Advertisement
Advertisement

Duluth Adventist Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 150 students

Our school is best known for Christ centered atmosphere.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Duluth

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, April 11, 2014

DACS has created a safe zone for my children in an environment that has a small teacher to student ratio which increases the efficacy for learning and empowered, healthy relationships. After 3 years or commuting over 30 miles one way - I am still thankful for the opportunity to send my children to a school that is Christ-centered and academically excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

This is my 6th year being involved with this school. I love the spiritual values integrated into every subject. I appreciate the teachers diligence in letting my child excel and work ahead to keep them challenged. My child enjoys school and likes the leadership opportunities available. The teachers and staff welcome parent participation and are receptive to feedback. I would highly recommend this school at any parent with elementary aged kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

I'm sorry I ever allowed my child to attend at DACS. My child suffered a great deal in only his first your as a student. The teacher he had lacked enthusiasm and direction and my child suffered academically as well as emotionally and physically. Not only that I ended up taking him to several doctors due to the stress he experienced form being there. Nightmares, unable to sleep or eat, it was horrible. It's been a year and I'm still paying the medical bills from all the stress test and doctors appointments. it was by far the most horrible school year we've ever had. And it is still costing me today!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

WORST school my child have ever attended in my life. This school knows nothing about math, language, and science. You should know this school does not have science at all for eighth grade. This is not acceptable for my child to learn this at school. Please notice my warning and NEVER attend this school or else you would end up your child like mine. They know absolutely NOTHING!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

There are many inconsistencies from year to year. Strides to be academically involved with your child yields nothing but the run around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2012

DACS is a safe, nurturing place for learning with a diverse student population. The small school atmosphere feels like a family. Teachers are caring, supportive and available to parents, offering instruction that allows for different learning styles. Class sizes are small and manageable, giving personal attention to those that need it most. Most classrooms include a Smartboard and the school is equipped with a cart of Mac Laptops for student use. Test scores (ITBS) are consistently above the national average. The middle grades touring choir program is excellent and the yearly all-school Christmas play is beautifully done. Art is incorporated into classroom learning. Sports programs are being developed and PE is a taught daily. Parent involvement is encouraged and many parents are HEAVILY active with all aspects of the school. Most importantly, Christ is at the center of everything at DACS. Prayer & Bible study happen daily in the classroom and weekly chapels encourage student participation in all aspects of planning and performing service. It is evident that God is working in this school through the staff and families present. I wouldn't hesitate to send my child to this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 22, 2012

This school totally lacks in academics. As a gifted student, my son's time there was wasted. He learned nothing. The teachers never give homework. Their idea of learning is letting the students run around in the gym.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

Duluth Junior Academy is a very good christian school. The teachers are caring and they love my children. Thank you to all the teacher at Duluth Junior Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 34% 40%
Asian 26% 2%
Hispanic 18% 10%
White 13% 44%
Two or more races 10% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 8:00 a.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-Day Adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Gymnastics
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2959 Duluth Hwy 120
Duluth, GA 30096
Phone: (770) 497-8607

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Monarch School
Duluth, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT