Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Evansdale Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

My son has inattentive ADHD. Since PreK, the teachers have been very supportive, proactive, and collaborative. They've involved us as parents in figuring out what he needs, what might work, how to keep him motivated, and how to improve his skills. His teachers used accommodations through the SST process before he even had an official diagnosis and a 504 plan. He is doing well! But it goes beyond my son. Administration tries to match students with the teachers that are best for them. The principal has been working strategically to provide more individualized education- supporting teachers so that they can cope with the range of kids from struggling to high achieving that they teach. They use different ways to teach-single teacher, team teaching, small group, large group, push in, pull out services - one size does not fit all. They have programs like Daily 5 and Accelerated Math so that kids can learn at their level. They are doing STEM activities - fun and engaging.. We have a foundation that helps fund teacher training and additional staff to make sure that all children get the education they deserve. PTA is very active and that helps support teachers. It's really a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

My child has had an IEP since pre-k. Evansdale has met with me, adapted he iep, included needed services like o/t, speech therapy and has bent over backwards to keep him at grade level. I have stayed at this school only for the special needs program and despite the changing demographics. All of he items below are specific areas the school has included in the iep to make sure he tests at grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

They are becoming a Magnet, Language immersion, STEM-certified school. Principal is forward-thinking and improving the performance of the school. Parental involvement is strong. Strong PTA. Redistricting changing the demographics and dynamics of the school. Probably the best elementary school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

In 2005 my family made the conscious decision to purchase a house here so that my children could attend Evansdale Elementary. This school has so many wonderful things to offer. The teachers are great across the board with very few exceptions. Administration does an amazing job working within the constraints of the county's dysfunctional school board. A strong fundraising arm (the Foundation), active parent base (PTA) help bring it all together especially in recent years where we've faced budget cuts, population shifts, redistricting and more. Test scores do not tell the full story of this school especially as current #'s are not up to date. New and innovative programs (STEM, French immersion) along with a great feeder pattern to Lakeside HS make this a really attractive choice for anyone looking to live and send their children to school in DeKalb county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

There is no argument that Georgia, and in particular DeKalb county, education is plummeting because of mismanagement issues. Evansdale is an exception. Redistricting brought in hordes of ESOL students. School management, teachers, PTA, and parents did a fantastic job of transitioning. Still a great place because of great teacher retention and parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

Evansdale Elementary is fantastic. It is a Magnet School and a STEM school. They have a great science program. The teachers and staff are excellent. Parent involvement is high. It is a great school in a wonderful community. They are starting bilingual classes with French Immersion for K in 2013. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Great local elementary school with great parental involvement. School doesn't follow the trends of local Atlanta/Dekalb schools of poor management and declining education. School is top notch with great teachers and great results. STEM and science programs are very well handled as is the language immersion components
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

We have two children in Evansdale and couldn't be happier with the quality of education and the community. It's cliche, but a strong education for our children takes a village and we are grateful for the village of Evansdale. Parents are involved, teachers work hard and we have strong and consistent leadership with Dr. McGuire. The school offers many programs and opportunities for the children and has done a lot of work to advance the STEM curriculum, foreign language and physical fitness as well as other programs that I'm sure I'm forgetting. The school has so much to offer - you just need to take advantage of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

This is such a wonderful neighborhood school. The staff and administration are very receptive and the teachers are wonderful. There is a very active PTA and Foundation. Evansdale has applied for STEM certification and has a new Kindergarten French Immersion program. We are very happy our children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Evansdale has been a wonderful school for my children. The teachers are engaged and constantly working to improve themselves for the educational benefit of the children. The administration is supportive and striving to increase the educational reach of the school. There have been some wonderful changes over the past year with the movement to becoming a Science & Foreign Language Magnet School (formerly a program), the addition of a state-funded French Immersion Program, and the efforts towards STEM certification.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

2 of my kids went to Evansdale k-5 and I have another who's starting Kindergarten this fall. I loved it when my kids went there and I'm looking forward to being an Evansdale mom again. It's such a great neighborhood school. It's so simple to just run in and meet with a teacher for a conference when you need to. One of my daughters needed some extra help reading and they took care of it. The teachers are wonderful and the PTA is outstanding,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

Evansdale is a great school with great parental involvement. The community embraces the school. We love living in such a great community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

I just love this school! I am new to Atlanta and thus new to the school systems here in the Metro area. Upon moving here I was concerned about the education my children would receive here in Atlanta. At the first school they attended the teachers were nice but overwhelmed and the principle was out to lunch. Evansdale is different the teachers go the extra mile supervising afterschool programs and offering enrichment. We haev been the most impressed with the principle he is outstanding. He is always involved, at night I have even seen him mopping the floors! He always give 100%. The PTA and Foundation are amazing. I love that the school expects that parents and the community want to be involved at the school. My children are thriving, challenged academically and are doing well socially. When we moved 6 months ago Evansdale was rated a 10, now it is a 6. In my opinion the school has just gotten better. The school has been names a Magnet School, they are getting STEM certified and will be a Dual Immersion school for French. The school's test school are great, too. I don't know what the deal is but the school is just getting better and better. Evansdale is top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

Certainly not going to mention names, but the current administration (Principal and AP) are part of the reason this school is in trouble. They aren't involved in the school at all, unless you count their kowtowing to helicoptering parents as involved. Teachers in crowded classrooms have to deal with the latest great idea from the administration. And do they even know the kids' names? I guess if one of them was off the cell phone enough he might learn those names. The county is partly to blame as well. Inundating this school with hundreds of kids from an underperforming school certainly did not set it up for success. However, again back to the administration - perhaps they could have done a little more to prepare for this influx. Overall, I hope that the great teachers who have made this school hang around, but I fear that it's on the downward slide to the status of Pleasantdale. Would I send my child here? My child goes there, but at the end of this year will no longer. Hope that answers your question.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

First, let me lay out my biases. I think that the public educational system in Georgia is awful. In Dekalb County (as well as other areas of the Atlanta Metro Region), there has been corruption in the administration and allegations of continued corruption. The public schools also need more resources, and the current Dekalb County administration has the brilliant (sarcasm) idea that packing more kids into school buildings (shooting for 900 kids per elementary school) is going to help our kids. So why would I send my children to Evansdale? Evansdale is a light in the darkness. The principal and teachers overall are wonderful. Because Dekalb schools do not have the needed resources to provide quality education on their own, parents are needed to fill in the deficiencies. Fortunately at Evansdale, this system is working. Educational studies have shown that some parental involvement improves learning; groundskeeping, photocopying, and other scut work probably aren't essential forms of parental involvement, but they allow the teachers to focus on their work. See you soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

This is a wonderful school. Still has that neighborhood-school feel. Parental involvement is off the charts. Do you want your child to go to a great school? Make it great. Get involved and get others involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2010

This is a great school! There are many experienced, smart, and caring teachers on the staff. The Discovery and science programs are expecially good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

This is my child's third year at Evansdale. He started at Evansdale in the lottery-funded pre-k class. I've been very pleased with all three years of his education there, and am looking forward to the next four years, too. The principal and the teachers are very caring and give their all for our kids. The parent involvement is extremely high, and the math and reading scores are as high (and in cases higher) than those at other highly-rated schools like Oak Grove. I have never regretted moving here for this school, and recommend the school to friends all the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

I true community school that reflects the wonderful diversity in our area and the passion that the children, parents, teachers and faculty deliver everyday. We love being a part of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Evansdale is an outstanding public school with excellent educators, a dedicated parent community and a high achieving student body. The PTA and newly formed Evansdale Education Foundation work collaboratively to help Evansdale realize its full potential. Evansdale has been recognized mutliple times as a Shool of Excellence and has a longstanding heritage of educational excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

74 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

75 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

74 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

82 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

84 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

82 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 44%
Black 25% 37%
Hispanic 24% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2914 Evans Woods Dr
Doraville, GA 30340
Phone: (678) 874-2702

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT