Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blackburn Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

Blackburn is a great environment for learning. The principal is involved and has the right priorities, and the teachers actually want the kids to learn to their potential. The teachers went out of their way to accommodate my child's needs. We have been in lots of states with different approaches to learning and this is the best experience so far (4 states later). We hope to come back soon so our youngest can go to this school too! I can't give a 5 star because of the large class sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

This school is great - with pay cuts and huge class size (not the teacher's choice), they are still loving on our children and helping them grow to become better people. I would highly recommend this school to people moving into the area. My kindergartener is doing great and I can't wait for my other children to go through school there, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

I can't say enough about this school. I currently have 1 child there who has been there since kindergarten and now in 4th grade. My son was there for 2 years before going to middle school. They have been welcoming and accomodating from day one! Everyone goes above and beyond!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

I WISH I COULD SAY GOOD THINGS ABOUT BES but I can't they have too many kids in a class so some of the kids are getting left behind..My son was left behind from the very begining. BES is not a good place for kids!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

The teachers at this school have been wonderful with my children (even the one that has problems focusing and staying on task). The administration has always been helpful and responsive although I have been warned not to approach the principal if she's having a bad day. The children also get music, art, and computer lab which are not offered in many larger districts. My only complaint is that there are no after school clubs, but I was told that is because all of the students are bussed. A shame though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The faculty are all wonderful. The teachers know you and your children by name. Safety is the number one concern along with education. It makes you as a parent feel at ease knowing your child is cared for the way that they are here at Blackburn. I have been to many other schools and this is the first school that I feel that the teachers really care about our children. They take care of them like they were their own. I am proud of our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

Wow, some of these reviews are really old! My experience with BES has been great -- not perfect, but what is? The staff genuinely care about the students and are always looking for new ways to help my kids learn. The principal is passionate about the students, especially the special needs kids. If I had a special needs child, I would want them to be at BES because they really want them to succeed. BES has more students than the other elementary schools, but really works to provide every opportunity for parents and kids to improve. I have not noticed any 'clickiness', but many on staff have lived in the county all their lives - maybe that is what a few people notice? I have really enjoyed being part of the CUB club (as a classroom volunteer). Being involved makes me appreciate how hard everyone at BES works to help kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

I have had two children with learning disabilites at this school. Both of them have had a great experience. When the school opened I had some trouble getting the help my child needed, but after learning what needed to be done for my child, everything has been great! Both of my children have greatly improved. I am very thankful for the experience we as a family have had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

BES has a long way to go to become a good school. The administration is nonresponsive to problems and parent input and deals very poorly with discipline problems. The bus is out of control, the driver has no authority and the administration refuse to deal with the students who are problems. Emphasis is placed on attendance rather than achievement and the curriculum is lacking. There is no writing curriculum in place. As an involved parent willing to work with the school, there is much more that can be done to benefit the children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

I personally think the teachers and the staff are great, they always involve you in whats going on in the school and the classroom. I think parents should try to get more involved with their child and school and maybe the would not think the school did not have a 'click' going on. The only thing that I think needs to be improved is the food ( sorry ladies it's just not good). There would be alot less waste if the food improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2008

My children have been going to BES for a couple of months now and they love the school. From the very first day the teachers and students have been very nice and welcoming. I am very pleased with this school! I am looking foward to helping with the teachers and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2007

I too have mixed feelings about this school. I feel that on one hand they sentd things home inviting parents, but not really wanting us involved. This is a very 'clicky' school. Curriclum at this school is filled with to many worksheets and not enough hands on. Principal is not friendly. The staff is very stand-offish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

I have mixed feelings about the school as a whole. The ladies in the front are very nice and friendly. The assist principal not so helpful. More of a problem than a solution. The counciler is always to busy. But my 5th grader is doing great. I love all the the 5th grade teachers, and my 2nd graders teacher is awesome. Very involved with her students. IEP and EIP are amazing. But my kindergarten is not so lucky. We as parents just need to be more involved. And hopefully not seen as a problem being so involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

I love BES my child who has special needs done very well and was doing better every day they followed her IEP and called me with any concerns my adhd child also had the help she needed which is a challenge at any school I want to go back to that district
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

I would like to say that I am very happy with school. At BES, the teachers that my children have are excellent. Both my children are A students. They do not have any problems in school. The problem is the bus. The bus driver has no control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2006

I really wish I could say something good about this school, but the truth is Blackburn is NOT a good place for kids. There are a lot of very rough kids at Blackburn, and the administration refuses to deal with them appropriately. They insist upon using the 'C.A.R.E.' system for managing student behavior, but this system is very ineffective, especially in the upper grades. Problem students sent to the office are often given candy by the administration and just sent back to the classroom. Teachers seem overworked and bogged down by paperwork that takes time away from teaching our children. Teacher morale seems very low and conflicts exist between many of the faculty. The administration is unwilling to address the many problems that exist at Blackburn, and strive only to maintain the status quo. The problems became so bad I finally had to withdraw my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

We are new to Blackburn but not to Lumpkin county. I was not real happy with LCES but so far I would have to say I am even more unhappy with BES. I agree that pickup is idiotic, there is no family connection, the school events schedule is nonexistent, parent support seems to be very low, class size is to high for lower grades,outside time should be an absolute(not when the teacher decides they have time), library time should be a class requirement and there should be sufficient help for the students in the library, and I feel lumpkin county curriculum in general is mediocre at best no students are pushed to excel beyond the norm (and that norm would not even stand up to a major city norm).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

I have to say that as a parent of a 5th grader, the 5th grade teachers really have their act together. The students are challenged in math and reading and are prepared for the CRCT every year. Great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

This school has its issues! The office staff is, at best, working against each other. Support of the staff is caotic. It is a new school and trying to be like a well established one. Pick up is nothing but a mess! Progress is not out of the question, just be aware of the Rules!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

I believe that BES should send care folders home on Friday; this way we have time to look over work and talk about what happen the same week it happened in. I also feel that the teachers are very helpful in finding ways for you to help your child by giving you more work to do at home with them. My experience is that they don't really take the time to help your children if they have trouble with something.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

126 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

125 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

126 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

119 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

119 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

119 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 44%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 1% 37%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Susan Burrell
Fax number
  • (706) 864-8176

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

45 Blackburn Rd
Dawsonville, GA 30534
Phone: (706) 864-8180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT