Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Douglasville, GA
Students enrolled: 519
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brighten Academy 1

Posted July 18, 2015
- a community member
Nepotism at it best. Students parents all seem to be a click in the county. Do not have the best interest of students in the county as a whole but only for their small group

Brighten Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
They need MALE ADMINISTRATORS at the school., they have all female administrators. It would be great if the students could see a man walking through the school other than three male teachers. Also, there is favoritism amongst some of the staff and their children. Favoritism with teachers and some of the staff members children. Also, some students get discipline referrals while others slide under the radar.


Brighten Academy 3

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
My children attend Brighten Academy. The education is good for elementary students,however,the middle school is small and the test scores are very low in math for middle school students. The school does NOT have a playground for the kids yet, so they play on an open field. Also, the director of the school should really reinforce the uniform policy, starting with her own children. Some of the students at Brighten come to school not in dress code., for example, the shirt is baggy/ faded, shoes are multicolored/bright colored. The students may be wearing the uniform colors, but some of them look very sloppy this includes elementary and middle school students. All students should look "uniformed." There is favoritism at the school amongst staff children,I have seen it first hand. The school does ask for money seems like every month, and it will drive you crazy but they are a charter school, and they require that you pay for your child to participate in field day at the end of the year,or they can't participate. Field day is FREE at other schools.

Brighten Academy 3

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
My child has attended this school for several years. They are very good on educating in math, language arts and some science but lack in other areas. The uniform code is not enforced with some, but overly enforced with others; the same goes with the discipline code and the tardy policy. They do have their favorites and they do not hide it. In the younger grades you are encouraged to volunteer in the classroom and the teachers welcome you, but the older they get they less they want you in their classroom and prefer your money and sweat for your 20 hrs in volunteer credit, if you work fulltime you can forget it. Single parent doesn't change your hours either. Because of a lack of funding they ask you for money on a regular basis and you are pressured to give it. I would equate it to a percentage of private school tution without signing a contract. After school activities are accompanied by a month my fee. They do currently have a sports programs are developing the fields on their new property. The art, band, and Spanish programs have improved bc of the additional space. The middle school is still somewhat sheltered but it is a charter school.

Brighten Academy
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
I can't state strongly agree because there it's a tremendous amount of favoritism in the school


Brighten Academy 1

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
Some of the teachers aren't as caring and loving as they seem on the first day/week. Yes, there's favoritism going on there, mostly the teachers children and the parents that do not work and are at the school more often than others. The administration is easy to deal with but unorganized. This school has a tremendous amount of discipline referrals for African American boys. The teachers do NOT know how to differentiate to accommodate the different learners in their classrooms, therefore the students get bored because they are not engaged in anything but a lecture. The days of standing at the board and writing are over. After you suggest something to them, they are not open to implementing the suggestion.This school has mostly Caucasian teacher, who I feel do not know the meaning of classroom management or they are not interested in teacher ALL children. (I'd like to think classroom management was the problem). But , it's not the case. Look elsewhere...
2 people found this helpful

Brighten Academy 5

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
Charter School of the Year 2014. My son has attended this school since K. We got in through the lottery system. It has been a great experience. The administration is caring, involved, and really tries to make learning fun. My experience is that all are treated equal! This school is by far the best option in Douglas county for Elementary and Middle school. My second son will start K next year and we are happy to be a Brighten Family.

Brighten Academy 3

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
Brighten Academy is an OK school, the hype of everyone wanting to get their child in, has a lot of individual thinking it has to be an awesome school. I have 2 children that attend B.A., I'm active every week volunteering. As far as I can see by volunteering very few of the teachers there genuinely cares. But some of the teachers aren't as caring and loving as they seem on the first day/week. Yes, there's favoritism going on there also mostly the teachers children. The administration is easy to deal with but unorganized. As for as my son's teacher, she's an OK teacher but a little lazy gives students very little of her attention, she seems out of it sometimes. I like my daughter's teacher she's active, alert, and a great teacher.
2 people found this helpful


Brighten Academy 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a teacher
I have worked at Brighten Academy ASP program for 5 years, and I have found the teachers at Brighten to be very loving and caring. I have also watched the Principal with the students, and I love the way she interacts with the students. There is always something exciting going on at Brighten. It's a great place to work or attend school.

Brighten Academy 1

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
favoritism is the goal of this school. Teachers should be fair to every student regardless of color, gender or ethnic group. thank you. hope fully they will change for better future. especially especially teachers.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brighten Academy
3264 Brookmont Pkwy, Douglasville, GA  30135
(770) 615-3680
Last modified Brighten Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brighten Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 295 reviews. Top