Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Douglas Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 622 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2012

LETS JUST SAY THE SCHOOL PROVIDES A FAR BETTER EXPERIENCE THAN WHAT THIS RATING PROVIDES. GOING FROM PRIVATE TO PUBLIC WAS A BIG DEAL FOR ME AND MY 4TH GRADER...HOWEVER, I THINK NDE PROVIDES A DESCENT STANDARD WHEN COMPARE TO OTHER PUBLIC SCHOOLS. SMALL CLASSROOM SIZE, FRIENDLY STAFF, SMALL TURNOVER OF TEACHERS, AND RELATIVE NEW SCHOOL, MY HUSBAND AND I ARE SATICFIED SO FAE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

My daughter was in the special needs pre-k program here both for the 3 year old and 4 year old class. She had the most amazing teacher, Mrs. Lindsay Day, who was very caring helpful, and supportive. The speech pathologist was great, and honestly the school in general was awesome. We were blessed that this is where our daughter was sent to do her pre-k.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2012

I'm very disappointed in this school. We unfortunately, moved into this district at the beginning of this school year. I have a 2nd grader and it seems as if they spend a good bit of time on the computer doing reading assignments. She attended another school in the county for a few weeks at the beginning of the school year and that school was wonderful. She had beautiful handwriting and was reading fluently after struggling just a bit in the first grade. All of that changed when she started at this school. Not to mention the bullying and carelessness of the office staff and teacher. This school needs to incorporate more reading programs into their curriculum. We will be moving into a better school district next school year. I wish I had found this site months ago before I sent her to this school. I'm also not a fan of the office staff including the principal at all. The policy on the bullying needs to be reevaluated and the kids should be made to feel safe while they are at school. Very disgusted!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2012

I really reserved my comments until the end of the year. So I have to say with one child being advanced and one with mental illness, they are not responsive enough and ill-equipped. I had to ask the teacher about advanced classes and was referred to the following school year. My other child who is challenged with mental illness has been referred out without my consent to alternative schools. They have staff work with her from other schools without my knowledge and when I ask they do not now the full name of the person and their judgment needs improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

I like North Douglas, both of my children attend this school. I have to say compared to the schools they were attending before this school definitely gets an A. My daughters are both excelling tremendously. I am not as involved, but I appreciate the correspondence from the teachers. We are able to communicate via phone and email. They are always awarding the students when they do well. This helps with self esteem as a child grows. Would definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

This is my son's second year at North Douglas Elem (1st grade). I am very impressed with this school. The first thing I noticed is that classrooms have an excellent student to teacher ratio. My son has excelled. They have a lot of parent involvement meetings and they have clubs for students to get involved in. I like N. Douglas so much that when I decided to move, I restricted myself to areas where he could continue to attend N. Douglas. There is definitely as sense of community. This school is highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

I don't know why there are so many negative reviews. Maybe the school has greatly improved over the years, but this year (2011) was my son's first year of school and he has been going to North Douglas. His kin. teacher is Mrs. Miller and she is AMAZING. I have met with a lot of the other teacher throughout this year and I must say the teachers really care and love their students. My son Loves going to school. The school also does a lot of fun things for the kids throughout the year. There is a lot of parent involvement and meetings! North Douglas is also a very clean and well set up school. My son had his classroom down within two days of going =) They also give a great lunch menu variety. I give this school all the stars and I'm sad that we have to move yet again, because my husband is in the military. If I had it my way, my son would attend this school until he was ready for middle school. I read these reviews at the beginning of the year and got nervous, but after going to open house I felt a whole lot better! Don't believe me, go check it out for yourself and I guarantee that you will like it =)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

North Douglas is a pretty good school. My child is in the first grade and the teachers in first grade are wonderful! They really care about the kids! I especially love how friendly the first grade teachers are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Principal and Asst Principal are non-responsive. It is very difficult to get 504 or SST in place because of this. There is no communication from Art, Music, or PE teachers with regards to curriculum, student performance, etc. School is not equipped to deal with children with mental illness. Teachers do not encourage children to excel, and strongly discourage testing for gifted education, even when it is clear that it is necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

I think North Douglas isn't a bad school. This is my daughter's third year at the school and she has been lucky to have very good teachers. I do feel like others the school could offer more challenging activities at the school. My other major problem is the schools lack of communication when incidents occur at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

I am very dissatisfied with the efforts of my child's teacher. I believe there are a lot of improvements that can be made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

I am an active parent who stays involved with the progress of my child and I like to work close with teachers to ensure my child has a fair chance at a quality education. The only thing I have experienced with most of his teachers are adults with short fuses who are only interested in showing how mean and hateful they can be instead of letting my child know that they could be approached when they are needed the most. My child is not even comfortable with asking his teacher for help in fear he will be yelled at or ignored when he raises his hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

The Teachers in 4th grade are horrible. They have no tolerance for children and no patience. They don't show love towards them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

I think North Douglas is awesome. The teachers go above and beyond to help the students. My child loves going to school everyday. His teacher is educated and I am proud to send my child to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

So far my child has had a good experience in the 3rd grade. I think the technology or lack there of is a big issue. I would like to no what is the school doing to hire better teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

I would unabashedly agree with the previous responses in reference to the aforementioned school. My three children attend this school and have since its inception. Since the school began i have felt very disconnected. My children are not allowed to talk during lunch and they seldom have recess. I look forward to removing my children from this school as i feel it's impeding their learning process. A terrible school to say the least. And it seems whenever there's a pta meeting it's cancelled. There hasnt been one all year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

This is my 5th grade daughter's first year at North Douglas. I am very dissatisafied with the learning environment at this school. My daughter's teacher is awesome in that she tries to meet my daughter's needs, as well as other students. She takes the time to address any concerns I have. My complaint is not with her. In fact, the school needs more teachers like her. However, the school lacks technology, extra-curricular activities, as does a poor job in communicating with the parents. As an educator, I am very aware of the things this school is lacking. The school certainly needs to implement and enforce a school-wide behavior plan. What's even worse, my daughter is constantly saying how little she feels she is learning. This school is less that 5 years old.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

Some of the Teachers are too timid and some too under-educated with not much experience. Some of the teachers know how to teach one way but don't no how to make the kids learn. The school should have started with computers in the classes. This day in time computers are needed. The principal and insistent principal are nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

My 10 year old daughter attends this school and I am trying to find a way to get her out of it. There is no outlets for these kids and they cant even talk during lunch. They have no recess and the teachers and staff are not putting the kids or parents best interests to heart. Beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

My children have attended this new school since it opened two years ago. I would not recommend this school to anyone who is grooming your child for college. Only a few of the teachers have actually taught for more than 5 years. I have found no open, consistent communication. Teachers will not go thru great lengths to challenge and motivate. It is quite obvious they are just there to receive a paycheck. There are two teachers that actually have the passion that i was seeking. Students do not take art and music throught out the year, only a few weeks of the school year, which hinders creativity. Students are not engaged in computer learning that is necessary in today's world. Foreign languages are not taught. Absolutely no extracuricular activities. The principal is nice, but is definitely running a below mediocre.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

79 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

79 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

79 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

103 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

103 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

103 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 37%
Hispanic 19% 12%
White 11% 44%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Fran Davis
Fax number
  • (770) 920-4590

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1630 Dorris Rd
Douglasville, GA 30134
Phone: (770) 651-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heirway Christian Academy
Douglasville, GA





St. Rose Academy
Douglasville, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT