Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Thomas More School

Private | K-8 | 482 students

 

Living in Decatur

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $267,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2012

Our experience as parents has been outstanding. Each teacher I have met is impressive with their warmth, wisdom and experience. Our son's Kindergarten teacher teacher made detailed,specific observations of our son's aptitude, behavior and talent that left me feeling she knows him well and is creating an environment ideal for him to stay sweet, imaginative and stretch him at just the pace I would wish. Beyond the academics, the values taught would be respected by families of any faith. As a family,you will connect with this school and appreciate the small but important ways they influence your kids (principal sitting at lunch with kids, 8th grade buddies for Kindergarteners, and many more).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

In our humble opinion, we love STM and would do anything to put our children there. This is a school that promotes diversity, tolerence and personal development. We have two children there already. I am sure there are better schools, public or private, than STM, but the experience that my children and parents alike are invaluable. You can have teachers with advanced teaching degree and teaching licenses, but these certificates don't mean a thing if the teachers don't care about their students. STM's faculty and staff truly exhibit passon and enthusiasm for teaching in a caring environment. When my third child is old enough, we hope that he will be able to attend this wonderful school as well. Peter & Connie Lien
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

St. Thomas is an intimate Catholic School with an excellent well rounded educational program. STM has a seasoned faculty and staff that encourage the children to excel in all study areas. STM has a diverse enrollment of families. I say families and not just students, because our school requires a total commitment of the family not just the student. The PTO is very active in all the activities of the school and in everyway striving to continue to make STM a school of EXCELLENCE and a desired learning institution. We love STM!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

A life lesson: We learned STM does not seem to stress academics as much as the local public schools, especially Morningside. Ex - In grade 3, STM kids learn how to write a paragraph. At MES, the kids are going through the complete writing process and are writing 5 paragraph essays. The work hanging outside a Grade 2 class at STM would be hanging outside a K class @ MES, imo. Many of these teachers do not have teaching licenses. Kids below grade level are given high grades - is that to please the paying parents?? It seems anyone is accepted, if they have the money. Many local public school kids who struggle come here after trying public school, and that is good for them, as the work is easier. A's for everyone, it seems! (They even let my K boy write his name incorrectly - no corrections.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2009

I like Saint Thomas More,but I just felt like I didn't stand out at all,like I wasn't cool because I didn't have a North Face jacket. Other than that it's a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2008

We could not be happier with our choice of school. They have a very strong academic program and their teaching and administration staff are exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

STM is a wonderful school with caring and responsive teachers and administration. The curriculum is challenging with a real focus on Catholic values. Students seem happy and are very kind to one another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

St. Thomas More is an excellent school. The academics are high as are the expectations. They offer a before and after care program for working parents. The focus is education in a catholic setting.They have an excellent religious education program. Students from 2nd grade to 8th grade are encourged to actively participate in serving the community. In reward for each 60 hours of service( 20 for school, 20 for church, 20 for the greater community) they receive an award.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

What Catholic education is expected to be. Stresses academics and morals. Committed administration, faculty, and parents make this school work. Great value in the Atlanta market.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 44%
Black 18% 37%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Origami club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr Jerry Raymond
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (404) 377-8554

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • National Honor Society
  • Origami club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
80
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
156
Students typically come from these schools
Decatur Presbyterian Preschool
Decatur Methodist Preschool
Phoenix School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$7000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Saint Pius X High School
Marist School
Druid Hills High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

630 W Ponce De Leon Ave
Decatur, GA 30030
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 373-8456

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT