Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

King's Way Christian School

Private | PK-12

We are best known for traditional Christian program.

 
 

Living in Douglasville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $102,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 17, 2013

My children go to King's Way and they love it. I can tell the teachers and staff really care about the kids and they are getting a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

My son just completed his first year (K5) at King's Way and I love it. His teacher always kept me informed on what was going on, and my son has shown MUCH improvement in his vocabulary, writing, and knowledge of the bible. I love it! Mrs. Hall was a great teacher, very sweet and humble spirit. The staff gives such a friendly and loving vibe, and it makes you feel more confident for the children. They are also big on safety for the children and will not allow children to leave with anyone they're not supposed to (BIG deal for me). I am very satisfied with my decision to enroll my son here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

Our three boys have attended King's Way Christian School for the past six years. We are extremely satisfied with the quality education, biblical instruction, and loving environment the school provides. We also appreciate the Christian standards that King s Way upholds. It is clear the teachers, administrators, and staff view their jobs as a ministry; they show genuine care and concern for our children s mental, physical, and spiritual development. The school has been very accommodating to us and seeks to reinforce the Christian principles we teach at home. Our experience has led us to recommend the school to numerous friends and family, several of which have since enrolled their children. We pray often for the ministry of King s Way Christian School and are thankful to have such a group of dedicated and devoted people working with our children. It is well worth the thirty minute drive each morning and afternoon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

I love Kingsway Christian School. My children have got what they needed spiritually and academically. I will never send my children any where else. This is our 6th year there and we have been pleased. Kingsway has excellent teachers a great principal and great school leadership. We look forward to many more years there and great memories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

I dragged my feet in putting our children into a pre-k or kindergarten program as I could not see how much could they retain a such a young age. I could not have been more wrong. My three children come home excited about learning with all sorts of rhymes and fun ways of remembering phonics rules. The curriculum is advanced enough to challenge my children, while the teachers do an excellent job of helping the student through difficult areas. I highly recommend the preschool and kindergarten staff as experts in their respective fields. I am looking forward to them entering the elementary over the next few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2012

My daughter's graduated from KWCS. So thankful to have sent them there. Not only a great education book wise, but also great character as well. Now my grandchildren are going there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

I went to King's Way for 6th and most of 7th grade. The teachers are not informative, and in 6th grade, I was learning things I had learned in 3rd and 4th grade. In 7th grade, it would've saved money just to keep the same books we were using in 6th grade! They focus more on God then education, which I think is quite ridiculous. The girls are brainwashed into being submissive to men. And, if you don't go to the church and you are not 'in' with preacher and you're new, then you are not accepted. The teacher's children get treated better, if you go to the church you get special treatment. One thing I did enjoy about KWCS was the safe, small atmosphere and the fact that I knew most everyone and most everyone knew me. I feel sorry for the kids that have been there since K3 and are going to graduate from there, because honestly, when they get out into the world, it's going to spit in their face and eat them alive. No gifted options... Ridiculous school.


Posted November 6, 2011

My husband and I feel that KWCS is excellent for Hudson and our family. We are truly blessed to be parents! We realize the true value of Hudson s life, so by him attending KWCS, we believe he is being fulfilled spiritually and academically. God is very good to us, and we know that he has a hand in us finding KWCS. We are so thankful that we have crossed paths and are always looking forward to our future journey at KWCS. Everyday that Hudson is dropped off at school, our heart's smile - that is such a great and peaceful feeling for a mother and father to experience. We simply just want the very best for Hudson and our family. We want our son to continue to grow in his faith with God, as well as, achieve success in life by staying true to his morals and values. Since God blessed us in 2004 and allowed us to become a mother and a father, our mission has been to provide for Hudson to the best of our ability. Our children motivate us in ways that are indescribable. We want the very best for Hudson, and we feel in our hearts that we are getting what we are looking for at KWCS. Our son is in the first grade now, and next year our other son will start at KWCS K-5. Cheri F. McDonald
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

Having moved from another state the summer before our daughters senior year, we were on edge about finding the right school for her, being public or private, then we found Kings Way. The entire staff is amazing and they have taken our daughter in as though she was raised there. The staff has integrity, morals, christian character and a mutitude of other wonderful traits. Not to mention the fact that it is very affordable. I highly recommend KWCS to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

King's Way Christian is the oldest Christian school in Douglas County. We have really enjoyed it's heritage and history. They have a teach an abeka curriculum and have a strong emphasis on academics. I would recommend this school for it's Spiritual teachings, academics and heritage. I have also enjoyed greatschools.org for the information about all the local schools and would also like to recommend http://www.douglascountygeorgia.net for great Christian school reviews. Overall I give King's Way Christian School a 5 star rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

We love Kings Way, and the church. People are just that, people. Not perfect, but caring, and genuine in thier concern for the students,both in thier academic and spiritual lives. The Kings way church is doing well, ulike the comment I just read. They obviously have not been to the church. They just love people, all people. Kids are kids anywhere, but at KWCS, there is accountability and discipline. Coming from the public schools, its a dream. If you want a school you can change to fit your agenda, KWCS is not for your family. The standards will not change with the latest trends. Our children need stability, character, and discipline taught by people with a heart for such things, only God can give. Yes, Id say we love KWCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

At Kingsway academics, behavior, respect, christian attitude, self- disipline are all apart of the standards. Standards that are required from the involvement of students, parents and teachers. If character, respect and christian values are as important as a good education then I recommend Kingsway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

We are very pleased with Kings Way. My children came from public school and have adapted very well to the structured private school life with the help of the great staff. We are very happy our children are getting a great education along with a good Christian value system. Thanks KWCS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

The academic program is challenging for students. It allows children many public school experiences such as athletics, while concentrating on their academic and spiritual development. My children and I love Kingsways Christian School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

We love, love, love Kingsway Christian. It was important to us that our kids get a great education in a Christian environment and they get that at this school. The teachers are great - very accessible, and they genuinely care about their students. As private schools go, it's very affordable, too. I can't imagine sending my kids anywhere else. One thing though, the dress code is strict. No shorts for boys and no pants for girls - this includes parents attending school events as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 44%
Black 6% 40%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Asian 4% 2%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Ray Conway
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6456 The Kings Way
Douglasville, GA 30135
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 349-0812

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Alexander High School
Douglasville, GA






Yeager Middle School
Douglasville, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT