Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Doraville, GA
Students enrolled: 644
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Evansdale Elementary School 4

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
They are becoming a Magnet, Language immersion, STEM-certified school. Principal is forward-thinking and improving the performance of the school. Parental involvement is strong. Strong PTA. Redistricting changing the demographics and dynamics of the school. Probably the best elementary school in the area.
1 person found this helpful

Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
In 2005 my family made the conscious decision to purchase a house here so that my children could attend Evansdale Elementary. This school has so many wonderful things to offer. The teachers are great across the board with very few exceptions. Administration does an amazing job working within the constraints of the county's dysfunctional school board. A strong fundraising arm (the Foundation), active parent base (PTA) help bring it all together especially in recent years where we've faced budget cuts, population shifts, redistricting and more. Test scores do not tell the full story of this school especially as current #'s are not up to date. New and innovative programs (STEM, French immersion) along with a great feeder pattern to Lakeside HS make this a really attractive choice for anyone looking to live and send their children to school in DeKalb county.
1 person found this helpful


Evansdale Elementary School 4

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
There is no argument that Georgia, and in particular DeKalb county, education is plummeting because of mismanagement issues. Evansdale is an exception. Redistricting brought in hordes of ESOL students. School management, teachers, PTA, and parents did a fantastic job of transitioning. Still a great place because of great teacher retention and parent involvement.
1 person found this helpful

Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
Evansdale Elementary is fantastic. It is a Magnet School and a STEM school. They have a great science program. The teachers and staff are excellent. Parent involvement is high. It is a great school in a wonderful community. They are starting bilingual classes with French Immersion for K in 2013. We love this school!
1 person found this helpful

Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
Great local elementary school with great parental involvement. School doesn't follow the trends of local Atlanta/Dekalb schools of poor management and declining education. School is top notch with great teachers and great results. STEM and science programs are very well handled as is the language immersion components
1 person found this helpful


Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
We have two children in Evansdale and couldn't be happier with the quality of education and the community. It's cliche, but a strong education for our children takes a village and we are grateful for the village of Evansdale. Parents are involved, teachers work hard and we have strong and consistent leadership with Dr. McGuire. The school offers many programs and opportunities for the children and has done a lot of work to advance the STEM curriculum, foreign language and physical fitness as well as other programs that I'm sure I'm forgetting. The school has so much to offer - you just need to take advantage of it!
1 person found this helpful

Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
This is such a wonderful neighborhood school. The staff and administration are very receptive and the teachers are wonderful. There is a very active PTA and Foundation. Evansdale has applied for STEM certification and has a new Kindergarten French Immersion program. We are very happy our children attend this school.
1 person found this helpful

Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Evansdale has been a wonderful school for my children. The teachers are engaged and constantly working to improve themselves for the educational benefit of the children. The administration is supportive and striving to increase the educational reach of the school. There have been some wonderful changes over the past year with the movement to becoming a Science & Foreign Language Magnet School (formerly a program), the addition of a state-funded French Immersion Program, and the efforts towards STEM certification.
1 person found this helpful


Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
2 of my kids went to Evansdale k-5 and I have another who's starting Kindergarten this fall. I loved it when my kids went there and I'm looking forward to being an Evansdale mom again. It's such a great neighborhood school. It's so simple to just run in and meet with a teacher for a conference when you need to. One of my daughters needed some extra help reading and they took care of it. The teachers are wonderful and the PTA is outstanding,
1 person found this helpful

Evansdale Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
Evansdale is a great school with great parental involvement. The community embraces the school. We love living in such a great community

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Evansdale Elementary School
2914 Evans Woods Dr, Doraville, GA  30340
(678) 874-2702
Last modified Evansdale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Evansdale Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top