Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bright Star Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2013

I am a fifth grade student at Bright Star and I think that my shool is awsome. The teachers are great, and they listen to the students. They are also great role models. The principal and vice principal are also great role models and they reward the students for good behavior. I'm sad that at the end of the year i have to leave to go to middle school, but I am also thankful for the all the help from the teachers.


Posted September 13, 2011

The principal appeases the parents when there is an issue, instead of listening to all sides(teacher, child, parent). She should take a firm stance to parents about their child's behavior. She acts like a friend than an authority figure. Lack of parent involvement in the older grades. Most of the teachers are really great, but some gossiped about their students or staff, so be careful- never know who is listening. Great scores and dedicated teachers for the most part! Please take the criticism to improve because this could be an awesome school.


Posted September 25, 2008

Bright Star Elementary works very hard to be the extension of the home it students come from. Mrs. McGill is the principal, but id more like the school's mom. She loves each and every student as if they were her own. Every teacher at Bright Star works hard to continually improve their skills and the depth of knowledge they are instilling within the students. We have 3 children and have been at Bright Star for 11 yrs. now. It is our second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

My children came in at the end of the year after a difficult year.Brightstar and especially mrs taylor in 2nd grade along with the 5th grade teachers have made sure my students were on level and I am informed at all times! It has been a good experience and it seems to get better every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

Hats off to Ms. Hutchinson. She is the best. When my son stared this year he couldn't read a single word. Now, thanks to Ms. Hutchinson he is reading well over 100 word and is eager to learn more. She is just wonderful!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

My wife and I love this school for our son, who's in Mrs. Doxey's kindergarden class. She is an absolute angel and, after our highly disappointing and stressful experience with Brighten Academy, we found Bright Star to be exactly what our son needed. He's gotten perfect marks for conduct every day and is being groomed for the Challenge program. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

I wasn't too pleased when my child started this school and still not. The is the school my child has to go because of where we now reside. When you've had the best anything is less. We were with a previous school and everything as far as the quality of academic programs & extracurricular activities and parent involvment was an A+. I think a lot what contributed to their success and what Brightstar needs to borrwo a page from them is their wonderful staff. It starts from the front end. Anything to make the parents life a little easier. A big turn off for me was the after school program and the staff/procedures. School will be starting soon and the staff isn't there for Q&A, it's not organized and definetly not friendly.Hopefully they will take this constructive critism and work towards a better schooling for parents/teachers and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2006

My child has attended Bright Star since kindergarten. I worked as a sub there since he started school. Bright Star teachers are professional, hardworking, and genuinely concerned about the academic success of their students. Reading and writing are vitally important for life; not just for test scores. Administrators and teachers want children to be able to read. The media specialist excels at encouraging reading with various activities all year. She visits classrooms regularly to read to students. Parent involvement could be better, but most parents probably work and can't be at school during the day. There aren't a lot of extracurricular activities, but teachers cannot do it alone. I've seen teachers stay very late doing planning, preparation and grading papers. Most spend a lot of personal money on supplies. If parents want festivals and such, I'm sure the PTA would be grateful for volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2006

I use to attend Bright Star when it first opened and it was by far the best school around. Wonderful teachers, great test scores, and such friendly staff. But now I have a younger sister attending Bright Star and I have noticed a significant decrease in how great the school is. There aren't any after school activities like festivals and they have no control over the kids.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 8, 2005

I have a child in K5 at Bright Star Elementary. I Have found it to be huge disappointment. There is no control over children with behavior problems. So the squeaky wheel gets the oil rings true in this situation. There is very little one on one time. Also I have found that most faculty are burned out. At one time this school was a wonderful place to have your children. But then again maybe its just a sign of the times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2004

The school itself academically is great. The staff is wonderful. As far as doing anything for the kids, they don't. No fall festivals, or anything. If it doesn't make money for the school then they don't do it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I love this school and everyone that works in Bright Star. I feel very comfortable when my child is at this school knowing they will take care of him for me at all times and how they are willing to always give a hand in helping me through the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

89 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

89 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

89 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

54 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

54 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

54 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 60% 37%
White 23% 44%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6300 John West Rd
Douglasville, GA 30134
Phone: (770) 651-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ashford Academy
Douglasville, GA




Heirway Christian Academy
Douglasville, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT