Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Dunwoody, GA
Students enrolled: 653

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Austin Elementary School 2

Posted December 10, 2014
- a parent
If your child has a learning difference but does not meet criteria for an IEP, this school is awful. Awful. The county psychologist (representing Austin) and upper administration's response to my child's independent testing were stunningly disrespectful and rude. Hire an educational advocate to navigate this school if your child has learning differences.

Austin Elementary School 1

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
Worst school for Pre K kids! The teachers are cold and rude to parent's queries. Won't even bother to reply on emails and will not try to comfort the kids if they are crying. They are busy doing their paper work while the kids are arriving in morning and expect them to stop crying and settle on their own. They are happy with only those kids who do not bother them much!!


Austin Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a community member
Austin is great! Jordan Smith is an amzing kindergarten teacher. She really loves her kids!
1 person found this helpful

Austin Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
Austin is a great school. Parents-teachers relationship is great. Kids go through an excellent education process at this elementary.

Austin Elementary School 2

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
My little one 1st grade teacher tries to apply military style discipline. in her class. I wonder if she realizes kids can't be disciplined like adults and she needs to be a little more indulgent.


Austin Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
Our kid joined the school last year in kindergarten and we could not be happier. Teachers in this school are very dedicated towards providing the best to kids. Our kid is an advanced learner and the classroom teacher kept her excited by providing education material for the next level. One of the best schools....

Austin Elementary School 1

Posted March 27, 2012
- a parent
The only qualification needed for a child to qualify for the gifted(discovery) program is for their parents to donate fundraisers, the more money you give the more good chances for your child to qualify, it doesnt matter if she's talented, only thing that austin needs is your money!!!

Austin Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2012
- a parent
We bought our house to be in Austin district instead of doing private school, we are now on our son's 2nd year going to Austin and are extremely happy with the teachers and school staff.


Austin Elementary School 1

Posted December 18, 2011
- a parent
My son is starting in Jan and the front office was not helpful and simply answered all my questions:"It is in the handbook" I hope the teachers are more friendly than them. Moving in the middle of the school year is hard enough, I want my son to feel welcome and comfortable.
1 person found this helpful

Austin Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2011
- a community member
austin has talented teachers and staff.all the children are smart and love this school.you learn so much,I can't belive it. :)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Austin Elementary School
5435 Roberts Dr, Dunwoody, GA  30338
(678) 874-8102
Last modified Austin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Austin Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top