great school with fabulous teachers and staff. So warm and welcoming to all students and parents, along with great test scores and achievements. I would not send my kids anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

There aren't enough ways to describe the family feeling at New Hope! The faculty AND staff treat every child like their own. Also, parents are welcome ALWAYS! I have two boys at New Hope now and my daughter (18 now) spent her elementary years there. A lot of things have changed over the years but, one thing remains, this school is committed to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2012

I have had two grandkids that attended this school. I absolutely love the principal and all the teachers I ever had to deal with, except one. We had a great experience there and would recommend this school to anyone. They care about the kids and their well being.


Posted April 16, 2012

teachers are not qualified to determine if a child should be on medication for ADHD. these teachers seem to push that to much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

I have been disappointed all year with this school. This is my first year with a child there and I will not be sending him back. They are constantly pressuring for money and items and then last week a teacher allowed my 6 year old to tell her that he wasn't riding the bus he was going to aftercare and he did! I have tried to follow all rules that are placed for our child's safety and there was no note for him to stay in aftercare. I was upset because of the lack of following protocol and also the unprofessional way the asst teacher and other teachers around spoke to me. No apologies from the adults involved just blame on my child. What happened to teaching our children character education also? I am considering moving out of state in fear that all GA schools educators have the same attitudes towards parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2010

Excellent School. It has a great staff. I wauld recomend it to anybody. My daught loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

My daughter started the 3rd grade at New Hope this year after moving from Acworth, Georgia where she was in a great school...rated 9 out of 10! I must say that, so far, I am very pleased with how this school is handled by the Principal. AND my daughter was lucky enough to have one of the BEST Teacher's around...Mrs.Harless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

Im happy to have a child in this scool
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

This is my son's second year at New Hope and I am very pleased. He was very shy in K last year but he did make a best friend that we continue to do things with to this day. 1st grade has been great and I am very pleased with Ms. Brooker! I am looking forward to my other 2 children attending also!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

My daughter came to New Hope after completing 2 years in a private Christian School. We are so very pleased and blessed that she has experienced and achieved so much with New Hope. Her teachers have been outstanding, motivational, and considerate. God bless you all for caring so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

My son just finished K at New Hope and he loved it. His tracher was Ms. Warren and Ms. Morrison. He really learned alot and is looking forward the starting first grade in Aug.2004. I am so happy that he loves school so well. I feel that the teachers and staff love doing there job and it showes in there work. Keep it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

my son just finished 1st. grade , we had a great year. we just wanted to say thank you mrs. k guice for a job well done . we appreaciate everthing you done for our son corey . we loved being in your class , he already talks about visiting you when the new year starts. have a great summer you earned it , again thank you for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2003

Our daugther is in kindergarten (S.Ledford)this year and she loves it. The teachers and staff have made it exciting for her and she even wants to go on Saturday's. I hope all the other teachers are of this quility and have this same abillity to modivate their students this way. We were also impressed with the security at this school. New Hope , thank you for being here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2003

The school is really nice and everything around it is okay but; some of the teachers do not take the initiative to help those that maybe somewhat challenged in areas that other students are not. I understand that teachers may not have extra time to spend and that their time is limited, but when it's your child you want to look out for their best interest as to when others may not be concerned. Thanks for your time. Concerned parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2003

The school is great, The teachers are realy outstanding, And I want to say keep up the good work. Oh and parent involvement is unbelievable, I couldnt believe how many parents get involved, this school makes it happen. Very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2003

my son started here at new hope. his teacher was so great and helpful . i could really say that by the end of the year my son had learned a great deal, and was much more responsible than he was before he started school.he is very excited about the upcoming year,and so are we.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 44%
Hispanic 32% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 1% 37%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Brinda Clayton
Fax number
  • (706) 673-3182

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1175 New Hope Rd NW
Dalton, GA 30720
Phone: (706) 673-3180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT