Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Renfroe Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 655 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 27, 2013

I have been an advocate of public education for many years. I love Renfroe Middle School. My son has been in Decatur City Schools since PreK. I feel as though he has had a private school education. The curriculum is very challenging . The programs are exciting for the students as the parent involvement is so great. The current Principal is amazing for he seems to really know the children. He pays extra attention to their needs and lets the teachers do what they do best: teach! My son has good friends and a great community to learn in. He is learning life skills and gaining knowledge about the global world that he lives in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Renfroe Middle School is one of the best schools in decatur, with caring teachers and a principal that really cares about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

I have had two children attend Renfroe. This school has had challenges in the past with administration. (see the older dated reviews). However, this school is currently doing many things right. I observe a principal who engages students, demonstrates good values, is a visionary and a good role model (and he happens to be black). I observe staff and teachers that know kids by name, actively encourage (and admonish), challenge and believe in their students. One teacher in particular impressed me, Mr. Robinson. My daughter started the year in fear of him, but loved, respected and even made him a gift by the end of the year. She had learned a great deal from him about history, human dignity and hard work. At graduation, several students gave testimonies to his challenging them, taking time to support them outside of class and believing in them. This school is not perfect, but it is a special place. If i had another child, I would sent them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

By far the best Middle school in Dekalb county !!! I LOVE DECATUR CITY SCHOOLS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

I've substituted for teachers in the City Schools of Decatur system for three years. Regular teaching jobs at all CSD schools are highly competitive because (1) teachers certified at the "highly qualified" level teachers WANT to come to Decatur (2) parents accept no less. Renfroe recently won a School of Excellence (Statewide) award and its parents, students, and teachers are committed to teamwork. As somewhat of an outsider, I get the impression that shifts in administration; pressure from federal and state mandates; and the relatively high level of parent body education can sometimes squeeze teachers to the point that they're sweating bullets and, sadly, their creativity, flexibility, and teaching style are compromised. Still, I wouldn't hesitate to send my son to Renfroe or to teach here full-time.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 5, 2011

I have a 6th grader at RMS. It is a small IB public charter school, an is small by comparison to nearby public middle schools. The administrators, teachers and staff are top-notch. Parents are highly involved. The curriculum is challenging and engaging. Our child is happy and healthy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

Renfroe is the undiscovered gem in City Schools of Decatur!! It's small, which makes it very manageble fot students. Only about 200 children in each grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Fantastic International Baccalaureate curriculum and great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

The new principal has not done much. He cowtows to some parents and ignores others. I have tried to email teachers for meetings and they are ignored. I'm glad we are moving out of this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

We love Renfroe! I have had two children at Renfroe, and have seen the dramatic improvement over the years. They are currently implementing an International Baccalaureate program which may be tough for struggling learners. There are a lot of gifted children at this school and their parents demand a lot from the administration. There are some issues with special education delivery and I believe that the cafeteria rules could be relaxed, but over all one of the best middle schools around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

Renfroe is a mess and the new principal is not accountable. Administration 'talks the talk' and shakes hands like a slick politician, but no real changes occur. There are significant behavior issues in this school that are not addressed. Special needs students are vulnerable and are not being served. Teachers are leaving because they are fed up. Kids are treated like robots & the school administration system's biggest concern are test scores and becoming a 'Top 10' school system. Not a healthy environment for a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

We have been very impressed with this middle school. They are in the process of becoming an International Baccalaureate School and offer an engaging, inquiry based and challenging curriculum that is hard to find these days. We looked at many in-town middle schools and Renfroe was by far the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2007

This is my first year at Renfroe coming from a private school. I love this school. It has wonderful classes & material-but some of the teachers have no respect for the students at all. This is a great school & being in its on school system makes it a smaller school of 484 students everyone knows everyone. I especially enjoy the Life Science class with Mr. Michaelangelo Calhoun. He is a great teacher that provides us with many interactive activities. This school is great for gifted students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2006

Lots of change in administration. Need to observe to make sure this school is ok for your kid. Not much for kids to do after school. Few clubs, some athletics if you make the team.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

217 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 44%
Black 35% 37%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Derrick Thomas
Fax number
  • (404) 370-4449

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

220 W College Ave
Decatur, GA 30030
Phone: (404) 370-4440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Horizons School
Atlanta, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT