Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arbor Montessori

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Decatur

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $208,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

Arbor Montessori School. If you did not attend a Montesori school as a kid, the Montessori approach is different from what you know. Arbor does a great job explaining and displaying the teaching approach for the different age groups. All the teachers work hard to educate the children. Along with the parent involvement, the Arbor community is great and inviting. If we have more kids, they will go to Arbor
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

After being at this school for primary through first year of middle school, we can note the following strengths: promotes enthusiasm for learning (our kids HATE to miss school), promotes independent and critical thinking skills, promotes compassion. We would do it all over again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Arbor provides an incredibly rich learning environment for children of all ages. The primary class curriculum is amazing and it just gets better from there. Love Montessori, and love Arbor!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

Despite the rhetoric thrown around by media pundits, there is no one-size fits all education solution. And this is exactly why Arbor Montessori has provided excellent education for my two children who have very different learning styles. For my "big-picture" learner, movement through elementary in into the adolescent program has enhanced her focus and strengthened her courage to experiment with disciplines in which she does not naturally excel. My "sweat-the-small-stuff" child is being nurtured to include empathy and patience alongside justice in her repertoire of tools for learning. No school is perfect, and misunderstandings sometimes arise. When I assert an alternative viewpoint at Arbor, I find teachers and staff willing to listen and willing to learn from my experience as well as to share their insights. The respectful environment at Arbor is very much aligned with Maria Montessori's assertion: Our care of the child should be governed, not by the desire to make him learn things, but by the endeavor always to keep burning within him that light which is called intelligence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

This is our fourth year at Arbor with one child in upper elementary (4th through 6th) and one in lower elementary (1st through 3rd). Having the same teacher for 3 years really nurtures a strong relationship between student/ teacher as well as the entire family! Here, the whole child is cultivated, not just academically, but also supports social and emotional needs. The grounds are beautifully and thoughtfully maintained, including class gardens and even beekeeping at the middle school level. With extensive outdoor programs and multi-level geographic research, Arbor does a great job at exposing our children to environmental and global mindfulness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Arbor Montessori is one of the premier Montessori schools in Atlanta, and with good reason. They are passionate about Montessori education. Our children love going to school every day and are disappointed when summer time comes. We have two children who started in the primary program and are now in 5th and 2nd grades. We have found the school to be accommodating to our specific needs (ADHD and reading difficulty) and have tailored our children's education accordingly. While the Montessori method is strict and not for everyone, we have found it to be a wonderful fit for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Arbor is a fantastic place for children to grow and learn in a very nurturing, but academically strong environment. Children excel because they love learning!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

LOVE IT. Arbor is truly a place of peace and kindness to all. The admin team and teachers are passionate about what they do. They don't 'DO' Montessori they 'ARE' Montessori
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 29, 2012

Our daughter just finished her first year at Arbor in the LaVista primary class and we cannot say enough good things about the school Although we wanted to continue our daughter in a Montessori school, Arbor has further sparked her desire to learn and become engaged in the classroom. Arbor is also good at encouraging parent involvement - - whether in the classroom, in committees, or at a Board level. You will always be welcome. We look forward to several more years at Arbor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2012

We are very happy with Arbor. Our daughter is 4. She is reading, working on math, writing in cursive and print. She holds her pencil correctly too. She is learning about the world & important figures through history. She also has opportunities to cook, draw, and appreciate nature. She has wonderful teachers that encourage & challenge her. Montessori is kind of like the Karate Kid. Its based on building blocks. They start out working with tools that will prepare them for other lessons later on. People should definitely check Arbor out. You will be impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

Arbor is the epitome of a school community. In our family's view, Arbor is at the pinnacle of what a strong school+teacher+parent community should be -- with a central focus on doing what is best for the child. Arbor is deeply rooted in the Montessori method of educating children, which seeks to allow each child to pursue their own pathway to embed a lifelong love of learning. Our family has been deeply engaged in the school since joining in 2010. The teachers we have experienced have been terrific educators and allow for great parental interaction. Ditto for the administrators. The parental involvement really helps to complete the circle. It is just the right size (about 300 children) to have the resources of a large school, but is small enough to allow for deep engagement w/ other parents or your child's classroom. From a value perspective, Arbor is a non-profit & tuition is extremely reasonable by private school standards in Atlanta. If you are seeking a Montessori education for your children, then Arbor is a great place to start. If you are not sure about Montessori, then Google "Montessori Madness" & watch the video. Or, go sit on a classroom to see why Arbor works.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

We enrolled at Arbor Montessori when our oldest child entered first grade (she attended primary at another Montessori school). Since Day 1 we have been so impressed with the teachers, administration and parent community. Our children LOVE to go to school. The teachers passion for teaching, enthusiasm, experience and commitment is unmatched. If you want an outstanding and authentic Montessori experience, Arbor is the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2011

When I moved to Atlanta I hoped to enroll my 4 YO in a Montessori school based on recs from my 2 sisters (both teachers). I was advised by Arbor admin to attend the parent information classes and did so, a long day. But on submission I was informed my child was "too old" for Arbor, and although she had attended a Montessori-like program that was not sufficient. One teacher recommended I try other "less stringent" Montessori schools. OK... they have rules. But imagine my chagrin when a co-worker reported his older 4 YO had been accepted to Arbor!! It seemed clear to me that financial situations speak volumes at Arbor. I hear it is a good school, but needless to say I am not a fan.


Posted March 10, 2010

Arbor is a great school! It's a nurturing educational environment, and has top notch teachers and staff. My son is in his fourth year. He loves school and loves learning. I am amazed by the progress he's making. We couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

My son was at Arbor for one year, and we pulled him out after we realized that the Montessori approach, especially in this very strict style school was not a good fit for him or for our family. Overall, communication, lack of creative outlets for play and art, odd and negative social dynamics of teacher and older children with younger children were reasons things did not work out. My advice is, trust you instincts, and if things are not working, don't be afraid to pull your child out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

We did not have a great experience at Arbor Montessori. Our child was in the Primary classroom, and we switched schools this year. Positives: Montessori method; diverse student body. Negatives: Student / teacher ratio even at the youngest levels; communication; flexibility to accomodate the learning styles of all children. Montessori was not the right method for our child - not Arbor's fault. We felt liked we had a wall versus a partner when discussing educational requirements / options for our child. In essence, it felt as if our child 'failed' Montessori - which I did not think was possible in a child-centric approach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Such a wonderful school! I'm so glad that my children love to come to school everyday. The staff, teachers and parents help to contribute to a strong sense of community. The teachers nuture each child's gifts while achieving a strong academic foundation. The classes are beautiful and welcoming. I never cease to be amazed by the Montessori curriculum and materials. Truly breathtaking! My family is blessed to have found Arbor! Hmmm...hey one star parent...when is it ever ok to come to school in anything other than daytime clothing? My pjs, no costumes...just clothing...Montessori prepares children for life and life isn't wearing whatever you want to school (or work). Sounds like the match wasn't right for you and that isn't Arbor's fault.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

It is an extraordinary educational system that meets the child where they are in order to promote life-long independent, and thriving lives!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

Our daughter (almost 3 yrs.) was placed in the N. Decatur location. At first she and we loved it, but as weeks went by, it was very obvious to us that the dynamics in the classroom for our daughter were not a great fit. She picked up numerous negative attitudes from the older children, became very self conscious or what she was wearing and how her hair was done- at age 2 and 3/4! She thrived very much on the materials, but the social aspect of the classroom proved to be draining on her. She was also never very comfortable with her teacher- who was quite dry. She was even pulled out of class for choosing to come to school in a set of pajamas that she loved. Half parents seemed overly competitive and not very genuine. If there is a mismatch between a teacher and student, you're out of luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

My child just finished her 1st year at Arbor. She is in the Primary Class (she's 4). Arbor is a wonderful school. The teachers really care for each of the children as individuals and work to bring out their potential. The tuition is HIGH, but we're confident that this is a good investment in her future. The classrooms are clean, well organized and orderly (not a small feat with 25 little ones). It's been a joy to watch the children learn and build a community together.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 44%
Asian 8% 2%
Black 7% 40%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 0%
Hispanic 2% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2998 Lavista Rd
Decatur, GA 30033
Phone: (404) 321-9304

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT