Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brighten Academy

Charter | K-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

282 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

Charter School of the Year 2014. My son has attended this school since K. We got in through the lottery system. It has been a great experience. The administration is caring, involved, and really tries to make learning fun. My experience is that all are treated equal! This school is by far the best option in Douglas county for Elementary and Middle school. My second son will start K next year and we are happy to be a Brighten Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

Brighten Academy is an OK school, the hype of everyone wanting to get their child in, has a lot of individual thinking it has to be an awesome school. I have 2 children that attend B.A., I'm active every week volunteering. As far as I can see by volunteering very few of the teachers there genuinely cares. But some of the teachers aren't as caring and loving as they seem on the first day/week. Yes, there's favoritism going on there also mostly the teachers children. The administration is easy to deal with but unorganized. As for as my son's teacher, she's an OK teacher but a little lazy gives students very little of her attention, she seems out of it sometimes. I like my daughter's teacher she's active, alert, and a great teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

I have worked at Brighten Academy ASP program for 5 years, and I have found the teachers at Brighten to be very loving and caring. I have also watched the Principal with the students, and I love the way she interacts with the students. There is always something exciting going on at Brighten. It's a great place to work or attend school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 21, 2013

favoritism is the goal of this school. Teachers should be fair to every student regardless of color, gender or ethnic group. thank you. hope fully they will change for better future. especially especially teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

I give Brighten 3 stars because i went there for 4 years and when I left, they were still very unorganized. Many of my teachers were rude to me on a daily basis. They had an extreme amount of favoritism towards students, especially with students whose parents also worked at the school. I loved 5th grade, but middle school was horrible. I am glad I decided not to go into the IB program, because all of my friends that did were highly unprepared and need/have tutors. I have 4 friends who have dropped out of the IB program because they felt unprepared and were failing the majority of their classes. They have an unstable staff and administration. Th only reason my mom allowed me to continue going to Brighten was because I wanted to continue my friendships with my peers.


Posted September 19, 2012

I am currently a freshman in high school, in the Pre-IB Program. I attended this school since it began, and I was just in 3rd Grade. I must say, this school prepared me so well. Sure, the campus is a little small, but the teaching quality is excellent and I recommend it to children of all ages. The staff is caring and kind and they do all that they can to ensure that their students achieve greatness. If you're a parent and you want your child to go to a safe, kind school that also provides an incredible education, Brighten is the way to go. If you have a child who is interested in AP or IB courses in high school, their middle school is exceptional. Douglas County High School, housing the IB Program, knows who Brighten is, and Brighten has a very high acceptance rate into that program. I do not regret 1 day of the six years I spent at that school.


Posted August 2, 2012

My children went to Brighten -let me say the school is not so Bright.The staff is in particular very unprofessional,they are inconsistent with their discipline,They have these 7 C's that are a joke. There in No P.E, no real Music, No real Art,,just because its Charted does not mean it is always better.They hire unqualified, deaf teachers ,really hearing imparied,for middle schoolers. As a family we constantly felt the pressure to donate money,and felt belittled if we didnt give as much as the other families,whom were given apples on a tree for the whole school to see. Education is not their first priority.I know I am jumping all around,but sorry its the truth, the playground,what playground, a old basketball court held down with a giant rock and dirt in a circle also its the parking lot,the tiny lunchroom is the gymnasium,but the kindegartan room is the biggest by far!The parents are the janitors for volunteer hours wether working full time or not.But if you want to volunteer and work for the county they require a statewide background check. and want you to pay for it,to chaparone,its halarious,unless your VIP in the click WHITE.


Posted March 12, 2012

My child has attended this school for 3 years and it has progressively decreased in terms of standards.They are very good on educating in math, language arts and some science but lack in other areas. The uniform code is not enforced with some, but overly enforced with others; the same goes with the discipline code and the tardy policy. They do have their favorites and they do not hide it. In the younger grades you are encouraged to volunteer in the classroom and the teachers welcome you, but the older they get they less they want you in their classroom and prefer your money and sweat for your 15 hrs in volunteer credit, if you work fulltime you can forget it. Because of a lack of funding they ask you for money weekly and you are pressured to give it. I would equate it to a percentage of private school tution without signing a contract. They lack true afterschool activities and you are charged monthly for the ones you elect. They are truly lacking in art, band and PE- No real playground, outside toys to play with or musical instruments. This school does not make your child a well rounded individual because there is so much to be desired socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

I am writing about our experience of Brighten, we have moved away now from Douglasville, and wish we could go back, or Brighten and its teachers and staff could come to us. Our children loved their school and therefore as parents, we loved it to. They couldn't wait to get to school every morning and that showed in their attendance records and their learning. The teachers were fabulous and very committed to helping our children, the standard of education was huge leaps ahead of the local county schools which we experienced first. Our kids loved their 'special classes'. We, as parents, loved the extra curricular 7 C's which the children worked really hard on. A school for me, is not just not a school or a place of childcare, its a place of education where I can know my children will be safe and cared for, we trust the staff 100%, therefore we would recommend this school to you all. Thank you Brighten Staff for everything you have done for our children, they had a great start to their elementary education and we hope they will carry their values you taught them and experience with them always.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2011

Bad experience with this school which became progressively worse the longer we stayed (years). Children as young as five and six are suspended, even if they are only reacting to bullies, but the bullies get to stay. A majority of teachers who label and ignore both students and parents. Administration which doesn't listen to the majority of parents, but rather to a small group of them. Constantly low on funds equals constant pressure on parents to give money or feel guilty and be ostracized. Huge gaps in learning, too much focus on testing. Advanced classes that are a joke, slower classes which are worse. Cliques among teachers, administration, and parents. No cooking facilities, must bring a lunch that meets their standards (no microwaving, no carbonation, no sweets), or buy the food that is shipped in from another school. Tiny play area that can't support all the children. Uniform code that isn't enforced, and which is allowably skipped at least twice a week (per administration), even though uniform wearing was one of their big selling points. Only a few children are their actual priority; the rest are on their own. Skip this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

My four-year-old daughter just started in Brighten's pre-k program and she LOVES it! My son just started his second year at Brighten and he is doing so well. The staff involves you in your child's education and really cares about your child's learning and development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

Brighten Academy's preschool program is a joke. They have unrealistic expactation for children. Their method of dealing with children is suspending them. SUSPENDING THREE YEAR OLDS on the first full day of school! The teachers are not equipped to handle all ranges of student personalities. High spirited children who take a little extra time to get the hang of things are singled out and labled bad. It is absurd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

Brighten is a wonderful school with a terrific staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

We love the dedication and support from teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

Great teachers/staff support and vision, parents involvment and students enthusiasm and desire to suceed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

fantastic school and great math program!


Posted November 12, 2010

The school has great teachers and awesome parents. They work well together to make the children successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

Brighten Academy is a great Charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

The teachers at Brighten are the bomb!


Posted November 11, 2010

Awesome...it's all awesome!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

36 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

36 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

36 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

36 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

36 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

36 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

46 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 44%
Black 31% 37%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/A51%
Female 51%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3264 Brookmont Pkwy
Douglasville, GA 30135
Phone: (770) 615-3680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Chapel Hill Middle School
Douglasville, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT