Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winnona Park Elementary School

Charter | K-3

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2013

As a parent of 1 child here and another one who went here, I have found that the teachers are very warm and caring for the students. We moved into the Winnona park neighborhood specifically to have our children go to this school and are very pleased we did. My only concern is that the Decatur city schools enrollment is growing so fast that the class sizes are getting to the point where expansion is necessary. Obviously the word is out that this is a great nurturing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

My kids came from a private school, and the education is as good or better than they received there. The school asks for a lot of parental involvement, and that participation helps to build a strong community spirit and sense of participation. The kids have a lot of projects that they are expected to take charge of and complete themselves, but very little busy work. They are active and engaged in their own education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2013

My children attended Winnona Park Elementary and went on to great success in high school and college. They attended the prestigious Duke TIP program and scored high on their SATs. I attribute much of it to their early education at Winnona Park. Teachers are, bar none, the best there are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

I have two children at this school, both receiving special education and I have been very pleased with the services they have received. Principal really listens to parents and teachers go above and beyond. True group of smart professionals. They should be paid more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

We have had two boys at Winnona Park. From the principal on down the school is run very well. The teachers LOVE being at this school. It says something to me when there are over 300 applications for 1 job. I consider living in Decatur, and having sent my boys to WP as a great honor, and am so happy that we sent our boys to Winnona Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

As a current homeowner in Winnona Park, I highly recommend the school. We have 2 children in the school right now and have been very pleased with our children's development, the strength of the teaching and the high level of involvement from parents. We feel very fortunate to have our children at WPES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

I agree. As a former Winnona Park homeowner ,2003-2008, mother of three, and currently a middle school teacher in Dekalb County, I can wholeheartedly Not Recommend Winnona, Glenwood, or Renfroe due to my children's experiences while attending those schools. There is a vast divide between reality and the perception of the City of Decatur School System. After two frustrating years of numerous cases of incompetence, I moved my children to Fernbank. They excelled at Fernbank and are now enjoying Druid Hills. The Public Relations Team in Decatur City does a exceptional job in promoting their lackluster schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2011

The receptionist, contrary to the positive messages posted on the wall behind her, was unhelpful and uncommunicative. Spoke briefly with the principal. I came away with no impression of him. I have since sent an e-mail to the principal, called twice and have gotten no response. We were thinking of moving into this school district. We are not so sure now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I love their community spirit and their commitment to incorporating growing and cooking fresh, healthy food into the core curriculum.


Posted April 19, 2010

It is a wonderful school with a diverse body of high-achieving students and excellent staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

Went into this school super excited. But are now looking at our other options. This school is fine, but that doesn't cut it. There is a considerable lack of communication from the the principal and teachers (at least when you ask for help for your child). Expeditionary learning would be a nice idea if they actually followed through and engaged in anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

The teachers and principal and students give this school a very warm and welcoming spirit. I particularly love community circle. Expeditionary Learning is a perfect fit for Decatur. My child loves to go to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

We love this school! My child is now in third grade and has had excellent, creative teachers every year. The extracurricular opportunities are plentiful, and the principal is committed and fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

Great school, great staff, great neighborhood. I believe that there isn't a better elementary school environment in the nation than Winnona Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

Love this school, the principal and its teachers. Very nurturing environment, enhanced by an active PTA. We feel so lucky to be part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2006

The culture has changed a lot over the years. We are not as happy with this school as we once were. Parent involvement and even achievement have suffered a bit recently. Still a good little school in a nice neighborhood though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2004

I met a whole lot of great friends and the teachers were wonderful. they taught me most of the stuff I know to day.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

93 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

93 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

93 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 44%
Black 19% 37%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 54%N/A51%
Female 46%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

510 Avery St
Decatur, GA 30030
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 370-4490

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT