Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oakview Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 830 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2013

My children have been attending this school since 2011. At first I did not care for the school much, the quality of the educations was poor. Since the school changed the principal, I have noticed a change in my children's attitude about school, they don't complain much anymore. In addition, their grades have improved. The school also have more activities now. There is still much improvement needed; however, the school is much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

My son attends this school and I can see both sides of the coin. I am working with the new Principal to help improve the learning of the students so they can acheive. I need all parents and any other volunteers that are concerned about our youth to get in contact with Principal Mallory so we can all work as a team to reach our goals for the students. We can make Oak View one of the best schools however, it is going to take all hands on deck. Are you all talk and no action? Mr. Quitman
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2011

This school looks very nice from the outside, but DO NOT ENROLL YOUR CHILD/REN!!!!! The office personnel, I would give 4 stars, they are very nice down to earth people. Some of the teachers however, yell, cut children down, are very unorganized, and could really careless about the children. It's a paycheck to them, period. One teacher in particular, scared my child so bad, she cried everyday we dropped her off. They say they LOVE parent volunteering, but the teachers don't even want you to communicate via agenda. So you know they don't want you in their classrooms helping out. Overall, it was a terrible experience for our family. I wouldn't want anyone to go through what we went through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

The school is very organized and the teachers and staff take pride in instructing the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

School is well organized and students are very well behaved. There is a lot of student - teacher positive involvement. Great learning environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

The teachers are good, but the enviornment of the kids is not the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My children attend this school after it was built and the students were very unruly. My daughters teacher had no control over her students and suggested I put them in another school. Thank God for theme schools. I tried to have audience with the principal about the problems and they were never available. I know parents work, but parents also have vacation days or time off. They could take the time out of their schedules and help the teachers with anything. Kids love to see their parents involved at the school. When parents don't take the time, they can't fault the teacher if their child is not doing well. I made sure my presence was known. Parents should not just show up for parent/teacher conference. Get involved and find out what your child is doing in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

This is a school that has not reached its maximum potential. When the Oakview parents become more involved with their children s education this school will succeed. My son attended Oakview for one year, two weeks into the school year I wanted to sell my house and move. The teachers and staff all met and some far exceeded my expectations. The lack of parent involvement is what's causing this school to fail. Something as simple as not following the school uniform policy teaches our children that they don't have to follow rules in life. I am sad to see Oakview rate 1 out of 10 but not surprised glad to have moved on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

I feel overall this is a fairly decent school. We as parents are never going to be completely satisfied because there could always be more that can be done to help educate our children. Thru my experiences with this school, i am impressed with the discovery program teacher. I find this to be a great alternative to magnet schools and my son is challenged in this program and he loves it. Keep up the great work ms.Jefferson!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I am impressed with my son's teacher(s) and I believe the homework assignments and amount sent home is great since he is in kindergarten. I think it is important to enforce the dress code, this would be one less disruption for all the students. I like the idea of the Thursday package being that I am well informed of the activities taking place in the class room, so that we can work on those same activities at home. I would like for the kindergarten class to spend more time in the library. I have informed my sons' teacher about my willingness to volunteer and I have not heard anything from her letting me know when I could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

The Principal is not involved as she should be. Which leads to limited resources and support for the teachers. Most of parents are not assisting their children with their homework and also not complying with the school dress for success code.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

137 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

137 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

137 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

139 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

139 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

139 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 97% 37%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sandra Wilson
Fax number
  • (678) 875-1310

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3574 Oakvale Rd
Decatur, GA 30034
Phone: (678) 875-1302

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT