Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brookwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2013

Brookwood Elementary has a fantastic staff of teachers, para-pros, maintenance and leadership. My daughter is in 4th grade, her 5th year here and she loves the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

From the top down, this school works well. Academically, the teachers challenged my children in every subject, forcing them to think for themselves and grow into independent scholars. The teachers coordinate efforts and work together, sharing new and productive methods for teaching. Through the PTA and parent involvement, there students have over 20 clubs in which to participate, from running club to gardening and science. It is a happy a great, happy place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

I think BrookWood Elementary is a wonderful school my daughter went to it last year and she loved it! She went there since pre-k. Great Staff, Great Everything! I honestly consider BrookWood Elementary the best elementary school in Dalton Georgia. Keep up the GREAT work!(:
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I have two grandchildren that go there and they have always been a wonderful school.


Posted October 20, 2009

From the PK students, to the parapros, teachers, nurse, Specials teachers (PE, Music, Art, Library) and Maintenance Staff; I cannot imagine any school being better. So welcoming and friendly and I dare you to find better cafeteria food anywhere!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Brookwood has really been a great experience for my daughters first year of school. As a parent you always are worried about the first impression that you child will have on school, and this was the her year that is a big milestone. A child can never re-do their first impression of the beginning of their educational career, and I am so glad my daughters was at BROOKWOOD! Thank you Brookwood
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Great campus, great teachers, great kids, great parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Brookwood has the greatest sense of community than any school I've seen! The parents, teachers,staff and principal are all a team! Brookwood teachers and principal make learning fun!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

My kids like too go to school, because they love the teacher, and all the activitys they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The entire staff is committed to every student to make sure they learn and have fun doing it. The parent support is excellent, and everyone works so well as a team for the benefit of all the children at Brookwood. Brookwood is an awesome school, and my kids love it! I can't imagine them going anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Brookwood has great teachers that really care about the students! The principal is imaginative and progressive and strives to make opportunities available that will help the teachers provide the students with the best educational experience possible. The parents are wonderful and the students are simply the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Outstanding staff. I believe everyone in at our school truly loves children and loves to create a stimulating, fun learning environment. The proof is in the way my little one jumps up every morning to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Students are treated with respect. Teachers attempt to meet the individual needs of all students.


Posted September 18, 2009

The greatest school, teachers,and staff. A good PTA program. Excellent parent support. Teaching is geared to meet the individual students need. In other words, Brookwood is the greatest school,


Posted September 18, 2009

It has the best teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love working at Brookwood because the staff is so supportive of each other and we are trusted to do what is best for kids. I am also a parent of a Brookwood student and I think other teachers here do a great job!


Posted September 18, 2009

Brookwood is the best! We have the greatest students in the world and wonderful supportive parents. It is such a joy to be able to teach in such a terrific school. Yeah, Brookwood Lions!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

Why do you love Brookwood Elementary School? We have a child in Kindergarten and she Loves her teacher, Ms. Polk and she Loves her school and that is very important to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Active parents & teachers (especially after school hours) makes our school a joy for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love Brookwood because the class room sizes are smaller than most public schools. The teachers seem to have a more intimate relationship with each child. Not only do I love Brookwood, but my daughter loves being a Lion.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

93 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

94 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

93 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

102 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 12%
White 33% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 2% 37%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Will Esters
Fax number
  • (706) 278-8224

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 Central Ave
Dalton, GA 30720
Phone: (706) 278-9202

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


City Park School
Dalton, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT