Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Duluth High School

Public | 9-12

We are best known for excellence in academics.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2013

I have a hard time digesting fees for sports/activities then lackluster coaching in some areas and No AC in the gym!!!. Parents pay hundreds... and hundreds of dollars on top of in excess of $3k in taxes to be in this district. We should be competitive and up to date in all areas. Everyone who Pays ... Plays isn't the best Winning strategy. Additionally, we need MORE supervision at Football Games. The riff raff and fighting is appalling. This is Duluth... NOT the "hood".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I think that the review posted by the student on June 7, 2013, is very aptly put. Not only that, the fact that this student is able to communicate more effectively than many adults on this website whose children go to other schools speaks volumes. Our son has gone to Duluth for two years; he's beginning his junior year. DHS has a culture where students are encouraged to get outside of their comfort zone in order to reach a little higher academically. Not only that, but many of the students here evidently come from homes where they're encouraged to be good students; to show respect for the school and the staff (and each other, to a large extent.) We have been very happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

I am a graduate of DHS in the class of '12 and have attended the school for 4 years. I've always felt that DHS allows you to be whatever you want to be. If you want to achieve excellence, there will be many teachers to support you. However, if you choose to fail, there will be no one to try to 'help you out' if you simply don't want to try. Graduated students who are accepted into Emory, UPenn, and Berkeley have all taken advantages of all the resources available. Of course, there will always be the druggies and gansters (in every school). I've always felt that DHS is "down to earth" and reflects a very accurate view of the world of education. There is a great diversity in academics, sports, and social statuses. There is not much pressure to conform(like preppy private schools) since students there are so unique from each other, and thus, students display their true personality. If a parent wants his/her child to enroll in a good school, but not a preppy school with snooty kids, I would highly recommend DHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2011

Excellent teachers. Good diversity of student population. Good track record of Ivy league placements of DHS grads.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2011

I curently go here and hate it! Everything is about saving money and test scores. It doesnt matter what you actually know as long as the school is getting money for your test scores. Teachers are underpaid and grumpy. Most of them dont want to be here as much as the students. One teacher even made me cry. So many of the students are awful and mean as can be. One kid will just go up and punch people, and he stocks like every girl in the school, but he is still here! The administrasion should not allow those things to go on but they do. I would not recomind Duluth to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2011

I attended DHS all 4 years of highschool and graduated in 2006..i really enjoyed it! Not because of a "great teaching staff" or "amazing athletics" or anything like that, i just really enjoyed being on an open campus and walking outside between classes. I did have some teachers that i remember and appreciate but overall duluth is OK when it comes to paying attention to students. I did well with grades but when i wasn't doing well nobody seemed to care but i mean EVERY single student can't get attention. Although Duluth hs has it's flaws, like every school, i do think its a good school overall!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2010

I have 2 children, both of whom were in the gifted program and graduated from DHS in 2008 and 2009. One child has a full scholarship at a university ranked by US News & World Report as one of the 10 best universities in the country, where he is on the honor roll. My other child has the HOPE scholarship and attends GA State University. Her university freshman English teacher read her first paper to the class as a model of what a good paper should be like. The academics are first rate. The teachers are very involved and very dedicated. The physical plant is in good shape; a new building was opened 2 years ago. I have never seen a more diverse student body. DHS has members of more ethnic groups than I can think of, and economic levels from gated, golf course communities to apartment dwellers. A wide range of extracurricular activities. Only drawback: the football team really stinks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

I attended Duluth High School, class of 2006, my brother also attended, class of 2010. We have both seen the school steadily decline. I was an honors/AP student and really noticed most of the faculty do not care about struggling students. Many of the teachers are unorganized. There is also a huge problem with drugs amongst the students and drop-outs. Most of the teachers look the other way when it comes to kids skipping class and reeking of smoke. The school has high test scores solely because they focus ALL of their effort on the more intelligent students and leave the rest behind.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2010

This is a really good school if your child fits into the box of academic and behavior expectations it creates. Unfortunately, not all of our children fit into that box. I have two children who attend DHS. One fits nicely into the box and achieves at the school's very highest level. The other one struggles with some of those expectations. We have found the DHS administrators and counselors to be unresponsive to working as a team to help intervene for the children who veer off that path. It takes a village to raise children. Some children need more interventions than others regardless of the structure or quality of their home environment. We need schools who care about all of our children. Not just the ones who make the school look good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Duluth High has a team of wonderful teachers who care and teach. My daughter graduated in 2007, and went to a wonderful university in Boston. Without these teachers' efforts, I don't think my daughter would have been where she is now. Thank you, Duluth High teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It's an excellent school. Teachers are commited to give our kids the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

This is the 2nd child I have had at DHS and the expeiences of both are different as night and day! One graduated in 2002 and my 2nd will graduate in 2012. This school has 'upped its game' in an effort to lead in academics, athletics and social conscience. The new principal last year, Jason Lane, has zero tolerance and 100% pride in the students and school; and instills this pride in his students and parents as well. A new Athletic Director, a Gifted Student program and AP offerings second to none. We hd a choice and chose DHS! We may be smaller than most area high schools, but watch out Brookwood, Parkview and Peachtree Ridge...We're aiming for number one, and my bet's on Duluth! Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

Great school, Teacher cares about everyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

The best school in the area in academics, safety, diversity, and parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

Duluth High is a very diverse and fun school. I used to attend there and I miss it like crazy. The administration is wonderful, and the students are very friendly. Like every High school there is drama and conflict but Duluth isn't bad at all. There is fights but are broken up very quickly. The administration and teachers are the best. They are very kind and are willing to help your child/student in whatever you need.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2009

i currentely attend duluth high. i absolutely love it! i think jason lane has done an amazing job with improving the school! ive gone here my whole highschool career i am currently a junior. this school has so much spirit and we're getting better at football slowly but surely. i highly recommend this high school for anyone. we're all so very friendly. you'll love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2008

I've attended Duluth for 2 years. The variety of people you see here is unbelievable. The teachers are also very achieved and have been involved with students. Many students believe that the teachers are insufficient but I believe that Duluth is a place where if a student truly wishes to try and put the effort up, then they will be successful. I've had great teachers every year and it's mostly due to the fact that I have tried tremendously for my classes. Bottom line on this school is that it's a place where anyone can become who they want to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2008

I have three children who either currently attend or did attend Duluth High School. We were and are very pleased with the standards set by a majority, 99%, of the staff. Our boys' cross country and soccer teams do very well, and our girls' basketball team is great. Our cheerleaders do a fantastic job every year. The teachers do a fabulous job and truly dedicate themselves to the students...if you don't know this...then you're not getting involved... A testament to the loyalty and desire to continue Duluth's high achievement policy can be summed up quite simply. Where else have so many former students gone back as teachers?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

I am an exchange student from Indonesia that hosted in Duluth High School. It's so awesome!!! I loved this school since the first time I went here. The teachers were so dedicated, they encourage every students to do better thing. There are many diversity here, and it's so cool! They gathered together as a student and bringing the high spirit of Wildcats!! Sometimes I feel sad and homesickness, but when I remember now I am in the one of the best school in tbe state, I feel better and sometimes I wanna stay longer here, I never wanna loose my best teachers and best friends ever!!! Go Wildcats!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2008

Duluth High School is the best kept secret in Gwinnett County. Our kids had a blast with the band, drama, the newspaper, and making terrific friends of all races. They graduated with honors, got the Hope Scholarship, and are happily adjusting to college. DHS tied with Brookwood for having the highest SAT scores in the county. We found it to be just the right spot for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

452 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

443 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

450 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

451 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

506 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

620 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

605 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

642 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

548 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
87%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

565 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 27% 37%
Hispanic 27% 12%
White 22% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 21% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Duluth Middle School
several private schools
other middle and high schools on a permissive transfer basis; as applicable
Colleges most students attend after graduation Harvard
Yale
Columbia
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
German
Japanese
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Newsweek Magazine's List of America's Best High Schools (2010)
  • AP School of Merit, AP STEM School, AP STEM Achievement School (2010)
  • Governor's Office of Student Achievement - Platinum Award Winner for Greatest Gains in Student Achievement & Silver Award Winne (2009)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jason Lane
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (770) 232-3332

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

More from this school
  • Duluth High School has a tremdous history of supporting ALL students. Our numerous successes in athletics and fthe fine arts, is only surpassed by the academic recognitions earned by this school over the years.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Harvard
Yale
Columbia
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3737 Brock Rd
Duluth, GA 30096
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 476-5206

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Monarch School
Duluth, GA



Johns Creek High School
Johns Creek, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT