Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Factory Shoals Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 837 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2014

I am a student that recently attended this school. I didn't appreciate how the students were acting and couldn't help notice how the teachers has no idea of how to control them. If I were a parent, I would not allow my child to go to this middle school.


Posted January 14, 2013

I absolutely love this school! I feel like my teachers did push me and want the best for me. They were always there to help; even if is was just one question on a homework assignment that i couldn't figure out 10 minutes before i had to turn it in. I also feel like there is no social oppression in that school. No one is categorized by popular and not so cool. Everyone fits in. I also have to say that we are the best school in Douglas County when it comes to sports. I would definetly recommend sending your child to Factory Shoals.


Posted July 16, 2012

i need grades of my son Victor Alejandro Figueroa Cortes im Victor Father, the reason is because we move to another city in georgia, and i dont receive yet de grades notes my new address is 2351 Spring Haven Dr. Apt 201 Gainesville G.A 30504.thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

Factory Shoals Middle School is a great school! My son has attended since 2010 and is now a 7th grader. Teachers challenge the students to work hard and some (not all) even offer free tutoring. I must say, anytime I have had an issue, I have been able to work with school administrators to get questions and concerns answered, working towards complete resolution. The principal is James K. Allen who believes in structure, high achievement and strongly encourages parent involvement. Because of Mr. Allen beliefs, the environment is very structured, organized and there is complete control of students at FSMS. There is a strictly enforced dress code, encouraging students to be neat at all times. Thank goodness for this! From the schools head counselor Emily Felton, to teachers like Bill Trisler who take time out to tutor Math students, Mrs. Phillips(6th ELA), Mrs. Long(6th Math) who are always loving the children as their own, and the Band Director Mr. Jackson for being firm, but believing these children can and will succeed, I am very pleased as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

I have to say, as a parent of two children that have attended the school, it is a great school. I have one that has already moved on from the school with honors and one still attending. They both have had great teachers but, this is also because we are very active parents in their education. Everything starts at home and if you don't take the time to get involved with the teacher and let them know that you are active, just with anything else, the teacher may or may not do what they are supposed to do. I have nothing but great things to say about FSMS and the teachers. You can't always judge something by some one elses views. You can go to the school and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

This school is such a better place than the negative reviews i've read. My chilf is a 6th grader & the experience has been great. Administrators care about the kids & have a great staff to support them. the students are first priority for everyone @ FSMS. Don't go by reviews, stop by and see it for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2010

We have experienced unethical behavior of a teacher, from retaliation, distortion of the truth and the list goes on and on. Our concerns are currently going through the chain of command. As a parent we have the ability to change things by bringing awareness of staff misconduct and hold the violators of unethical behavior accountable for their actions. I would like to see the staff receive annual education in ethics and diversity awareness. I foresee a greater future for Factory Shoals and Douglas County Schools System as they increase their level of standard for their teachers, staff and students to better prepare the students for the future, academically, multiplicity and ethically. Our children are the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

I am a student that attend this school now.I have read some of these reviews and I can say I only found one of these to be true.This school is excellent.Its a very challenging environment but your child will get use to it.I know this because I just moved here from another state so I would know best.The counselors are there to help you whenever possible.At the beginning of school they encouraged you to come see them whenever possible.I also can say that there are a couple of teachers that can get a really quick attitude but most recently its only because its the end of the day and they are ready to go home.They are very eager to help us get a good education and have a healthy learning environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

I am very disappointed with this school. The teachers do not have control of the students. They in no way let parents know what is going on. There is a site you can go to in order to monitor your students grades but its rarely updated. And by the time it is, there is little a parent can do because none of the teachers will take late work. Middle school is hard enough on teachers and students without this total lack of communication. It is as if they have no interest in helping a child learn and move on. I am working disparately to get me child in a different district. I have requested several times that my child talk to a counselor only to have my emails and phone calls ignored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

This school is a Mess I am a student who used to attend here.The school is so unorganized! some of the teachers know how to teach but most of them don't. they have way to many behavior problems and do not know how to handle them So parents please do not let your child go to this school!


Posted December 23, 2008

I was hopeful that when this school was built that perhaps DC would finally have a top rated MS. However, I've been disappointed. The staff are rude to the children. Some teachers have reached their tenure and should retire because of their bad attitudes. OMG! The children NEVER seem to have enough homework to keep them challenged. The PC program does not offer the differientiated curriculum that we were expecting. I hope DC BOE really takes a good look at each and every school and makes significant changes. Oh...this district really needs to offer training in diversity awareness to all administrators-need I say more?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

This new facility in Douglas County has the bells and whistles for technology - well, the most advanced that public dollars in GA will support. I have found that the PTA is working hard to communicate with parents to enhance the new facility. Parent involvement is key to make this school better. Science & math scores for the county are disappointingly low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

The school is VERY new and NEEDS community support. There are several areas of concern with school, i.e. communication with parents, discipline and methodology of discipline, low academic standards for students, and no reward system for children doing well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

276 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 75% 37%
White 11% 44%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3301 Shoals School Rd
Douglasville, GA 30135
Phone: (770) 651-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Brighten Academy
Douglasville, GA


Lithia Christian Academy
Lithia Springs, GA


Colonial Hills School
Lithia Springs, GA


Chapel Hill Middle School
Douglasville, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT