Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Terrell Academy

Private | PK-12 | 268 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Dawson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $57,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $540.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2011

I am a graduate of Terrell Academy. Socially, it was a great school. It was some of the best years of my life. Everyone was close, and it was like a family. Academically, though, they are behind. I made A's and B's throughout school because I was spoonfed information. I never had to "think" or apply myself except for a few classes that contained great teachers. Unfortunately, when I went to UGA, I struggled and had to take remedial classes which taught me how to "learn" and develop good study skills before going into regular classes. For this reason, my child does not attend Terrell Acadeny and attends a different private school. I want her to be bettter prepared for college. I love TA and miss the family environment and closeness that it fostered, but I must put my child's academic needs first.


Posted January 12, 2011

My daughters have been attending Terrell Academy for almost five years. Before coming here, they were in public magnet schools, and other private schools. We like the relaxed, friendly environment here; and we have been happy with the quality of teaching, the athletic programs and the cooperative spirit from the staff and administration. The parental involvement is wonderful too. One of my daughters has graduated from Terrell Academy and is now attending a university on a scholarship. I feel Terrell Academy prepared her well for college. The only thing the schools lacks is a band program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

My son graduated from Terrell Academy two years ago, and is currently in his second year of college. He is a HOPE Scholarship recipient and has managed to maintain his HOPE status (GPA 3.0) over the past two years. That is an indication that he was well-prepared for college by Terrell Academy. There will be some who didn't perform well in high school and expect to do well in college (therefore blaming TA for their lack of achievement). TA provides a quality education to those who wish to excel and further their education beyond high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

We are very pleased with Terrell Academy, we tried another private school in the area when we first moved here and have found Terrell far superior!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

My son has attended Terrell Academy since K4 and is graduating this year. I'm so grateful that he has attended the same school since day 1, and I wouldn't give anything for the education and nurturing that he has received at Terrell Academy! Forever and always an eagle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

I am currently a student at Terrell Academy, in the seventh grade.TA is an all around good school. On top of an amazing academics program we have wonderful sports programs. All of the teachers are extremely friendly and are like family to me. I would never consider leaving this school. Go Eagles!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2007

TA is a great school. Most of the teachers are very good. They are focusing more on technology now than they have in the past. TA has one of the best basketball coaches, Keith Jones, in the state. The school is growing and has even added a learning lab for those students who have learning issues. There is not a better school in Southwest Georgia for the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

Do not expect a high quality education at this school! My kids are now a grade behind thanks to this school. The majority of the teachers are not friendly. As the other reviewer wrote the kids do have an 'i dont care' attitude, therefore academics suffers. As far as the headmaster, we have been their over half of the school year and have never met him. We are very displeased with the school overall and will be changing schools after this school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

Terrell Academy not only offers a challenging College Preparatory curriculum, but a Technology/Career Diploma as well. The coaches are teachers first, and choose to coach along with their other responsibilities. This is a caring community of teachers and students, who encourage parent involvement and individualized learning experiences for all students. This is an old school built on traditional values and quality Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2006

May be old school, but old school values are taught and that is what is needed in this day and time, good family values. Teachers and coaches are very caring and work great with children, most love them. Parent involvment is an everyday part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

No college prep classes really, run down school. kids have a 'i don't care' attitude. All the coaches teach classes and the athletes make good grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 37%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • IIE

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

602 Academy Drive Southeast
Dawson, GA 39842
Phone: (229) 995-4242

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT