Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Evansdale Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
LOVE every teacher we have dealt with and the After-Care program Director is just lovely as well! Everyone has been so amazing!

Evansdale Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
They have a perfect system for homework that allows the child to manage their time and gives the parent some leeway. I LOVE it!

Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
My child came to Evansdale from a very small, private Christian school and he has just loved it. Everyone is super connected and friendly and the academics are just the perfect balance of challenging and engaging fun. So very glad that we found Evansdale!

Evansdale Elementary School 4

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
They are becoming a Magnet, Language immersion, STEM-certified school. Principal is forward-thinking and improving the performance of the school. Parental involvement is strong. Strong PTA. Redistricting changing the demographics and dynamics of the school. Probably the best elementary school in the area.

Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
In 2005 my family made the conscious decision to purchase a house here so that my children could attend Evansdale Elementary. This school has so many wonderful things to offer. The teachers are great across the board with very few exceptions. Administration does an amazing job working within the constraints of the county's dysfunctional school board. A strong fundraising arm (the Foundation), active parent base (PTA) help bring it all together especially in recent years where we've faced budget cuts, population shifts, redistricting and more. Test scores do not tell the full story of this school especially as current #'s are not up to date. New and innovative programs (STEM, French immersion) along with a great feeder pattern to Lakeside HS make this a really attractive choice for anyone looking to live and send their children to school in DeKalb county.

Evansdale Elementary School 4

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
There is no argument that Georgia, and in particular DeKalb county, education is plummeting because of mismanagement issues. Evansdale is an exception. Redistricting brought in hordes of ESOL students. School management, teachers, PTA, and parents did a fantastic job of transitioning. Still a great place because of great teacher retention and parent involvement.

Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
Evansdale Elementary is fantastic. It is a Magnet School and a STEM school. They have a great science program. The teachers and staff are excellent. Parent involvement is high. It is a great school in a wonderful community. They are starting bilingual classes with French Immersion for K in 2013. We love this school!

Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
Great local elementary school with great parental involvement. School doesn't follow the trends of local Atlanta/Dekalb schools of poor management and declining education. School is top notch with great teachers and great results. STEM and science programs are very well handled as is the language immersion components

Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
We have two children in Evansdale and couldn't be happier with the quality of education and the community. It's cliche, but a strong education for our children takes a village and we are grateful for the village of Evansdale. Parents are involved, teachers work hard and we have strong and consistent leadership with Dr. McGuire. The school offers many programs and opportunities for the children and has done a lot of work to advance the STEM curriculum, foreign language and physical fitness as well as other programs that I'm sure I'm forgetting. The school has so much to offer - you just need to take advantage of it!

Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
This is such a wonderful neighborhood school. The staff and administration are very receptive and the teachers are wonderful. There is a very active PTA and Foundation. Evansdale has applied for STEM certification and has a new Kindergarten French Immersion program. We are very happy our children attend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Evansdale Elementary School
2914 Evans Woods Dr, Doraville, GA  30340
(678) 874-2702
Last modified Evansdale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Evansdale Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top