Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mary Mcleod Bethune Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2014

I agree with some of the other parents. This school isn't that horrible as some of the reviews say! The parents need to step up more often, like I do, & get a first hand look at what the teachers do! I commend them. Most of deeply invested in those kids. Mrs. Jackson in 6th grade is the best. My child had her and she makes them think. She's not easy, but you're child will learn. I alsi liked Mr. Stephenson too. I believe the school can have a great turn around but the staff nor DeKalb county can do it by their self. They need the community. So to the bashers and haters I would ask, "what have YOU DONE to make it better"! Thus is our neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2014

I believe Bethune is a good school with GREAT teachers. They have some issues with behavior of a small minority of the school's population, but that is not far off from many of the other schools in other districts.All schools have issues of some sort. I believe it would be better if the parents would be more supportive & visible. I feel in love with a few of the teachers there. Ms. Jackson in the 6th grade is REMARKABLE to say the least. I mean, she loves what she does, supports the students in any way she can & I know my son loves Math now because of her. Give this school a chance, be informed & involved and watch your kids blossom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

there are good teachers like mr stephenson 8th grade maths teacher.If all the teacher try to do like this,chage will come.he is very nice teacher.he constantly communicating with parents and send their assigments to thier parents to give attention and follow up.my child was a best student but attracted by other students even not to answer a single question in the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2013

This school is sooo horrible! Shame on Dekalb County School System for allowing the principal, counselors, teachers to exist as "professionals". They are no where near that title. My son was there two months and the offenses and encounters he experienced in two months was unbelievable! I pulled him out immediately it didn't take a rocket scientists to figure out this school is not fit for children. The teachers don't care at all they attitudes are poor and lack authority! The children run over all adults and it's SAD! I felt like a scene from the movie "Lean on me" when I entered that school. I however could not wait for it to turn around and get better. Any parent in there right mind shouldn't! Get your child out of that mess no form of education is taking place at all!!! Dekalb Country Schools should really investigate this middle school closely. Majority of the students are being set up for failure due to the failure in leadership they have over them. I asked an entire team of teachers why isn't homework given that often. They all said it's not computed that high on their grading scale and the children want to it anyway! Mindset of failures! The band teacher need to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2013

This school is sooo horrible! Shame on Dekalb County School System for allowing the principal, counselors, teachers to exist as "professionals". They are no where near that title. My son was there two months and the offenses and encounters he experienced in two months was unbelievable! I pulled him out immediately it didn't take a rocket scientists to figure out this school is not fit for children. The teachers don't care at all they attitudes are poor and lack authority! The children run over all adults and it's SAD! I felt like a scene from the movie "Lean on me" when I entered that school. I however could not wait for it to turn around and get better. Any parent in there right mind shouldn't! Get your child out of that mess no form of education is taking place at all!!! Dekalb Country Schools should really investigate this middle school closely. Majority of the students are being set up for failure due to the failure in leadership they have over them. I asked an entire team of teachers why isn't homework given that often. They all said it's not computed that high on their grading scale and the children want to it anyway! Mindset of failures! The band teacher need to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

My son attend(ed) Mary McLeod Bethune Middle School, this school is horrible. I have experienced nothing but problems, from the teachers non-caring attitudes, to one of the Assistant Principal yelling and belittling the students. And the Principal supports her CoWorkers less then professional behavior. When trying to call the school, it is VERY hard to speak with someone (when they chose to answer the phone). I tried leaving messages no one reply. When going up to the school, everyone soooo busy." I must make a appointment.". I believe this public school should be evaluated by Dekalb County School Board. I believe the lack of parent involvement is due to the teachers lack of involvement. And I would NEVER suggest this school to anyone who cares about their child education. I will/have removed my son from this environment and I will be home schooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

As a parent I like the school. This is my son's last year here we have had some good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

I am a teacher at Bethune and this school is horrible. I feel like I am in a movie. The teachers genuinely care, but no amount of teacher effort can combat students' behavior and values. Instructing a lesson is nearly impossible. Most students have no respect for adults or education. They talk, yell, curse during the entire lesson, no matter the consequences. When I send student s to the office they are sent back to my classroom. Students have no fear because they are not held accountable for their behavior. I have witnessed countless fights in my classroom and aggressive behavior from students toward myself. The only thing students seem to respond to (minimally) is screaming. This management style that does not set a positive example, but I now understand, after gaining a better sense of many students home environment, why it works . If your child is bright and values education in any way- do not send them here. The students with extreme behavior problems control the classroom and I feel very badly for those students who have potential and do care, as they, sadly, suffer due to their classmates. I truly feel that any option has to be better than Bethune.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 1, 2013

This school is the definition of terrible. From the teachers, to the staff in the office, and even the way the classrooms and hallways look do not set a positive learning example. I attend BMS, and to be honest, they treat us like prisoners! They expect, and basically tell us, that we'll never be anything but minorities. Most barely pay attention to what we're doing, and could care less. If you can help it, DO NOT send your child here.


Posted August 7, 2011

This school is full of energetic faculty and staff who truly believe in the children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 1, 2009

not sure this is my sons first year and he's been failing since school started. I didnt receive the sec free tuorturing book, in which i asked about a month ago. Im looking for help for my son as far as help goes with his school work, or he will be attending atlanta public school system, they have more to offer!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

Bethune middle school is one of the worse schools you could ever send your child to in dekalb county. It has done nothing but destroy my perfect record. I have been nothing but an all A student and my record looks terrible because i was jumped and no teacher's were around in the beginning of this conflict and Bethune's adminstrative staff did not complete the investigation properly. There was nothing but lies told and the principal took the adminstrators side without doing any investigation of his own to get to the bottom of this situtation. So, if you care about your child's safety, record, or grades don't send your child to Mary Mcleod Bethune Middle School on Covington Hwy in Decatur, GA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

As a fomer bethune middle school student i would say that bethine is not such a bad school, but its certintly not perfect either. I am now a junior in high school. One of the things i would say was a problem while i was there was the constant lockdowns. Lockdown meaning that when the cetrin (6th 7th or 8th) class would be disruptive to the other members in the school, the whole 'team' would have to stay in there classes and have their work sent to them by their teachers. I guess this would cause less drama and what not. Overall it it a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2008

Good principal, Dr. McMullen. Average on academics as some teachers are light on homework and in-class assignments. There were also some good teachers that my sons had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2008

i lllooooovvvvveeeeee bethune. and im really learning a lot. not good with after school activities though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2007

As behalf of the class of 07 at Bethune Middle School, I wanna say that Bethune is really not a bad school. The teachers really care about our education is just that the students arent really willing to learn. So I would say that its the students decision to change the ways of their behavior towards the education stages. The teachers try their best to teach the children who are willing to learn and for those students who really dont care about their education, the teachers still try to teach them, its just not that their doing their job but they also care about the children. As Dr. Terry McMullen being our principal for the last 2 years I was there, the school learning have been better.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 12, 2007

Despite the negative reviews about Bethune, this is still a good school. As a former student I know what the school is all about, success. When Mrs. Mafico was there, she ran the school, had control, and always continued to put education first. So I would have to say that I was proud to be a Bethune lion!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 29, 2005

Bethune is not as bad as some of the parents are making it seem. The problem isn't the teachers so much as it is the students. The academic problems are a result of the teaching staff having to deal with the problems that the children are causing whether it is dealing with fighting or any other social issues dealing with the children. When I attended Bethune last year, the teaching staff was okay it could definetly be better, but for the most part going to Bethune was a good experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 16, 2005

This school is horrible! Don't send your child to this school, unless neccessary. They are way behind in work. I no longer want my child in this type of enviorment, that is why we are moving. So, think about your child's future and well being before sending them to Bethune.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2005

I think salem middle school would be a school for your child and from my childs point of view it is the crunkest school and the school has good recreational things to do and has an undeatable team.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
34%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

319 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 37%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Triscilla Weaver
Fax number
  • (678) 875-0310

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5200 Covington Hwy
Decatur, GA 30035
Phone: (678) 875-0302

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Decatur Adventist Jr Academy
Stone Mountain, GA






Redan Middle School
Lithonia, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT