Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hightower Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
I am grateful for my daughter's counselor. She is always offering her support not only to the students and parents, but also by contributing with donations to the school. I would also like to recognize her ability to recognize a problem, address it and help solve it. We are very lucky to have her.

Hightower Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are very effective considering the difficulties some may face with some students. Sometimes the class size may be an issue or the language barrier.

Hightower Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
I am happy with the amount of homework my child brings home. We already have a routine plus there's no homework on Fridays.

Hightower Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
Academically absolutely! The students are acknowledged for their accomplishments every month.the reading and math goals are very clear and for parents it's easy to keep up with.

Hightower Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
I thinks schools are authoritative because the sizes of the classes are a bit overwhelming.

Hightower Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
The teachers that my daughter has had have been caring and compassionate. I could not say that about the janitor.

Hightower Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
I am unsure at the moment. I haven't been able to visit the classroom. My daughter has not been reprimanded for anything so I don't have an answer.

Hightower Elementary School 4

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
Personally the staff members are all extremely nice and helpful to me. The school in general though needs some improvements in security and inclusion. This year the principal has acknowledged a highly dedicated group of parents and we are planning to arouse our PTA which has been dormant for several years.

Hightower Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a teacher
This is a wonderful school. The teachers are intelligent and caring. Hightower Elementary is a true model school!

Hightower Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2009
- a teacher
I work with the best teachers in the county. Hightower Elementary has made AYP 10 years in a row and we are looking forward to our 11th.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hightower Elementary School
4236 Tilly Mill Rd, Doraville, GA  30360
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (678) 676-7302
Last modified Hightower Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top