Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Douglasville, GA
Students enrolled: 411

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dorsett Shoals Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2014
- a parent
DSES is a fantastic school! The environment is warm and friendly. I love the new security system in place. The front desk does a great job reinforcing it, which makes me feel at ease. The teachers are easy to talk to, even the custodians. I especially like our coach, Coach Epstein. Since coming on board two years ago he has done a tremendous job with our PE and road runners program. He does a great job informing us of events. The parents are awesome too. I met a lot of good people here that put the students first. Would be nice if we offered outdoor field trips besides just PC, and more creative games & events at the Fall Festival. Overall great school!

Dorsett Shoals Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
This is our first year at this school and I love it. The staff is friendly and easy to approach about anything..Each year the school test scores improve and they treat us like family. I hate that we are losing our principal Dr, Kacia Thompson; she is awesome. She really cares and loves the children They really celebrate the child. .


Dorsett Shoals Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2013
- a parent
I love DSES since moving to GA my kids have never felt more welcome in a school than this one I had an opportunity to put my kids in Bill Arp but I felt like this school was so much better suited for them and familial like. I drive them to school daily and I don't mind. They really teach the whole child and always give praise and accolades to the students! And I just love Mrs. Patty!

Dorsett Shoals Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2010
- a parent
I love Dorsett Shoals Elementary because it is like a family. The staff is amazing! My child has been here since kindergarten and I wouldn't want him to go anyplace else. It ROCKS!

Dorsett Shoals Elementary School 4

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
Dorsett Shoals is consistently thinking outside the box to provide students with the best education. They really bring together the entire school through functions and class activities.


Dorsett Shoals Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Our staff is amazing. They work hard to make a difference in the lives of the children at Dorsett Shoals Elementary. We work together with parents and students to make our school a family. :-) Dorsett Shoals rocks!!!

Dorsett Shoals Elementary School 4

Posted October 12, 2008
- a parent
Great school with warm and caring teachers. I'm also impressed with the after school program. My children are doing much better (homework) in asp than they were in the daycare they used to go to.

Dorsett Shoals Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 12, 2008
- a parent
Thank you Mrs. Brewer for making 2007-08 a wonderful year for my family! When we transferred back to Douglas who knew that we would hit the jackpot receiving you as our prize for Jacob! I sincerely appreciate all your hard work and dedication as a teacher, and the support you have given to me as a parent! Dorsett Shoals is very lucky to count you as a member of their staff!


Dorsett Shoals Elementary School 4

Posted April 05, 2008
- a parent
I have had great experiences with all of the teachers and staff at this school. I have two children (3rd and K). My 3rd grader has attended for three years, and I am pleased with the progress they have both made at this school.

Dorsett Shoals Elementary School 1

Posted January 27, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dorsett Shoals Elementary School
5866 Dorsett Shoals Rd, Douglasville, GA  30135
(770) 651-3700
Last modified Dorsett Shoals Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dorsett Shoals Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top