Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Narvie Harris Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2007

I give Narvie J Harris a 10 due mainly because of the new implementations of the school. It is even better now then in previous years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

I absolutely love Narvie. It is a great foundation for my children with the structured discipline, academics, and parental involvement. The have a strong PTA that is taken seriously from the beginning to the end of the year. There is definitely NO SLACKING when it comes to Parent, Teacher involvement. The teachers are on point and serious about their job. They are passionate about each child and not just another test score to be passed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

I am proud to say that my son has attended Narvie since pre-k. He started reading his first year of school. He is currently a second graded. The teachers at Narvie take pride in their work and believe in students ability to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

Narvie is a great school, they helped my son to the point where he is now taking the SAT for the Duke Tip program. Check out their website www.narviepta.org. They are focused on helping and ensuring our children succeed in education and in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

As a parent of NJH for six years, the school is outstanding in academics, leadership, and activities for children. We have three children that attend of love NJH. Narvie is a school of excellence that stresses the importance of parental involvement and challenges our children academically. The afterschool program is a blessing to working parents. I love how the faculty and staff treat every child as an individual. Parents have stressed their concern about children that have special needs. I'm told that programs such as Special Education and fitness for kids are in the planning stages or are being discussed to assist families that require additional help for their children. I feel comfortable knowing that when our children go to NJH they are safe. My prayer is that DeKalb build more middle schools in our community that meets or exceed the same expectations as NJH. BES
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

Narvie J. Harris has been more then I could have hoped for. My son is in kindergarten and has enjoyed every day of school. The teachers and staff are all wonderful and active in each students development. The one thing I would suggest to anyone considering sending their child to Narvie, is to truly understand that the staff and teachers expect a lot from the students and the parents. Parents are expected to fully particapate in their childs/childens education. The curriculum is a little more demanding than most elementary schools but the results are outstanding. Narvie offers music, computer, art, physcial education, and spanish classes. I can only hope that by the time my son finishes fifth grade, they will open another school for him to continue his education within Narvie's system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2004

Narvie is an excellent dchool that stresses disclipline that is necessary for the children to develop and learn. I would recommend that the selection process used for the enrollment be reviewed as it pertains to siblings. It would be great if my daughter could have had the same opportunities as my son by starting pre-k at Narvie J Harris, but unfortunately she was on the alternate list and not able to attend. I would love for recess to be considered in Dekalb county school system. Extra activities are offered in after scholl care which is simply awesome. Teresa Stallings
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2004

As a parent of a child with ADHD, I would not recomend this school. Although there are some good teachers there, they do not address the needs of these special children in a positive way. My son will be entering the 1st grade at Narvie but we are looking into schools that are geared toward every child not just those that need no special instructions
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

152 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

152 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

152 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

172 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 99% 37%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3981 McGill Dr
Decatur, GA 30034
Phone: (678) 676-9202

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT