Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Briarlake Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
Briarlake has not been without its Dekalb County problems but once you get past that and into the classroom. It has been a a great experience for my children. They have excelled and given many opportunites and different experiences. Testing on the very high end of all the state tests.

Briarlake Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful school. Fantastic community and parent involvement. Very active PTA. Teachers willing to listen and offer assistance.


Briarlake Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2011
- a parent
Love our school. This is our 2nd year and I have a 2nd, a 1st and a PreK student. They LOVE going to school! The teachers have been amazing, giving the extra challenges when needed (didn't want my kids to be ahead and therefore bored). And each of them have seemed to genuinely care for my kids! THe counselor is great and nips bully in the bud quickly. I have felt very secure leaving them there...even the nurse is so sweet and a great lady. (same said for principal, office staff, etc.) We LOVE where we are and we love the fact that this is the hearing impaired school for the county. The kids get to learn sign and interact with kids that may be different than they are. My only complaint is that it is not as racially diverse as I would like (63% white, 19 % Black), but my kids have not seemed to be concerned with that at all. The parent involvement is very high, it was 100% last year (PTA involvement)...not sure what it is this year, but I know that there are always parents volunteering and present.

Briarlake Elementary School 4

Posted August 18, 2010
- a parent
Briarlake is a great school. We left the area, and have been searching for a comparative school ever since. Great diversity, parent involvement, and a welcoming staff. I really appreciate the schools NO BULLYING stance, that is taken seriously by students and staff.

Briarlake Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
The small size and parent support is rare and wonderful.


Briarlake Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attended Briarlake and we feel like she received a very good, solid education foundation that prepared her well for her secondary education!

Briarlake Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
We loved Briarlake & are going back. We chose to leave Briarlake when an opening at a local private school became available *out of fear' of public middle school. Big mistake if you have above average children who need stimulating/engaging/challenging material. The private school was very 1950s academically (but did have some pros). We found the overall education at Briarlake to be FAR SUPERIOR! We also found Briarlake's teaching staff & administration to be genuintely warmer and more sincere than the private school.

Briarlake Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Great School: wonderfl caring teachers and excellent parental participation


Briarlake Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a teacher
I've been working in Briarlake for 17 years. If I thought felt uncomfortable or disrepected . . . I wouldn't still be here! The parents, community, and kids are the BEST! We have so much support and the PTA treats our staff with so much love.

Briarlake Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
Briarlake Elem School has committed administrators, outstanding teachers, and involved parents who work together to ensure all our students achieve their educational goals!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Briarlake Elementary School
3590 Lavista Rd, Decatur, GA  30033
(678) 874-2502
Last modified Briarlake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Briarlake Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top