Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chapel Hill Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
Thanks to the entire CHES Elementary teaching staff. Great job with our kids, you're hard work does not go unnoticed.

Chapel Hill Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
My son is only in first grade so the packet he receives is perfect. I feelfeel like work should be done in school and only sent home if not finished at school or review work. I don't think a lot of homework helps kids or boost grades.


Chapel Hill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
There are quite a few kids at this school with disabilities and autism and the staff does a good job with teaching the kids about the difference and how to be respectful and helpful.

Chapel Hill Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
I love the reward programs in place that helps develop good character traits. They have the power print, autograph book and the big board where you are constantly reminded that you did a good deed.

Chapel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
This is only my son's second year at CHES and so far so good. Academically I have no complaints and I love the fact that they do most of the work at school instead of bombarding them with a ton of homework like I hear from other schools. The learning environment is pretty nice... everything is not so structured. The staff is pretty nice as well and very friendly and caring. I have met some great parents here and the PTA does a good job of putting events together for the kids so that's nice. Overall I think this is a great public school and I would recommend CHES Elementary to anyone.


Chapel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
I'm new to Douglasville, but the school's reputation was renown. Although, I knew no one I felt my 3rd and 4th grader would he in good hands. So far, all is well academically, socially and emotionally. Five stars for this large family environment.

Chapel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
We are in our 4th year with CHES and have 2 children attending. Our experience has been a great one. The teachers and staff work hard for the kids and are friendly and caring. The teachers challenge the students at an appropriate level and the curriculum is generally well though out. The proof is in the pudding as they say, and both of our children continue to learn and grow and are very happy with the school. We had an opportunity to move away, but did not, and this school was one of the reasons.

Chapel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
This is my second year at this school. My daughter now attends. She is in Kindergarten and my son is in 1st. I was fortunate to have the same teacher for my daughter that my son had last year. I love my son's first grade teacher. I love the communication that this school has with the parents. If I have any questions there is a response that same day. My kids are learning soooo much stuff.


Chapel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
I had my reservations about my daughter attending a public school. But, I am thankful she is a part of Chapel Hill Elementary. They have proved to be a great school!

Chapel Hill Elementary School 4

Posted July 30, 2013
- a parent
Clearly the rating of a "6" does not reflect the quality of this school. Parent involvement is outstanding. My second grader last school year past the CRCT he does not have to take until this year. I think that speaks to the quality of education provided.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chapel Hill Elementary School
4433 Coursey Lake Rd, Douglasville, GA  30135
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (770) 651-3600
Last modified Chapel Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top