Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Miller Grove Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
The 6th grade teachers in group 6c (Dr Gary, Mrs Moore, Mrs Warren and Ms. Johnson) has made this transition into middle school easier for me. My daughter loves all of her teachers and she is doing extremely well. Thank you all! Khadeja Gipson

Miller Grove Middle School 3

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
Miller Grove is a school that provides adequate education if the teachers would start thinking about the other issues that children bring to school which prohibits learning. The children are not in college they are in high school. Don't lecture as much teach and teach with care for the children's future. The students you send out of the school are the people who will provide some service to you one day. Remember it.

Miller Grove Middle School 1

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
Miller Grove middle does not have any kind of communication with parents. Their staff including the principle are very unprofessional. Some of the teachers need to retired or fired because they simply not qualify to teach. My seven grade child bored out of his mind because of the lack of instructions. Not all children that attend miller Grove are bad. The teachers play a big role of the children behavior as well. For example, if a child know that you don't care nothing about their learning, you just there for the money, most likely they are going to retaliate. Basically, the school need a make over. Hire competent people that's qualify to do the job. Until then move away from the neighborhood put your child somewhere else they can excel.

Miller Grove Middle School 4

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
Miller Grove has a wonderful principal and staff who go all out to ensure that their students receive the best education possible. Albeit the fact that many of the children come from troubled backgrounds, the teachers make an extra effort to help them get their performance up to standard. My son is in 7th grade there and the moment he starts operating below his usual standard I am guaranteed a phone call. I wish for them all the best.

Miller Grove Middle School 1

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
I would not recommend sending your child to this school. They don't provide books for certain core subjects for the children to take home to complete homework; but yet they have homework that the book provides information/answers for; so needless to say homework can be very difficult. Also if your child doesn't provide "A" work to certain teachers, they either recieve a incomplete or a very low score; which in return doesn't inspire the child to want to perform. Can't wait to leave this terrible school......so many bad apples, will definately spoil the bunch!!!

Miller Grove Middle School 2

Posted June 10, 2013
- a teacher
This school does not offer a environment conducive for learning or teaching. The average class size is 32-35. The students are academically low and this lack of intelligence is manifested in their behavior. The administrative team operates on a fear of "losing my job" which shows in their lack of discipline and support for teachers. If you have no choice but to send your child here, please make sure to take the time to visit the classes and teachers during instructional time at least once a month.

Miller Grove Middle School 1

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
This middle school is the WORST middle school in Dekalb County that you could send your child to. The teachers here are unprofessional and half of the teachers here are very young and do not care about anything but a paycheck. I hate that my child had the experience of attending this middle school and I am making sure that my youngest child does not have to experience the issues that I have had with this school. Almost every child that attends here have low grades, if your child came in the door with a decent grade point average, if they attend this school there average will drop.

Miller Grove Middle School 1

Posted October 12, 2012
- a community member
This school is one of the worst. The children behave badly and they are well below grade level. The staff is stressed out and over worked...not a good recipe for the success of the children.

Miller Grove Middle School 1

Posted February 02, 2011
- a community member
I attented Miller Grove Middle School in grade 6. It was my first and final year. The teachers were terrible, the school was infested with ANTS, and the administrative team was lazy. I will not be attending this school ever again.

Miller Grove Middle School 5

Posted July 22, 2009
- a parent
It is the best school that a child can go to.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miller Grove Middle School
2215 Miller Rd, Decatur, GA  30035
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (678) 676-8902
Last modified Miller Grove Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top