Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 577 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2014

Best of the best. Wonderful , professional human teachers. I'm glad my son finished his elementary school at westwood .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2011

If this is the best the City has to offer... I'll pass. Our one year experience was horrific to say the least. Private school is the only way to go in Dalton. Time to move out of town to attend Chattanooga private schools! Now I see why our chamber president & corporate leaders send their children to private schools in Chattanooga.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

The teachers are great and they reallly care about how my child is doing! The assistant principal is always soo happy and smiling!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Westwood Elementary School is the BEST school in the Dalton City district. Our student's PERFORMANCE says it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The teachers are incredible!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

We love Westwood because the staff is always so nice and cheerful. My boys are always happy and ready for the next day. They never ever say 'I don't want to go to school today'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

The culture there is one of love, happiness, and collaboration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Because it is such a happy place to grow and learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

The faculty and staff are by far the best I have ever seen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The staff at this school is really an extension of me. They care for my kindergartener as if he was one of their children. Every teacher and administrator at the school seems to know the kids by name. I mean, the 1st grade teachers can say hello to my child BY NAME when he isn't even in 1st grade. It's really incredible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Such a friendly place and so many great teachers. Everyone who works there is truly dedicated to the children.


Posted September 18, 2009

Westwood has the best teachers and staff! They care about my children like they were their own family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Excellence in: academics, staff, mentoring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Great teachers, wonderful support staff, terrific parents and stellar administration - but most of all, fantastic kids!!! We camped out for 18 hours in order to get our kindergartener into this school... we love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Westwood offers as much as any private school. Their curriculum challenges students in so many ways. They provide opportunities for student enrichment through art, field trips, music and much more. The teachers and staff are awesome. The community involvement with this school if far better than any I have seen. Students are challenged both from an intellectual and social aspect. Westwood is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

This is my daughter's second year in public school and at Westwood. She has done great and I am so thankful for the wonderful teachers and staff at Westwood for making this transition as easy as possible for her. We love our school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

They do so many wonderful activities beyond the typical classroom learning -- art, music, drama, specialized field trips. It really helps the kids develop into more rounded adults, express themselves, and reinforce the classroom teachings through alternative lessons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Westwood has so many enrichment activities that encourage artistic and social development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Westwood is an amazing school to work in. We have a great community inside and outside of our school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 17, 2009

It is an awesome place to be. The faculty and staff love each other, and we spread that love and care to our students. It is a happy place to come to work and school everyday!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

54 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

72 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

72 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 44%
Hispanic 38% 12%
Black 5% 37%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Angela Garrett
Fax number
  • (706) 278-1379

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

708 Trammell St
Dalton, GA 30720
Phone: (706) 278-2809

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


City Park School
Dalton, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT