Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

McLendon Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 567 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Some of the teachers are great, like Ms. Sribnik. But the kids at this school are out of control. My sons 5th grade class was not allowed to play out side for the entire year because of the kids behavior issues. He used to tell me stories about the the fights and desks getting flipped over by kids and the kids screaming at the teacher. This school has a rating of 1 on great schools. I am surprised it is even still open. A great teacher only does so much good when they spend the majority of their time dealing with severe behavior issues. This school like a prison yard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

McLendon is a great school with friendly, caring teachers & staff. My daughters transferred mid year and were welcomed with such warmth. My oldest daughter went from failing math in her previous school to getting an A 3rd semester and a final grade of a B+. The diversity of the students that attend make it a great life experience for the children. My girls love McLendon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We have had good learning results with McClendon for 3 years , would like to see more parent participation, it's would make such a wonderful difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

My daughter had not even started yet and already I'm highly disappointed. The staff in the office us rude they don't like to even answer their phones and if they do finally answer they do it with an attitude. I was already skeptical because in 09 they list my friends son. He was 5 or 6 and they didn't know where he was luckily the baby found his way home but how do you let a child that small get on a bus they don't supposed to be on and walking home by himself. I am totally unimpressed by what they have shown me so far and i have to trust them with my 5 year old daughter.....i don't know about this....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

Both of my daughter's attended this school for 3yrs. Mr Mac is the best principle this side of Atlanta. He loves the kids and doesn't play around. It is an Internation school made up os more than 20 different nationalities. The kids learn so much from each other and there's no such thing as color. I'm really going to miss the teachers as much as they're going to miss my kids.... :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

i have ten childre and they all went to this school they loved it it is an intteracial school they go on field trips all the time and have lots of fun they have a great principal and teachers everything is good in the hood
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

My wife is a teacher at this school, and I have been privy to many observations about it. The school has an experienced faculty and a principal who familiarizes herself very well with the condition of each child. The faculty actually has far more mandatory professional development than other teachers at other schools. Field trips to museums and plays are common. The school also has a high student mobility rate and a very high percentage of refugee students. While this introduces some instability to the classroom, the commitment and ability of the teachers, combined with the diversity of culture available to the student, make McLendon a diamond in the rough for any parent who wants their child to have a real education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2005

I am pleased with the progress my child has shown even though I feel she could be exposed to more within the school environment. She does not have access to computers at school, and even though she is in kindergarten, I feel it should be available to them. I will say that my child has learned to read and has been exposed to music, art and sports. The YWCA offers aftercare which is also a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

95 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

71 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

72 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
39%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 61% 37%
Asian 20% 3%
White 9% 44%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lloyd McFarlane
Fax number
  • (678) 676-5910

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3169 Hollywood Dr
Decatur, GA 30033
Phone: (678) 676-5902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Hess Academy
Decatur, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT