Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Black's Mill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 330 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2014

Great school and great teachers I love the events I have two kids in it they really like it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

Horrible school they have a male teacher who makes children cry and cuss at them. Tons of children have been transferred out of his class and requested that their children were not placed in his class administrator just ignore the complaints on him
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My oldest child started kindergarten the first year BMES opened, my twins are now in their last year at BMES so for 11 years I've been there too and I love it! My kids have received an excellent education and the school is like home to us. I will be so sad to leave all the teachers, PTO and school helpers that make that school great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

The staff at Blacks Mill Elem is wonder from Teachers to Office to Lunch everyone at this school is pleasant to be around
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

My experience with Black's Mill has been excellent!! I came from a private school and had concerns about public schools. I have not a worry now....All the teachers and staff are very friendly. You can tell that they really care about their students. I have to say my experience here far exceeds what I had in the past and also what I had anticipated. My children's teachers continue to challenge them to their full potential. My daughter's kindergarten teacher is AWESOME!! and my other daughters teacher recognizes my child abilies. I am very happy to be a part of this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

My daughter loves the school, and she has had great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

BMES is a great school! We are caring, have high expectations of our students and teachers, and love being Black's Mill Bears!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2009

Its the best,Teachers Princioal everything,Even the lunch room staff


Posted September 25, 2009

Black's Mill really cares about the kids and what is best for each one individually as well as a collective school body. Their dedication to each students learning style and focus on their strength and weaknesses is truly commendable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

The caring staff and awesome children!


Posted September 23, 2009

Our School has the best faculty and staff. They care about the students, each other and providing a great learning environment for each student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

The staff and the students are just the best because they are always nice and friendly. The school really care about their students and are willing and ready to go a step beyond to help and ensure their students are learning and that they are safe at all time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Great team. I have had particularly good experiences with Ms. Burnett (art) and Ms. Lott (librarian).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

The principal and the teachers all seem to really care about your kids, and not just as students, as people..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

The staff and the students are just the best because they are always nice and friendly. The school really care about their studebts are willing and ready to go a step beyond to help and ensure their students are learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Our faculty and staff are awesome! The true concern they have for the students is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I like that the teachers and staff know my children by name, know who their siblings are, who their father and I are, and that we all go together. No one is just a number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Blacks mill has the best special ed program the teachers are so good with my son
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

We have a wonderful, caring and very knowledegable teaching staff, office staff, principal and assistant principal. You never go into the school without seeing smiling faces and being greeted with a warm friendly 'Hello.' BMES is an awesome school hands down!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Black's Mill Elementary teachers work together to help every child be their best.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

64 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

64 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

64 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 44%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Asian 1% 3%
Black 1% 37%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cindy Kinney
Fax number
  • (706) 216-6822

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1860 Dawson Forest Rd E
Dawsonville, GA 30534
Phone: (706) 216-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT