Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Ungraded|Private
100 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montessori School At Emory
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
There is no homework given at this school. All work that I do with my daughter outside of class to supplement her learning is directed by me.

Montessori School At Emory
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
I think that many will see the Montessori method as 'weak' and not one that would develop 'grit,' but the kids keep working a lesson until they get it right and can move on to the next one. That takes persistence and determination. The teachers encourage them to keep trying.

Montessori School At Emory
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
I think there is something about the Montessori method that helps foster emotional intelligence and communication. My daughter fully has internalized the Golden Rule and considers other people's feelings and experiences.

Montessori School At Emory
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
Watching my daughter and her school peers interact, I have seen a strong sense of fairness and equity enter into their play. Being honest and fair with each other is just a part of being friends. I have no idea how this is 'taught' from an educational standpoint, but it is definitely a quality being conveyed to the kids somehow.

Montessori School At Emory 5

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been attending the MSAE since she was 4 years old (for almost a year and a half now). Prior to this, she attended a private daycare with an educational focus, but there was something about the Montessori method that clicked with her. Within the first month, I could see that her motor skills improved vastly. She started holding a pencil properly instead of with her fist and was even sewing shapes on burlap fabric! She learned how to tie her shoes, braid her hair and become much more confident in herself and her abilities. She is now much more social and friendly with other kids. And, she is fully reading chapter books written for 6-8 year olds, writing in cursive and adding 4 digit numbers. I love her teachers and know she feels supported. And as a full time worker, the hours and vacation schedule of the school is perfect.

Montessori School At Emory
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
There is no homework given at this school in toddler or primary classes for the most part except one project.

Montessori School At Emory
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
It may, but I think they say it requires at least the full primary cycle for this to happen (3 years). I think it does take persistence and determination for kids to be successful but I think they either bring it and excel or don't and feel left behind.

Montessori School At Emory
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The school would say yes, but I'm not a full believer in the Montessori approach. I think enforcing rules that are meant to keep kids safe doesn't teach them compassion or caring. It teaches them to follow rules.

Montessori School At Emory
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The school promotes these values, but I'm not sure how well it models fairness. They've changed their policies and are not always transparent.

Montessori School At Emory 3

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The pros: convenient hours and schedule similar to a daycare. The cons: feels more like a business than a nurturing school. They underpay the assistants and don't support the teachers. It's for profit and there's a mysterious owner who occasionally makes an appearance to pick up his kids. There's not a lot of space for creativity or deviation from the very rigid approach to learning and being and not much consideration for kids who may need different types of support, nurturing, or encouragement to engage with the materials and approach. The toddler room was warmer and welcoming but kids move into primary at 2.5 years old. Caters to wealthy working parents for the most part who need long hours of care, year-round options and don't want to pay quite as much as a prep school but still go private and "progressive."

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori School At Emory
3021 North Decatur Road, Decatur, GA  30033
(404) 634-5777
Last modified Montessori School At Emory is a Private school
Montessori School At Emory Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top