Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Dunwoody, GA
Students enrolled: 984
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
I have two children at DES. We have had a great experience. The principal runs a tight ship, makes good staffing decisions, and hires and retains the right teachers. The administration responds to parent input. The academic rigor is very much the same as what you will find in any top public elementary school - my kids are doing the exact same work as my friends' children in North Fulton and East Cobb schools. Very happy with the nice families at the school, also.

Dunwoody Elementary School 2

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
Teddy Bear Summer Camp is a better name for the school,this school from an academic standpoint is just going through the motions, does not push the kids at all. They don't grow. This is why the great schools rating is lower, there is a formula component which reflects lack of academic growth. I call it teddy bear university or teddy bear summer camp! My daughter would get a packet with 5 to 10 minutes of easy homework all the way through her three years, she attended 1st through 3rd grade. She would say it was way too easy too. The DISCOVERY or Gifted program was a joke too.Need to have better oversight over program content/curriculum & challenge towards growth. They are just passing the time. In last year, when my daughter was in 3rd grade gifted discovery class. They did Clay mobiles on Charlottes Web book. No critical thinking, discerning points, team work. We could not believe lack of push to gifted kids.The campus is beautiful and teachers are pretty/sweet, but no challenge as far as academic challenge, learning techniques to study&organization techniques to prepare for middle school.
2 people found this helpful

Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
Dunwoody Elementary has been a great experience for our son. In second grade, we moved within Dunwoody and in doing so switched from Vanderlyn Elementary to Dunwoody. Vanderlyn is a fine school and he was happy there; however, his teachers at Dunwoody seem to be better in tune with adapting to his learning style. That is, they seem to teach concepts different ways so that children can learn in a way that is easiest for him. Dunwoody has been a great experience for us. It's a fairly new school that is not overcrowded and has plenty of classroom space. Austin and Vanderlyn have learning pods / trailers spread around the schoolyard, which is not my favorite learning environment for my child.
1 person found this helpful

Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2015
- a parent
Dunwoody Elementary has been recently honored with the highly sought after STEM certification from the Georgia Department of Education, making it the third in the state to ever do so. The state gives this distinction to schools that successfully implement a cross-educational platform that relates science, technology, engineering, and mathematics to lessons across all subjects.
4 people found this helpful

Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
I can't say enough positive things about this school. Parent involvement is great, the leadership from the Principal is outstanding, and the classroom instruction is innovative and engaging. My kids jumped out of the car excited about going to school and arrive home every afternoon with smiles on their faces. DES clearly fosters a love of learning. As a parent, what more could you ask for from a school?
3 people found this helpful

Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
We have 2 boys at DES, we're very pleased. Top-notch facility, teachers and staff. We like the high standards set both academically & behaviorally . I would recommend DES to anyone.
4 people found this helpful

Dunwoody Elementary School 3

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
The building is beautiful, the test scores are probably not bad. The environment is strange to say the least. Feels more like a jail. Your kid will get in trouble for almost anything. They are not aloud to talk, they are not aloud to choose where to seat in the cafeteria, they are not even aloud to cry because "second graders do not cry". They are not allowed to be human at all, just quiet obedient digesters of math etc. There is few teachers who are different, but you have to be lucky or persistent to put your child in their class.If you think for some reason your child needs strict discipline then it might be a good school for you. If you want your child to enjoy her time at school - look somewhere else.
9 people found this helpful

Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
I have a son that just graduated from 5th grade at DES and another that is a rising first grader. The school does a good job with working with parents and the kids are challenged and it provides a good environment for learning.
1 person found this helpful

Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
My daughter will be new at DES this year. She is entering the 4th grade. Any advice on the teachers and staff would be great
1 person found this helpful

Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter attends DES. What others need to know? Its a hidden jewel! Top facility with all industry leading technology, great afterschool program, wonder class ratios, and fantastic teachers and administrators.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dunwoody Elementary School
1923 Womack Rd, Dunwoody, GA  30338
(678) 875-4002
Last modified Dunwoody Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dunwoody Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top