Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Dunwoody Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 15 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

My son is starting Kindergardten at DES. Our experience so far with the Principal and the entire staff have been awesome. All are questions about the program, teacher's experience, curriculum etc were answer immediately. They do care about the kids. We are very pleased with it and also with the PTO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

We came from Vanderlyn and have now been at DES for 3 years. This school is fantastic from the administration & staff to the facility and families. We are now looking for a larger home and desperately want to stay at DES. The principal, Ms. Sanders, has been lead principal for 2 years. She's a visionary leader, hires well, and loves what she does. We also have a great special staff with rotations in art, general music, orchestra & band (4th & 5th), P.E., S.T.E.M. lab. We also have Lego Robotics, a top-notch media center, a nature trail, organic garden, a computer lab, and will soon add a Mac lab. I cannot say enough good things about DES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

My Daughter goes to DES and we absolutely love the School. The Faculty and Administration are excellent. Even though the School is fairly new most of the staff has moved in from the 10 rated schools and they do a fantastic show ... Greatly Appreciate DES Teachers and Administration .. We all love you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

What a great school. The teachers have all been great and the administration extremely helpful. In a neighborhood with 3 great schools DES shines and hits top marks in all categories!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

I couldn't be happier with Dunwoody Elementary School. The administration and staff are dedicated and supportive. During Snow Jam 2014, they put their own needs aside to care for students whose parents were stranded. The teachers are excellent. They challenge students to achieve. The PTO is welcoming and active. The facility is clean, new and equipped with the latest technology. I'm proud to be a DES family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

Principal Sanders is awesome and she has been a huge advocate of the STEM program. DES is the only public elementary school I know of that offers orchestra. My daughter tested into the accelerated math program for middle school, so I know she has been challenged in Mathematics. The facility is very new and has the latest technology, We have had a great experience over the past 3 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

I have been very happy with DES, it's administration and staff. We have an involved parent community, hard working teachers and a principal that has taken this young school to the top in Dunwoody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

DES is an amazing school. My children's teachers are caring and wonderful. The administrative staff is very inviting and engaged in what is going on at the school. The facility is new and has plenty of space to serve all the students. I especially like the fact that DES has several special education classes. I believe seeing these amazing child learn has taught my children to be more compassionate and tolerant of others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

I have two children at DES and couldn't be happier with the education my children are receiving! From the administration to the teachers to the PTO, everyone is dedicated to providing a quality education to our children. The children of DES are very fortunate!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

I have two children at DES and this is our third year at the school. We have been very happy with the facilities, faculty and staff there. The STEM (science,tech, engineering and math) program is moving forward and helping the children are learning to think in a new way. This is the only elementary school around that has band and orchestra starting in the 4th grade! (My kids have been involved in the lego club, reading bowl, and WDES Tiger TV. The school offers so many opportunities for kids and parents to be involved. The gifted program has the best teachers and interesting projects. We were redistricted from another Dunwoody school about 3 years ago and consider ourselves fortunate to be in such a great newer school with so many skilled and caring teachers. Our principal works very hard to improve the school and is very willing to listen to requests and suggestions from parents. She finds creative ways to solve problems and uses the input from teachers and parents to make progressive changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

Dunwoody Elementary School is a place that foster creativity, individuality and a strong academic base. I am thrilled with the learning process at Dunwoody Elementary and find that the teachers find creative ways to engage students. My daughter and son have both benefited from the dedicated teaching staff at Dunwoody Elementary. With state of the art technology, STEM and dedicated Science Labs as well as orchestra and band, art and music and a dedicated TV station run by students, this school has a niche for every child. We are a proud family of DES Tigers! I can't say enough wonderful things about our experience here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

Very pleased with the school and my daughter's teacher Mrs.Blair. She keeps me abreast of everything that is going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2014

It's such a shame and I too am experiencing problems with the administration at DES. The principal would rather ignore student behavioral situations as opposed to addressing the problems head-on. There is a lack of leadership and we will probably have to consider alternative schools. To the other parents experiencing problems with the administration--let's figure out a way to talk to address this issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2014

The school itself is new and up to date. The staff, most are courteous and extremely helpful. The administrative staff is lazy, cold and delusional and have no business leading educators or supervising children. This neighborhood at one time had the best schools, now it's about gifted designations and scores. I see now why there are so many homes for sale. I can't see anything changing until big changes at the board of education are made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

I tend to agree about this administration not doing enough. My child is being bullied and the Administration does not seem to be willing to deal with the situation. It seems to me as if they would rather hide these issues. This is not leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

This year I have two children attending Dunwoody Elementary School. The principal, Mrs. Sanders, is passionate about her role and cares genuinely for the children and teachers. She also listens to the parents and wants what is best for the school. So far, we've had a great experience with the teachers that have taught our sons. They love teaching and really enjoy educating our children. DES has started implementing the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering & Math) initiative. It is great to see how the program is impacting the kids. The school was also recently built so it is very clean, has additional space and has some updated technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

DES is a fantastic, community supported school. The administration is A+; their organization and commitment is a good foundation for the culture of the school. We have met tons of great, supportive families at the school. I'm also impressed by the number and variety of resources and options available (band, art, orchestra, gifted programs, clubs, etc.).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

The teachers are definetly dedicated and all the parents I know whose children attend, love the teachers! The grounds are very nice. My children are happy here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

Excellent teachers, new facilities, love the strings, band and singers and all the extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

Thrilled with the new principal who brings her A game and does a great job. We have had some really strong teachers and my children love the art teacher. Beautiful facility. Great parent community. All in all very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 24% 3%
Black 17% 37%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1923 Womack Rd
Dunwoody, GA 30338
Phone: (678) 875-4002

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT