Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
291 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

At Arbor, our mission is to develop the unique capabilities of each child through supportive relationships, joyful learning and meaningful work in a Montessori environment. We seek to foster independence in each child, preparing him or her to contribute with integrity to the community of the larger world. We always welcome phone calls and visits to learn more about our school. We also encourage you to visit our website, www.ArborMontessori.org,, to learn more about why we are the preeminent Montessori school in the Southeast.
December 16, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 95 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arbor Montessori 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
Arbor Montessori has been great for our two boys. Our experience with public schools with our oldest was not great, so we determined to look for a private school for his brothers. We were looking for a school for these two when we happened upon Arbor. Although we were a bit skeptical of the method initially, we have been ecstatic at the results. Both children are far ahead of where the oldest was in the same grade. They are also learning how to manage themselves and to be self-disciplined, in addition to the curriculum. We constantly get comments about how our children know both academics and life skills. From a very early age, they have been cleaning their rooms and doing laundry, responsibilities they learned at Montessori. They have been writing research papers since first grade. Our ten year old asked us if it was ok if he studied algebra on his own! The school had developed the ability to both manage their day and a high level of academic proficiency. We actually couldn't be more pleased, and the school is small enough that it feels like family. Recommended.

Arbor Montessori 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
Our children have been at Arbor for six years. During that time, we have had a great experience. We have found the teachers to be collaborative with each other and with parents. It's a fantastic environment for our children where they are respected and treated as the unique individuals that they are. We appreciate very much the time and the care that the teachers take to ensure that our children are receiving a well-rounded, quality education that will serve as an incredible base for higher education and a lifetime full of a love of learning!

Arbor Montessori 5

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
My son has been at Arbor Montessori School for the last 4 years starting in lower elementary (1st grade) and this year in upper elementary (4th) and we love it! Montessori schools have multi-age classrooms that offer freedom within a structured learning environment where children are able to work at their own pace. Once the teacher gives the child a lesson they then continue to work on the lesson until they fully master it. This can be done alone or in small groups. Often the teacher will pair older children with younger ones to help them when learning new ideas. This helps reinforce the lesson to the younger child. And through this process the older child also gains a deeper understanding of the lesson, builds his/her own self-confidence and self esteem all while modeling cooperative learning. Starting in 1st grade they record what they are working on throughout the day in a work journal. When the teacher reviews their journals she points out where the child will need to focus his/her attention so that all subjects/materials are covered. One might think that with all this free choice that the classroom would be chaotic and that the children wouldn't accomplish any real learning but on the contrary the children understand that their are certain rules such as keeping the room orderly, not to disturb others while they are working, to be productive and to accomplish the goals/tasks that they have decided on with their teacher. The classroom is like a busy little bee hive where everyone is doing their part. If someone does not follow the rules the teacher or her assistant will calmly remind the children what they should be doing. My son has thrived in this environment. He loves learning as do all his peers. They are encouraged to follow their passion and interest or to see how far they can take a concept or idea. I've seen him so excited about how many decimal places he can go with a multiplication problem that required taping multiple pieces of paper together to keep it going or how he really loves researching topics that interest him. This type of school may not work with all children but I would encourage any parent to explore Montessori to see if it is the right fit for their child. Check out Arbor Montessori and you will find a wonderful school that has a great community of teachers, families, and faculty.

Arbor Montessori 2

Posted December 29, 2015
- a community member
You'll never find a better Montessori for the early years, and a weaker one for the upper elementary years. This is mainly because of weak teachers in key rolls as mentioned in a few reviews quite consistently. You'll get the great personal attention and community feeling of a smaller school, but you'll also experience the nepotism and unprofessionalism that can sometimes go along with the small private school experience. Imagine having an upper elementary teacher who derided children (by name) during parent/teacher conferences (and not the children being talked about at conference: for example. so-and-so is "weird" or "distracting"). If as much attention had been paid to academics as to trivial social matters normal among adolescents, we'd still have our children in the school. However, a scrambling, defensive administration and an inexperienced teacher in a key role (and you're stuck with that teacher for three years in the Montessori model for ALL subjects), can be damaging. We are so glad now to be in a larger, more professional school where social issues are dealt with at an age-appropriate, professional level, and experienced teachers cover the academics!

Arbor Montessori
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
There is no homework for students until the Adolescent Program. Homework has dubious value in the elementary years. Do you ask your employee to work for eight hours and then go home and work a few more? The Montessori environment provides opportunities for repetition and long term projects in the school day.

Arbor Montessori 5

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
Our family has been a part of the Arbor Community for nearly a decade. We are thankful for an outstanding implementation of the Montessori method. While no school is perfect and this may not be a perfect fit for all families, we plan to have our second child go all the way through the Adolescent Program. This is a commitment of another five years and a testament to the quality of the school.

Arbor Montessori
no rating

Posted December 16, 2015
- a school leader
At Arbor, our mission is to develop the unique capabilities of each child through supportive relationships, joyful learning and meaningful work in a Montessori environment. We seek to foster independence in each child, preparing him or her to contribute with integrity to the community of the larger world. We always welcome phone calls and visits to learn more about our school. We also encourage you to visit our website, www.ArborMontessori.org,, to learn more about why we are the preeminent Montessori school in the Southeast.

Arbor Montessori 1

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Arbor's administration needs to look at hiring the best teachers for each level, rather than settling for friends and family on faculty to avoid turnover and to uphold an increasingly ideological, homogeneous approach. With many recent retirements (all schools go through such cycles) the administration has not shown competency on finding the best replacement. Like so many other reviewers here, we loved the early years and then found the academics and the approach quite weak compared with other good schools. Read far enough in these reviews to notice the lack of grammar/punctuation in a student review. We found our children's work in the upper years was not scrutinized. We filled the holes at home and both transitioned to other schools extremely well. The place is far from a disaster, but there are serious structural weaknesses that smart, involved parents are aware of-- and are compensating for.

Arbor Montessori 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
My daughter will complete the Adolescent Program in May. As we start looking at high schools, I have been reflecting on the qualities that attracted us to Arbor many years ago. The list is long! To name a few: individual instruction, respect for children, environmentally focused, the Outdoor Program, opportunities for child leadership, parent involvement, encouraging teachers and staff. Arbor welcomed both my children for lower elementary (1st grade) and nurtured their individual needs through the middle school experience. Even with completely different personalities and learning styles, both of my children found the classrooms challenging and interesting. They had opportunities to explore areas of interest, take personal responsibility, support peers, challenge their comfort zones and develop leadership skills. My older child is now a successful student in a traditional private high school. He was prepared for the rigorous academic requirements and made friends quickly and confidently at his new school. If you are considering Arbor, there are many amazing opportunities available for you and your child. However, parents should expect to contribute, participate and get involved. Those who are involved in their child's classroom and partner with the school will see the amazing qualities of a Montessori child....curiosity, cooperation, communication, creativity, responsibility and more. As my younger child prepares to leave the comfort of her Arbor home in May, we are sad to leave the school but excited about the future opportunities. We have seen repeatedly that the children leaving Arbor are confident adolescents prepared to contribute to their communities (school, church, neighborhood, etc). They can solve problems and think on their own. They love learning and seek new challenges. They are confident in their abilities and have strong social skills. I'm thankful my children had the opportunity for a Montessori education at Arbor.

Arbor Montessori 1

Posted September 19, 2015
- a community member
I agree with those who question the limits of a Montessori education beyond the younger years. We had a great experience early on but the new crew running this school are doing damage. The middle school lacks direction and focus. Weak, defensive leadership. Our son definitely learned to think and had a wonderful experience in the primary and lower elementary program, but we were not competitive against other top-notch Atlanta private schools despite very high standardized testing scores necessary to apply. The fact that so many intelligent, accomplished children seem to have found similar limitations suggested in this forum means the efficacy of the pedagogy should be questioned--- at least the way it is applied in the upper years at Arbor. The level of teacher effectiveness is inconsistent. I agree with the reviewer's who criticize the school for settling on friends and family for teaching positions. If you have a good public school, you will save money and get a better (at least in terms of covering the core particularly in math and science). education there; if you can get into a better private school--- definitely go. We had to leave Arbor to finally get into another private school and found the standards and quality to be so much better for the money we were spending. If you believe in Montessori education, enjoy the younger year program but beware of the uneven social club that seems to follow.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arbor Montessori
2998 Lavista Road, Decatur, GA  30033
(404) 321-9304
Last modified Arbor Montessori is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Arbor Montessori Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 95 reviews. Top