Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

War Hill Christian Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Dawsonville

Situated in a rural neighborhood. The median home value is $151,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 19, 2011

My grandson has been going to War Hill Christain School for three weeks. He is like a different child he hated going to school now he gets up in the morning ready to go. Life at home is so much better went your child likes going to school!!He loves his teacher and all the staff!!I thank God for sending us to this GREAT SCHOOL!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

While it is true that WHCH may not be very big or fancy, none of that really matters. All that matters is the schooling you receive. I breezed through middle school, easily finishing almost an entire quarter ahead both years. The homeschooling environment is incredibly easy to learn in, and distractions are kept to a minimum, unless a student is just trying to get attention and acts out intentionally. I started to lag behind in Algebra in high school, and my teacher took time out of her day to make sure I understood everything completely. This made me feel like I wasn't just a cog in the machine. Last year, they hired a new principal, and the school had been improving since. Books are on time, electives are held consistently now (yay!), and they are fully accredited, credits DO transfer now.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2009

Not only did a graduate from War Hill but know I send my kids there. They learn at their own pace and are not hurried along to keep up with everyone else. They are very relaxed and are not afraid to ask for help when they need it. The teachers are very supportive and take the time to make sure they are getting the help they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

When I started school at War Hill Christian Academy in 2002, it was my first year of high school. I was not overly thrilled about the idea of attending a school that seemed so different from the public schools I had grown up attending. The atmosphere at WHCA changed my mentality on how school should be structured, in most schools the children are merely a number. WHCA is not like most schools, in the manner that at WHCA I immediately knew that not only was I a student, but I was part of a family. My teachers always displayed an overwhelming amount of love towards me, I knew that I was not only being taught academically, but spiritually. The teachers were not just teachers, but they were mentors as well. I would not trade the love that I was shown for any number of things in this world
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2009

Enrolled my child in August after very disappointing year in public school, my child is thriving. Receives excellent instruction from the teacher. School has performed above level anticipated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

I attended this school and was very displeased. I was told that I would have one-on-one teacher assistance, an outstanding curriculum, electives just like a regular high school. The majority of my school books arrived weeks late, setting me back indefinitely. None of the teachers are really qualified for their jobs. Most of them don t have any schooling beyond high school. There is NO form of SAT preparation whatsoever. The school s PACE books leave out information about other cultures and religions, and any literature that doesn t have to do with God. The electives were equally disappointing. Most of them met sporadically; maybe once a month, before they were dropped completely. Spanish class, instead of teaching how to understand the language, was more of a how do you say where s is your bathroom type of thing. My algebra2 class was given exactly one lesson the entire year. Unfortunately they didn t think that was important enough to order PACE books until a few weeks into the second semester. In many instances the general morality of the entire staff was concerning to me (one of the former students was encouraged by the principal to drop out of high school completely) no college preparation. Worst of all when I tried desperately to go back to public school, I was told that the credits I got from war hill would not be accepted. Which makes me wonder if my diploma will be worth anything in the real world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2007

Unless your child is self motivated this school will not help him/her. The electives were okay for about one month until they were canceled and not started again. In the Spanish classes (please note there is only Spanish 1 provided) we did not learn sentence structure, we only memorized sayings and verses. I didn't even receive a math book until the second quarter of the first semester, and even then, they didn't have my grade level so I had to do books ahead of my grade or below.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 18, 2007

Basically, if you send your child here, your spending thousands of dollars for them to teach themselves. They don't have the rescources that public school gives them to prepare for college or even the SAT's. They focus everything they have on God and Sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

This is the first school year our son has attended any school (started Aug. 2004), and he is currently in the K-2nd grade class. From my observations the teacher is VERY loving toward the kids, and really cares about each of her students. Our son has been given work based on his abilities, so he has been given higher level work than just the kindergarten level. He LOVES going to school and we have seen an improvement in his maturity since attending War Hill. It is a small school, and isn't as sophisticated as other private schools in its facilities, however, it is also much more affordable, and what our child learns is more important to us than how fancy the building is. We've been very pleased with the school. I do not have experience with the upper level classes or sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

My children have been in War Hill Since 1992,and will Graduate this year and next. WHCA has delivered the education that was promised from the very beginning, an A.C.E. curriculum in a christian enviroment. The new principal this year is working very hard to restructure from a student body that has most years been less than 100 to handle the demands of a larger student body. The school has always worked with my children to help them through the challenges of the school years. No school will please everyone and while it is easy to ctiticize it may help to remember that christian schools do not have the millions of tax dollars that other schools have. It would always be better to help become part of the solution by becoming involed to better our children's schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

My Children have been a part of War Hill since they have begun school. I like the fact that the school has a strong family feel, its facilities are very practical and reflect a strong grounded sense of good stewardship. Overall I rate it highly, and would encourage anyone to be a part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2004

Preschool is not all that it was promised to be. Teacher was only scheduled to be a sub until original teacher returned from Maternity Leave. No Chapel services were held for preschool and no organized P.E. The other teachers I observed were okay but the lower elementry teacher is very strict (way too much so in my opinion) and the facilities leave something to be desired. I was originally willing to overlook the facilities problems as they are searching for a new site but the issues I encountered with the Preschool program were unexcusable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 44%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 37%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8847 Highway 53
Dawsonville, GA 30534
Phone: (706) 216-3080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT