Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Arbor Montessori 2

Posted July 23, 2014
- a community member
Arbor montessori is an ok school. There's an issue with there system they advertise freedom for the adolescent program. The issue is there isn't a lot of freedom at all and honestly the 8th grade math teaching skills aren't great and she is not very supportive we are treated like 5 year olds sometimes and I think they need a lot of help with some things and there is also an issue with bullying and it's troubling they let things get out of control I wouldn't recommend the school

Arbor Montessori 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Arbor Montessori School. If you did not attend a Montesori school as a kid, the Montessori approach is different from what you know. Arbor does a great job explaining and displaying the teaching approach for the different age groups. All the teachers work hard to educate the children. Along with the parent involvement, the Arbor community is great and inviting. If we have more kids, they will go to Arbor


Arbor Montessori 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
After being at this school for primary through first year of middle school, we can note the following strengths: promotes enthusiasm for learning (our kids HATE to miss school), promotes independent and critical thinking skills, promotes compassion. We would do it all over again!

Arbor Montessori 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
Arbor provides an incredibly rich learning environment for children of all ages. The primary class curriculum is amazing and it just gets better from there. Love Montessori, and love Arbor!

Arbor Montessori 4

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
Despite the rhetoric thrown around by media pundits, there is no one-size fits all education solution. And this is exactly why Arbor Montessori has provided excellent education for my two children who have very different learning styles. For my "big-picture" learner, movement through elementary in into the adolescent program has enhanced her focus and strengthened her courage to experiment with disciplines in which she does not naturally excel. My "sweat-the-small-stuff" child is being nurtured to include empathy and patience alongside justice in her repertoire of tools for learning. No school is perfect, and misunderstandings sometimes arise. When I assert an alternative viewpoint at Arbor, I find teachers and staff willing to listen and willing to learn from my experience as well as to share their insights. The respectful environment at Arbor is very much aligned with Maria Montessori's assertion: Our care of the child should be governed, not by the desire to make him learn things, but by the endeavor always to keep burning within him that light which is called intelligence.


Arbor Montessori 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
This is our fourth year at Arbor with one child in upper elementary (4th through 6th) and one in lower elementary (1st through 3rd). Having the same teacher for 3 years really nurtures a strong relationship between student/ teacher as well as the entire family! Here, the whole child is cultivated, not just academically, but also supports social and emotional needs. The grounds are beautifully and thoughtfully maintained, including class gardens and even beekeeping at the middle school level. With extensive outdoor programs and multi-level geographic research, Arbor does a great job at exposing our children to environmental and global mindfulness.

Arbor Montessori 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Arbor Montessori is one of the premier Montessori schools in Atlanta, and with good reason. They are passionate about Montessori education. Our children love going to school every day and are disappointed when summer time comes. We have two children who started in the primary program and are now in 5th and 2nd grades. We have found the school to be accommodating to our specific needs (ADHD and reading difficulty) and have tailored our children's education accordingly. While the Montessori method is strict and not for everyone, we have found it to be a wonderful fit for our children.

Arbor Montessori 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Arbor is a fantastic place for children to grow and learn in a very nurturing, but academically strong environment. Children excel because they love learning!!!


Arbor Montessori 4

Posted July 18, 2012
- a teacher
LOVE IT. Arbor is truly a place of peace and kindness to all. The admin team and teachers are passionate about what they do. They don't 'DO' Montessori they 'ARE' Montessori

Arbor Montessori 5

Posted May 29, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter just finished her first year at Arbor in the LaVista primary class and we cannot say enough good things about the school Although we wanted to continue our daughter in a Montessori school, Arbor has further sparked her desire to learn and become engaged in the classroom. Arbor is also good at encouraging parent involvement - - whether in the classroom, in committees, or at a Board level. You will always be welcome. We look forward to several more years at Arbor.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arbor Montessori
2998 Lavista Road, Decatur, GA  30033
(404) 321-9304
Last modified Arbor Montessori is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Arbor Montessori Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews.