Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Renfroe Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
So far so good, for the most part. We've been very happy with the core teachers (English, Humanities, Math, Science).

Renfroe Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
I am not a proponent of homework, so I appreciate the amounts given which is usually less than an hour per night. Kids are busy with extracurriculars after school and just need some down time!!

Renfroe Middle School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Too early to tell since we are new at the school. I will say, through open communication with the teachers thus far, my daughter is becoming very familiar with the IB system of grading and the requirements. The teachers are fully supportive in helping her achieve her academic goals.

Renfroe Middle School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
I think they do as much as they can; respect should be learned at home, and I think there are many kids who don't get that lesson, unfortunately. Not just at Renfroe, but nationwide! We are new so I cannot speak to much on this subject, but the friends my daughter has met are very respectful!

Renfroe Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
The teachers have been so supportive to my daughter as she acclimated to a very new way of doing things. They've been so responsive to me via email. The students my daughter has met have been compassionate, caring, and empathetic; I can't help but think aside from just wonderful families in Decatur, this also comes from the leadership and teachers at the school setting a fine example.

Renfroe Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
We are new to the school, but based on the relationship my daughter has with her teachers, it seems they are very open to communication, accountability and give students the opportunity to take ownership of their learning; a true collaboration of efforts!

Renfroe Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
This is our first year at Renfroe Middle School, after being at a private school for 10 years...and we are so happy we made the decision to enroll our child! We have been so impressed with the level of commitment from the teachers (Ms. McRae, Ms. Ratliff, Mr. Taube, Ms. Harvey, Coach Coleman--all AWESOME!!), as well as the caliber of students my child has gotten to know--smart, well-rounded, and kind friends!! Equally as impressed with the curriculum.

Renfroe Middle School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a community member
I transferred from Drew Charter School to Renfroe though I had been in CSD for my whole life. I want to say that Renfroe is a fantastic school, with caring teachers and nice people. The only problem is that it is VERY crowded. Fantastic school.

Renfroe Middle School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
My son is an eighth grader at Renfroe and he feels that most of his teachers offer a challenging environment that is interesting and engaging. Mr. Thomas puts the students first and creates fun events for the students. The teachers are accessible and give quick feedback about my son's progress. Renfroe is a safe and secure environment to learn where students can flourish. I feel as though he has had a private education throughout his academics since pre-K at City Schools of Decatur.

Renfroe Middle School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Renfroe Middle School is one of the best schools in decatur, with caring teachers and a principal that really cares about the kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Renfroe Middle School
220 West College Ave, Decatur, GA  30030
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (404) 370-4440
Last modified Renfroe Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top