Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beulah Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

I am so glad that all three of my children has gone to this school especially ever since it started the dual program Spanish immersion my kids started learning Spanish. Which I think is awesome the staff are great every single one that I have met :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

I went to Beulah as a child and I am here to say that this was one of my two favorite schools (George Walton Comprehensive High School is the other.). They offered some very interesting classes for an elementary school, such as French class. I can't speak very much for this school in real time, however, when I was a student enrolled in Beulah it was an amazing experience.


Posted May 22, 2014

Beulah Elementary School is the BEST!! My son has been at Beulah since kindergarten and is graduating 5th grade tomorrow!! To think about not having to come back next year is heartbreaking to say the least. From the principal, vice principal, office manager, ladies that work in the front office, library clerks, EVERY SINGLE TEACHER, even the ones that we didn't have, the cafeteria workers, janitor staff...EVERYONE is AWESOME!! If we ever had an issue that needed to be addressed with the principal or vice principal, it was always handled the day of or the next day. Very rarely, have we ever had to meet with the principal, but when we did, the conversation was very positive. Beulah Elementary school is filled with lots of loving, caring, encouraging staff that really do care about each and every child. It makes us feel good to know that even a teacher that we didn't have, knows our child by name, knows the parents/guardian that the child belongs with. As we leave Beulah tomorrow, a piece of our heart will ALWAYS be within those walls!! Thank you Beulah for always being there with a smile, hug, or just an encouraging word for each/every student or parent that enters your building!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2012

I love Beulah. I have a 4th, 2nd & new Kindergardener! They have all started there in K and have had various teachers. All 3 of them are in the Immersion Program & have to stay I am thrilled that they are learning Spanish & English everyday. The teachers are awesome, the leadership & office workers are very personable! We love Beulah! I have found the teachers really love to work there & are involved in activities outside of the school! My kids have had (Mrs. Munos, Mrs. Ooten, Mrs. Hutchinson, Mrs. Burgos, Mrs. Sailors, Mrs. Garcia, Mrs. Gist, Mrs. Jaglinski, Mrs. Rousch, Mrs. Miller, Mrs. Moore, are all exceptional)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

I have to say that my experience with the school has been nothing short of excellent. Both the Principal, Mrs Miller and Assistant Principal, Ms. Algeran are very involved with all the aspects of the school, even giving up weekends to promote school pride. My son has had excellent teachers in k, 1st and now 2nd.( Ms Rush/Ms Poole, Mrs Thomas, Mrs Coker) I could not have asked for a better school. It feels more like a small community school then one of the many in the Douglas County School System.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

My child attended Beulah Elementary for 3 terms and I was very impressed with all of her teachers. Her 1st, 2nd and 3rd grade teachers- Mrs. Greene, Mrs. Coker and Ms. Phillips were all Gems and an asset to any school. My child loved them all and was very sad to leave Beulah. I hope her teachers at New Manchester Elementary are just as great and involved with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2006

Considering all the junk teachers have to do that don't have anything to do with teaching; they do their best to reach students. Many parents are involved and many are not. Involved meaning that they help their child with homework (not just show up for PTA meetings once a month)The discipline could be handled with a bit more firmness. The OR program just does not work for most of the students who deserve to be punished. The leadership is very good about keeping parents updated and they are willing to work with parents regarding reasonable issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

The teachers are great. The principal is very rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

This year my child transferred from paulding county schools to douglas, and i feel that they are not as involved as far as teachers are concerned. There has been incidents when helping my with homework he explains that the teacher will not explain it to him,she tells him to read the directions? Isn't this the reason we have teachers, is to teach our kids how to do things the correct way?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

I think the school needs some improvement I rather my child to go back to Cobb County schools because the were so much better. And also Douglas County has grew out of room for the little kids to have pre-k. I think Cobb is better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2005

Ditto for most of what was said, however I believe the AP is better than was given credit. Mrs. Waller does an excellent job of communicating with the parents and shows a true desire to help all the children. From the activities I participated in, the children seem to love the Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

Beulah basically does a great job. Ms. Patterson, the school counselor, is awesome with the kids. My child's teacher, 3rd Grade, Ms. Nesbitt is great, her encouragement and praise to students to do well means alot to my child. My child loves school and the media center, which I find to be very good. The principal/vp are apathetic towards parents concerns. Our conerns are not deemed important to the administration, unless you are on the upper spectrum of the financial bracket. The test scores aren't great and the school seems to put added pressure on the students when test time rolls around. The push to study for the test should be reviewed all year, not just before the test. The PTA does a great job. Special need students do get help but I feel more could be done for them. The constant switching of the special needs counselor doesn't help matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

73 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

73 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

73 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

76 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

76 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

76 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 12%
White 29% 44%
Black 22% 37%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sheila Miller
Fax number
  • (770) 651-3317

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1150 S Burnt Hickory Rd
Douglasville, GA 30134
Phone: (770) 651-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Burnett Elementary School
Douglasville, GA


St. Rose Academy
Douglasville, GA



Lithia Christian Academy
Lithia Springs, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT