Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Laurel Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2013

Laurel Ridge is a great school... The principle Ms Kyle is very involved in trying to make this a GREAT school. The teachers are all very approachable and responsive. I personally LOVE the small size of our school and the love and caring that my child receives...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2011

I left Laurel Ridge E.S. in 1965, yes....1965!!! Grades 1-7th. 8th grade was at Druid Hills H.S. Harold O'Quinn was the principal of Laurel Ridge when I went there. Shetland Drive was all woods and we would walk home. I don't expect kids walk like we did. Everyone from Willivee around to the homes off of Lawrenceville Hwy. would all gather on the weekend and play ball. There were two ball fields at the time, both sand lots, but we had fun, our teachers cared about us and it was a good experience. I wish my kids had the opportunity to go to as good a school as Laurel Ridge!


Posted June 25, 2010

I love this school!! My son has learned so much. This school really cares for the students and encourages parents to be involved in the school. I couldn't ask for my child to be at a better school than this one!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

Amazing school. We were at Cliff Valley for 5 years and this school leaves us surprised at how well rounded a public school can be. My daughter is receiving a real education and we couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

I like the teachers because they are nice and friendly. However, this year there is a new intern who troubles me. She never smile and always looks angry. She makes me feel uncomfortable
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I like all the teachers!!


Posted May 25, 2009

We love this school. It is wonderful to walk around the school and see all the kids learning and enjoying their school. Our kids are well prepared for the next step. LRE has families representing many countries around the world and we also have children requiring wheelchairs and other medical needs. My daughter is learning many lessons about life here. LRE is always welcoming to parents and they love class parent participation. The staff is incredible. The county's teacher of the year for 2007-2008 teaches here. We love LRE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

My daughter started K in ms.breland's class at Laurel Ridge.I could not be happier. The teachers and staff are magnificent and Savannah has learned do much. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

I love this school. We transferred from a private school and I am amazed at the quality of education, the caring staff and involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

My family has been at Laurel Ridge for the past 4 years after transferring from a local private (Catholic) school-- my youngest has 4 years to go. This is more than a school-- Laurel Ridge is a small community where the entire staff, from the administration down, knows the children and the parents by name. Strong academics with test scores that compare favorably to the 'star' schools in the county (Livsey, Fernbank, Kittredge). Low staff turnover, majority of teachers have advanced degrees and certifications, high percentage of students in the gifted program, active and interested parents and one of the most caring and responsive administrative teams in the county. DeKalb's best-kept secret!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2006

My son attended 1st grade at Laurel Ridge this past year. I am very happy with the school. My neighbor also moved in this year. As first year students, both our boys were paired up with mentors, which were also the vice principal and the principal. I was glad that they took the time to do this with the boys. Mrs. E was an excellent teacher. I feel she has really prepared my son for school with projects and book reports geared to the first grade level. She really stressed my son's responsibility for his own work. Many of the parents were very involved with the school. I had seen and met many of the parents in my son's classroom. If I didn't meet them personally, my son told me about their visits. I love the family evironment of Laurel Ridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

I am a teacher in Atlanta. My fifth grader goes to Laurel Ridge and I am very happy with the caring and warm environment. The staff is dedicated and it is a very safe school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

62 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

62 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

62 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

67 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

68 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

67 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 44%
Black 23% 37%
Hispanic 14% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1215 Balsam Dr
Decatur, GA 30033
Phone: (678) 874-6902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Arbor Montessori
Decatur, GA




Hess Academy
Decatur, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT