Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Dunwoody, GA
Students enrolled: 984
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
I can't say enough positive things about this school. Parent involvement is great, the leadership from the Principal is outstanding, and the classroom instruction is innovative and engaging. My kids jumped out of the car excited about going to school and arrive home every afternoon with smiles on their faces. DES clearly fosters a love of learning. As a parent, what more could you ask for from a school?

Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
We have 2 boys at DES, we're very pleased. Top-notch facility, teachers and staff. We like the high standards set both academically & behaviorally . I would recommend DES to anyone.
1 person found this helpful


Dunwoody Elementary School 3

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
The building is beautiful, the test scores are probably not bad. The environment is strange to say the least. Feels more like a jail. Your kid will get in trouble for almost anything. They are not aloud to talk, they are not aloud to choose where to seat in the cafeteria, they are not even aloud to cry because "second graders do not cry". They are not allowed to be human at all, just quiet obedient digesters of math etc. There is few teachers who are different, but you have to be lucky or persistent to put your child in their class.If you think for some reason your child needs strict discipline then it might be a good school for you. If you want your child to enjoy her time at school - look somewhere else.
1 person found this helpful

Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
I have a son that just graduated from 5th grade at DES and another that is a rising first grader. The school does a good job with working with parents and the kids are challenged and it provides a good environment for learning.
1 person found this helpful

Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
My daughter will be new at DES this year. She is entering the 4th grade. Any advice on the teachers and staff would be great
1 person found this helpful


Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter attends DES. What others need to know? Its a hidden jewel! Top facility with all industry leading technology, great afterschool program, wonder class ratios, and fantastic teachers and administrators.

Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
My son is starting Kindergardten at DES. Our experience so far with the Principal and the entire staff have been awesome. All are questions about the program, teacher's experience, curriculum etc were answer immediately. They do care about the kids. We are very pleased with it and also with the PTO.

Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
We came from Vanderlyn and have now been at DES for 3 years. This school is fantastic from the administration & staff to the facility and families. We are now looking for a larger home and desperately want to stay at DES. The principal, Ms. Sanders, has been lead principal for 2 years. She's a visionary leader, hires well, and loves what she does. We also have a great special staff with rotations in art, general music, orchestra & band (4th & 5th), P.E., S.T.E.M. lab. We also have Lego Robotics, a top-notch media center, a nature trail, organic garden, a computer lab, and will soon add a Mac lab. I cannot say enough good things about DES!
2 people found this helpful


Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
My Daughter goes to DES and we absolutely love the School. The Faculty and Administration are excellent. Even though the School is fairly new most of the staff has moved in from the 10 rated schools and they do a fantastic show ... Greatly Appreciate DES Teachers and Administration .. We all love you.
1 person found this helpful

Dunwoody Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
What a great school. The teachers have all been great and the administration extremely helpful. In a neighborhood with 3 great schools DES shines and hits top marks in all categories!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dunwoody Elementary School
1923 Womack Rd, Dunwoody, GA  30338
(678) 875-4002
Last modified Dunwoody Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5
Dunwoody Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top